The Grapes Hotel

The Grapes Hotel

16 Douglas Square, Newcastleton TD9 0QD Scotland
The Grapes Hotel, Newcastleton
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Under new ownership in August 2023, The Grapes Hotel is a listed building with its original name. It was the first coaching inn within a village designed on behalf of the then Duke of Buccleuch in the late 18th century as a result of the Scottish Land Clearances of 1790. Situated within Douglas Square it has ample free parking. Well known for its excellent food, accommodation and a warm welcome, the Grapes Hotel containing The Reivers Bar & Restaurant is the perfect venue. A small function room for intimate events is available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Game room
Darts
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels

Location

16 Douglas Square, Newcastleton TD9 0QD Scotland
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Carlisle Lake District Airport
27.1 km
See all flights
Newcastle Airport
73.5 km
See all flights
210Reviews3Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 56
  • 23
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KENNY M wrote a review Aug 2020
Langholm, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A very pleasant experience was had in the Grapes Hotel when we poped in for lunch. A family party of six enjoyed a very nice lunch in the Grapes all the food was of an excellent standard with generous helpings. We would be very happy to return in the future for more of the same.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SteveSonLad wrote a review Aug 2021
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were staying on the Riverview holiday park and decided to dine here on a Saturday tea time. 2 adults, 1 child and a dog.

The food and service was so good that we came back the following day. I had fish and chips on the Saturday and gammon on the Sunday. Both meals were excellent. Proper home cooked food. No freezer food. The chips were hand cooked and exceptional. Fish was massive and beautiful crispy batter. The gammon came with those beautiful chips, onion rings, mushrooms, grilled tomato and a fried egg.

The service from the ladies was nothing short of perfect. Very friendly and accommodating.

Kids menu was good. Desserts were fabulous. And they even gave my dog a biscuit treat.

