We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Top Rest Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Royal Top Rest Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing view,Excellent and friendly service..There are no words to explain the food.Good location Great View..Resturant has a great view..Clean rooms..Beautiful surroundings when you look out the window,especially night and the morning

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VishwaNath101
sanjaya_sri, General Manager at Royal Top Rest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for the lovely comment, we really appreciate your time dedicated to comment us. thanks and regards

Cape Point, South Africa
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Amazing food and views! Best spot in town. We had a fabulous stay here with great and friendly service from staff. Good location to visit Lipton's seat and tea plantations. It's also right across from the train station therefore makes traveling from here very easy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelanieLam
sanjaya_sri, Manager at Royal Top Rest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for the lovely comment, we really appreciate your time dedicated to comment us. thanks and regards

Colombo
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Great location, and then it ends there. The guy who welcomed us was nice enough, but the other guy was patronizing, obnoxious, and generally didn't care. The bathroom was terrible, the service was indifferent, the food was seriously over priced and lousy! It was one of the worst places I have stayed at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank citysweeper
sanjaya_sri, Manager at Royal Top Rest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for your time allocated to review us in Trip advisor, we are a small guest house operating in haputhale and we offer budget accomadation to our guest, we always try to make our guest convenient but sometimes staff may not work accordingly, we really regret abt the inconvenience occured at our place, however, we highly reject your...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

My wife and I popped down the hill to Haputale just for the train journey It was worth it as the views are awesome Haputale is a dump though and is not tourist orientated at all All local shops but this has some advantages ... We found a new cover for my wife's IPhone 5 .... Out of stock long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here only for one night, a very cold one. We asked for extra blankets for several times and the last time he said he would bring them in 10 minutes but he never showed up. No towels, and the hot water wasn't working. Very loud. The resto however is very good and the guys are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joekke V
Reviewed 18 December 2015

This hotel is very dirty, damp and unkept. The sheets were dirty and old and they could not provide us with any towels. We had to ask to change out of one room as it was so damp and mouldy. The worse thing was that we booked through booking.com and were charged 2500 Rupees a room when the rate advertised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese B
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Can only say how good this place was for a quick sandwich and fries with a beer on the way to the station and it was perfect. If they do everything else to the same standard you'll be fine. The staff were really helpful when we told them we needed to hurry and made sure everything went smoothly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyBe11
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Menu consists of Chinese,western and Srilankan dishes.food is too expensive and portions are very small.restaurant is under construction and all tables gets wet during the rainy days.service staff only likes to look after foreigners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sudumenike
sanjaya_sri, Owner at Royal Top Rest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Royal Top Rest Inn & Restaurant ! We acknowledge with many thanks your time devoted in posting a valuable feed back on TripAdvisor following your vist to our restaurant. We will take required arrangements to make your vist much comfortable with us. Thanks and Regards

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We cannot judge for the other room, but the room we got was completly mouldy and smelly. The linen gave the impression of not having seen a laundry for some quiet some time. The whole place looked a bit rundown, paint falling off walls. No surprise that there was no mosquito net despite the open bathroom window. The only reason...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daniel R
sanjaya_sri, Owner at Royal Top Rest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Royal Top Rest Inn & Restaurant! We acknowledge with many thanks your time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are please to inform that your comments are highly considered and necessary arrangements will be taken to make your next stay much convenient. Thanks and Regards

Reviewed 1 September 2015

Royal top rest inn is near railway station Haputale, so it's really convenient to take train there. By the way, the bus station is also close since it's a small and lovely town. All staff in guesthouse are very friendly and easy-going, they like to make joke and have fun with guests. If you want to go to Lipton's seat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weilunl2015
sanjaya_sri, Owner at Royal Top Rest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Royal Top Rest Inn & Restaurant ! We acknowledge with many thanks your time devoted in posting a valuable feed back on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your over all stay with us. Thanks and Regards

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haputale hotels
0.3 km away
Olympus Plaza Hotel
Olympus Plaza Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haputale
174 reviews
1.2 km away
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
0.8 km away
Srilak View Holiday Inn
Srilak View Holiday Inn
#11 of 29 in Haputale
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Awinco Rest
Awinco Rest
#12 of 29 in Haputale
158 reviews
0.0 km away
White Monkey - Dias Rest
White Monkey - Dias Rest
#2 of 29 in Haputale
201 reviews
0.4 km away
ABC Guest Inn
ABC Guest Inn
#13 of 29 in Haputale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Royal Top Rest Inn & Restaurant is situated 50 meters away from the Haputhale railway station and offers accommodations in Haputale. Guests can enjoy the on-site snack bar. Free private parking is available on site as well. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. Nuwara Eliya is 29 km from Royal Top Rest Inn & Restaurant, and Bandarawela is 8 km from the property ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Top Rest Inn

Address: 22 Station Road, Haputale, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Haputale
Price Range: $21 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Top Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Top Rest Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely not the rooms on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles danielrK2218AN, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I didn't stay here...”
 of 5 bubbles Nellypop, 20 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Just ask for extra covers!!”
 of 5 bubbles kates423, 27 Mar 2014 | Read review
“You will hear the trains but they do not pass often”
 of 5 bubbles AnnG279, 30 Jul 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay