We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 287: English reviews
Start your review of Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
 Click to rate
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The service and food very good. The staff really went out of there way to make the experience pleasurable. Food was great, would definitely go back. Did not experience the rooms as only used the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smilesy123
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just stayed just one night here but loved it! It's a lovely old 13th century inn and is very charming. We were received by Andy who was most welcoming. The bed in our room (room 19) was very comfortable and the pillows were fantastic! We ate there also - lovely food, great atmosphere, and I would certainly recommend it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanisWestYorkshire
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife bought us a quiet weekend away, but this was not the place for it. The hotel is slap bang next to a railway line, which means that if you approach it from the west, you have to retrace your steps and approach it from the east, on the right side of the tracks. The rooms are really -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris142857
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Two couples visited for a night away and were extremely pleased with our choice. Hotel was very quaint and full of character with excellent attentive staff and a very relaxed and friendly feel. Hotel is a 1 min walk to Whittlesford station ( not too close to hear in rooms) and 7 min train into Cambridge centre. With the great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely Review on our property. It was lovely to see that you took advantage of using our bar and restaurant throughout your stay, and even better that you thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish, the head chef and his team are very passionate about the...

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We went for a 60th birthday celebration (about 16 of us). We all had a great evening. The food was excellent but we recomend you go with a good appetite as the portions are very generous. There is a bar menu and an a la carte menu so you have plenty of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithandbrie
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review and the lovely comments regarding the food. All of the team here are great at going the extra mile where ever possible and love to make all our guests feel at home, the Head chef and his team are very passionate about each dish that leaves the Kitchen and take...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

My first thoughts when we pulled in to this venue, was why the hell would you get married here? but once inside I was pleasantly surprised, the old church and the apple trees provided a lovely backdrop[weather permitting] and the building itself was quite charming, the bedrooms did get very hot at night, but the bed was comfortable. I cant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review and the lovely comments on the staff. All of the team here are great at going the extra mile where ever possible and love to make all our guests feel at home. It certainly was a pleasure to read. We are also very delighted that everything went well. More importantly...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Fab old style hotel fit for 21 century. If your a business traveller and get fed up with the big chains then this is a must. Excellent food, warm welcome and fibre wifi. It's quiet and comfy, do go for the bigger rooms though for comfort. A good all round place to put your head

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cam M
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. All of the team here are great at going the extra mile where ever possible and love to make all our guests feel at home. The head chef and his team take pride in what the do and make sure every dish that leaves the kitchen is well presented and...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We had a surprise birthday party here, a friend of mine organised it all with help from some close friends, we have been here on many occasions and to say we was truly disappointed with what we got is beyond belief. Firstly the buffet for 70 people which was very costly, must have only been about £100 worth of food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly A
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent feedback, I am sorry to read that you didn't have a pleasurable experience , however I assure you this is not our usual standard of practise. all of the points that you have noted have been taken on board and we are doing our upmost to improve, all feedback is appreciated as this...

Uk
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night at the Red Lion for business in January 2017. This is a very charming place. There was ample parking. My room was rather small but that was not a problem. The problem was how cold it was. Considering that it was below freezing outside and that the hotel knew that I was coming, I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarinemUk
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent feedback, I am sorry to read that you didn't have a pleasurable experience , however I assure you this is not our usual standard of practise, we are saddened to see that you didn't enjoy your experience with us, and left with such disappointment. all of the points that you have noted have...

Iver, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Pleasant looking Pub, clean and tidy. Good attentive staff. Food was good but way overpriced. 2 fish and chips, 2 deserts and 2 soft drinks £50. perhaps I am getting out of touch but don't pay those sort of prices and I live in an expensive area. Check before visiting as they do host large functions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony N
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time to review our property, We are please to see that you had a pleasurable dining experience here with us, the head chef and his team are very passionate about each dish that leaves their kitchen and were delighted that you enjoyed the food. Please be assured that all of produce is...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
1.8 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
299 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
3.1 km away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
166 reviews
12.3 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,189 reviews
14.3 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Price Range: $107 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We enjoyed room 19 which is classed as a Feature Room - it has a decent ensuite with shower and toilet, and a bath in the room itself”
 of 5 bubbles JanisWestYorkshire, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 19 is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Fussym00, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“enter the road and not the post code to find it via a sat nav.”
 of 5 bubbles A8345XBjohnc, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable”
 of 5 bubbles charlyboychilly, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay here only dine”
 of 5 bubbles edna54, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5