I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coxseh wrote a review Apr 2024
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We reached this place after an intense day of cycling the Reivers Route (from Whitley Bay to Maryport). We arrived cold, wet and exhausted and were met enthusiastically and in a very welcome fashion by the landlord. The rooms has just been/are being refurbished - the landlord and landlady being relatively new - which meant some finishing touches were not in place and it could have perhaps been a bit warmer in the rooms to dry our stuff. That said, the landlord was very upfront about this and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - because the Guinness and food was superb and the staff (particularly the landlord and landlady) were so friendly, chatty and helpful. Locals were also a good laugh and the whole experience was one to remember. A cooked breakfast option in the morning would have been nice although I was content with the good range of ‘continental’ options. Felt as if this pub would remain at the heart of the community.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Swan, General Manager at The Grapes Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and the Guinness. I hope you managed to make the local butcher in the morning to get some of his incredible sausage rolls for lunch like Amie suggested to you. They are a treat not to be missed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Templer wrote a review May 2022
Preston, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a quad room which badly needed a refurb. Peeling wallpaper, old tired beds and furniture, no shades on bulbs etc.
They wanted 35pp for this so spoke to the manager who was in denial then reluctantly agreed to knock £10 off. Not good enough
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: 7 stanes nearby.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gilly360 wrote a review Aug 2022
Durham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having been a customer of The Grapes since 1996 for drinks, meals and accommodation. I was sadly disappointed by visit this week. Not so much the fault of the genial owners but perhaps a sign of changing culture, the hotel as lost its former appeal. I did learn that the hotel is due to change hands in the near future and I felt the owners were dwindling the business.
The former genteel grandeur of The Grapes has all but gone, with the feel of a local WMC. Gone was the traditional decor and comfort. It was perfectly clean, but not particularly comfortable. I was saddened to find the lounge closed and mid week, the grand Vines restaurant was not open.
The food, although well presented was very costly for generic freezer food although the drinks were good (a great pint of Guinness).
It may have been my expectations were too high. Culture has changed; people don’t use pubs like they did things are more casual. Perhaps the hotel will have new life breathed into it.
I must state that despite my lack of positive comment, we did receive an extremely warm welcome by very friendly owners and staff who could not do enough for us. A very minor mixup with drinks was recompensed with free kids’ drinks. I couldn’t fault the lovely staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs M wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were staying close by and this was the only welcoming looking pub. It was very friendly and the staff were pleasant. Food was more than acceptable but very limited on wine. I asked for a Pinot Grigio and was met with a blank look and asked what colour was it. I said it was white and the reply was bizarrely "is it a sauvignon blanc or a chardonnay as that is all we sell" - Pepsi for me then. I politely explained that it is a white in its own right and not a version of the two she was offering. Perhaps she was a new member of staff but a strange answer nonetheless. Popular pub and a nice place to sit outside.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
67varieties wrote a review Jun 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly place, with great prices and the best tasting steak pie I've had in many a year!
Just dropped in on the off chance of something to eat and they quickly found us a table.
Wife loved her fish platter and both our portions were huge.
Attentive young staff would put much fancier establishments to shame.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric Bishop wrote a review Sept 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I called into the Grapes just after 6:30 on a Sunday night. I got a beer at the bar and asked if they we doing to. The barman said yes and told me to take a seat at a table. After about 15 mins he eventually brought me a menu. A further 25 mins passed and still nobody had taken my order. I eventually went to the bar to pay for my drink and leave, the barman was apologetic and told me that the kitchen and serving staff were busy doing takeaways. I paid for the beer and left.
Seems this place isn’t really interested in serving customers who actually sit at a table but prefer to prioritise preparing takeaway food.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just avoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Swan, General Manager at The Grapes Hotel
Responded 6 Sept 2023
We are sorry you had to wait but this is sometimes a result when you walk in without a reservation. You were in no way ignored or forgotten about, unfortunately you just arrived at a very busy time and had to wait your turn. On another less busy day, you may have been served immediately. We were not prioritising takeaway orders, just the orders we had before your arrival. I was the barman who served you and yes I probably failed in communicating properly on how busy we were, so please accept my apologies for that.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
olibot wrote a review Feb 2022
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped here for a little drink or two on a very wet & windy day - whilst staying in the area in the Motorhome. We had a couple of drinks and a few games of cards. The bar itself was quiet a warm and friendly welcome was well received. This was our second visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
G.Moffat wrote a review Nov 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Thoroughly enjoyed our evening meals and drinks over a long weekend in Newcastleton.

Steve and Co made us very welcome, even though it was a very busy weekend for them, due to a motorsport rally in the area.

Lovely fresh food all served at a suitable pace, given the busyness.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book ahead via phone or email is highly recommended!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from paulmN1241TE
County Durham, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
Not sure, agree with previous reply, check with hotel direct
geofrankie asked a question Sept 2016
Glasgow, United Kingdom38 contributions25 helpful votes
does the fee include breakfast?
Answer from jaycee290941
Stirling, United Kingdom59 contributions51 helpful votes
Yes!
baileymill asked a question Jun 2015
Carlisle, United Kingdom4 contributions
The telephone number
Answer from RP-HebdenBridge
Hebden Bridge477 contributions173 helpful votes
013873 75245
Colin S wrote a tip May 2024
Newcastleton, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to book in advance as it gets really busy"
Read full review
machairs wrote a tip Dec 2023
Inverness, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance. "
Read full review
G.Moffat wrote a tip Nov 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom22 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book ahead via phone or email is highly recommended!"
Read full review
Eric Bishop wrote a tip Sept 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom42 contributions41 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just avoid"
Read full review
rab2435 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Wishaw, United Kingdom49 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book for dinner as now very popular with locals and visitors alike"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newcastleton area.
PRICE RANGE
S$179 - S$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersNewcastleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GRAPES HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 29 Photos (Newcastleton, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grapes Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Grapes Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hermitage Castle (7.9 km), 7 Stanes (2.3 km), and Liddesdale Heritage Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grapes Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Grapes Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grapes Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grapes Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Copshaw Kitchen, Olive Tree, and The Vine Restaurant.
Is The Grapes Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Newcastleton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grapes Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hermitage Castle (7.9 km).
Is The Grapes Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire