We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan at Stoford

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In the beautiful country side, not far from Salisbury, you will find the Swan at Stoford. I had a wonderful stay which is walking distance, only 6 miles from Stonehenge, through the Wiltshire country side. The staff were extremely lovely and helpful. Really nice place for a solo traveler, the staff around the bar are always up for a chat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmySquares
Welland, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was late evening when we arrived, and getting to our room was fast and easy. We went to the dining room for dinner, and I ordered the venison. It was a perfect meal, one of the best I have ever had! A lovely and character filled old establishment, maybe a little run down but, like I said it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0binellis
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in our creaky old inn and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Liz

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Swan is a very nice, friendly place to enjoy just a drink or have a meal. We have eaten here a few time and have never had any cause for complaint. The staff are always welcoming too. The only downside is the fact the car park is the opposite side of the busy main road and sometimes it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angela w
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - I am glad you had a nice Birthday meal. The road can be busy, but it quietens down now until summer - the nature of being a coaching inn I'm afraid. Glad you think we are worth crossing the road for. Liz

Farnborough.Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at The Swan on a recent visit to Salisbury, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was just first class, very yummy. Our room was a good size with a four poster bed, which was lovely and comfortable, looking forward to going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemygadgets
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and food. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Liz

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect accommodations for family of five. One bunk bed, one twin bed and one queen. The Inn accommodated our very very late arrival time and the included breakfast was delicious. We chose this Inn because it was very close to Stonehenge and Thruxton Racing , we were very pleased. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r5edmodo
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Swan - we are very conveniently located for the local attractions (just 8 minutes drive from Stonehenge). We appreciate your recommendation. Liz

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was expensive and not exceptional. The room was good and there was no noise from the road although there was some noise from the pub below. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of it. Be aware that the cost of your stay is taken from your ban k several days before your stay and returned to you several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin Y
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Your card would have been pre-authorised and not taken which is standard practice in hotels and B&Bs to prevent people booking, not turning up and not paying the cancellation fees. The cost for your hotel could have been charged against the pre-authorisation to avoid this...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival was shown to room by a nice friendly girl. Meanwhile down in the bar ordering dinner I started to get the feeling things were going down hill. They did not have the pie I wanted but another pie was offered and when it arrived appeared hot but on further inspection the meat inside was cold. On retiring I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferkevis
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on our inn. I am sorry that you were not delighted with every aspect of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found the staff friendly. Had you requested more than four milks we would have gladly given you more (however this is typical for a double room). The...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Travelling back home we passed this pub and decided to call in for a meal - wish we hadn't bothered. Took ages for the menus to arrive at the table and we had to get up and get our own drinks yet the place wasn't busy. I ordered the calamari, it arrived, there were 4 pieces only and they weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesley4132
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your food, we would have happily have changed it for you if you had raised it with us at the time. We are dog friendly (being a very rural pub when you take out the A36), and I sorry that a dog owner did not keep their...

Upavon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We had to wait a long time for our meal to come. When it came the meat in the beef and ale pie was tough and the pastry was soggy. Chips were not crisp. The staff tried to be helpful but kept us waiting . Not an experience I would want again. I will eat elsewhere in future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana E
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am very sorry you did not enjoy the homemade pie and that you had to wait for a replacement. Our food is cooked from fresh and so sometimes a small wait is inevitable. Thank you for stopping at our inn and I am sorry you don't intend to return. Liz

Melbourne
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute on the road as we weren't sure where we would be. Family room was great size, very well maintained and clean. Beds were comfortable and room was warm. Noise from the road was minimal even with being on road side of property but there were some continuous squeaking and other of noises that we couldn't locate but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMMN
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our inn. I am really pleased you found our food "awesome" and delighted your enjoyed our attentive staff. We appreciate such lovely feedback.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
6.8 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 15 in Salisbury
227 reviews
4.8 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
8.4 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#11 of 15 in Salisbury
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
680 reviews
8.5 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
8.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: $86 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Stoford 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's old, I would guess all rooms have seen better days. The bed, was fine!”
 of 5 bubbles r0binellis, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room not near road”
 of 5 bubbles jenniferkevis, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose room with bathroom, I made the mistake of not doing so last year.”
 of 5 bubbles martinmX5434PZ, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Although there is secondary glazing road side rooms are a tad noisy”
 of 5 bubbles tracyh3003, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper try to avoid room at the front as there is some traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles brilo3892, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay