We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bunaken Island Resort

| Liang Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Bunaken National Marine Park
    0.6 km
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviewed 21 September 2012
Best Choice on Bunaken
My wife and I stayed at Bunaken Island Resort for five days in... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bunaken Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Spokane, WA
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bunaken Island Resort for five days in late August. Unfortunately, another couple had taken our room by booking through a local tourist company and confused their way into the room unbeknownst to the resort management. On top of this, when the resort informed them that they were not officially booked into the resort, they...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Moodray
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed 5 days in Bunaken Island Resort. I would love to say, that we had most beautiful time here. We booked beach front bungalows and i would recommend it to everyone who enjoys time on balcony in hammock , observing the great nature (sea, birds, sunset...). I loved open air shower - great!!! The bedroom is nicely decorated, great...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dsatosek
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We just got back from Bunaken Island Dive Resort after a wonderful stay at the end of August/beginning of September 2012. The food, service, people, diving, the whole experience was just as good (or should we say excellent) as it was the first time we visited. It is fantastic to have such a home away from home located on top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guthermanssberg
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I've spent a week on the island, together with my 15 yr old son, diving. The stay was a truly fantastic experience. The villas are fantastic, staff is superfriendly, the view is one of the best ever (see photo), sven running the diving school, is a true pro in every sense, food was really nice every time. The only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ainkie
Paris, France
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Bunaken Island Resort for a week from mid August this year. We wanted our stay to be the highlight of our trip in Indonesia and we were absolutely right. The place is extremely beautiful and is located on the nicest part of the island. The view on the sea and on the volcano next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Voyageur75116
Londen
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The most terrible resort we've ever visit. A total mess. Overbooked. Impolite management. Everbody was complaining. A very unwelcome and stressed atmosphere. Also diving is very disappointing in this area because of the polution (more plastic bags than fish) NEVER again!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter R
Frank F, Owner at Bunaken Island Resort, responded to this review

This negative review is part of three negative reviews we received in August 2012 and are in fact the first bad reviews our resort has ever received. This has compelled us to investigate the matter and post our findings on TripAdvisor. What we found is that all three negative reviews (Peter R., ILse H. and Emmy D.) were posted by...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a great time at Bunaken Island Dive Resort. Why? - The staff is fantastic! - The villas are comfortable (good beds, warm water, airconditioning) - The food is great - The diving is beyond words! (use Sven's dive school - his entire staff consist of locals who have an idea for the small stuff and know the dive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antal K
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great place (remote & simple), best dives, clean, great service and attitude. I have been around and nothing beats this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Talachas
indonesia
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Im Indonesian and during school trip we went to Bunaken island resort with my big family. 3 kids and 7 adults. As a local I know what to expect from my country. and I can say that overall we are very satisfied with the resort. Here is why: Love the location. The sunset from the resort is nice. Beach in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank humblefisherman
London
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I would agree with all of the positive reviews below and also underline that people who moan that this place doesn't have a pool, zen palace etc. only have themselves to blame for not doing their research. You can do 3 things here: 1) Dive/snorkel 2) Sit in your hammock and nap/read/stare out to sea 3) Eat/drink And let me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve_blag

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
0.8 km away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
208 reviews
1.4 km away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 15 in Bunaken Island
167 reviews
2.2 km away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#2 of 15 in Bunaken Island
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
449 reviews
3.1 km away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
111 reviews
0.0 km away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bunaken Island Resort and the Dive Centre are located at Liang Beach of Bunaken Island. The resort provides spacious and luxury accommodation in a tranquil and lush tropical environment with two Villas (150m²) and 6 Bungalows (65m²), all built in the famous Indonesian Minahasa Style and tastefully furnished. Balinese-style en-suite bathrooms with a hot shower tub and an open-roof shower, Wifi-Internet throughout the resort, air-conditioning, grand balconies with large hammocks for chilling out are standard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bunaken Island Resort

Address: | Liang Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Price Range: $178 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bunaken Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bunaken Island Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bunaken Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is paradise for tourist.”
 of 5 bubbles panagiotism700, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are only 7 villas available. All are good.”
 of 5 bubbles 321widyam, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend to new visitors for family holidays”
 of 5 bubbles Feeney2017, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face the sea - I personally liked my room across from the Cabana - a bit of a walk up the stairs from the beach to the Cabana.”
 of 5 bubbles JayTee369, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The smaller bungalows are closer to the beach, better views, still up quite a few stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles SLynnDhaka, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5