We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 277: English reviews
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came to stay for a weekend and planned a surprise for my husband, having our friends and family come and stay to surprise him. From the moment I booked the staff took care of everything. On check in, sue was very friendly and professional. The food was amazing and service. The room was cute and cosy. All my friends/family said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsMJones14
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently organised a dinner for 122 at this spectacular venue . The food and service were just incredible. We couldn't fault it ! Amazingly helpful staff headed up by Andy front of house. An absolute delight to deal with . Food was 'off the scale'.Would definitely recommend their chicken and chorizo dish and the seabass. Full marks to all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charliechair2016
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you graciously for your kind feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our event guests with an unforgettably enjoyable evening, supplemented by delicious food provided by our AA Rosette restaurant. Your compliments have been passed on to Andy and the team and we greatly look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kind Regards Tim Dunning...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here a couple of times in last few weeks for work purposes and cannot find fault. The various times I have had to check in and leave has all been dealt with smoothly and without fuss. I'be only eaten in the restaurant once but the veal's liver was superb. It was disappointing that they had no ice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fussym00
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your positive review! As a regular guest I am extremely happy to read that we have repeatedly met your expectations with each and every stay. I have passed your comments on to the team and we look forward to your continued support and visits in the future. Kind Regards Tim Dunning Guest Service Manager

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had been looking forward to trying this restaurant & met a friend for lunch here recently. I had travelled from Norfolk & my friend from St Albans in Hertfordshire & it had seemed like a good place to meet up. From the photos I saw online, the restaurant looked attractive from the outside but was such a disappointment when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Portia50
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent feedback, I am sorry to read that you didn't have a pleasurable experience , however I assure you this is not our usual standard of practise. We have recently been awarded an AA Rosette and we do thrive on this, the head chef and his team are very passionate, so are saddened to...

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We called in here after a day in London for a couple of drinks. We ordered 1 pint and 1 gin & tonic. Total cost £11.05!!!! We bought cheaper drinks in London. I can't believe that they charge this much money for 2 drinks. If people would like better priced drinks (and food) then they should visit the John Barleycorn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LouGlutenFree
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to your satisfaction, I do hope that you will return to give us a second chance in the future. Kind regards Tim Dunning Guest Service Manager

Clare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Dreadful place Miniscule portions of food Incredible slow service Lack of organisation Inexperienced staff who obviously had received very little training ( but did their best ) Change a babies nappy - go to the hotel next door

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve B
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your feedback, I glad to see that our staff remain polite and attentive even under the circumstances that arose. I am sorry that this has impacted your visit with us this time, however I assure you this is not our usual standard of practise. We have recently been awarded an AA Rosette and we...

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We were welcomed with open arms having booked into a nearby hotel that had no hot water, no food and no bar! I rang the Red Lion and the Manager, last Saturday, saved our bacon. Our evening meal was excellent and brekkie superb. All the staff were delightful and most attentive. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Red Lion and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback. We do pride ourselves on providing our event guests with an unforgettably enjoyable experience. The Head chef and his team are very passionate about the food that they serve and are delighted to read that you enjoyed everything from the evening meal to breakfast in the morning. We were delighted...

St Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast. The staff were welcoming. The cooked breakfast was amazing (had the omelette)...gourmet standard. Lovely setting too out in the conservatory. Would recommend and will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoshAFC
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. Its so lovely to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. Have passed over your feedback with all the staff and our Breakfast Chef exspecaily is so delighted with your comments. we greatly look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kind Regards Amy Farmer Senior Guest...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I had a 3am check-in which was no problem, still greeted with a smile and good service. I slept through breakfast times but Alex & Andy couldn't do enough for me to make sure I had some food and drink before my long drive home. These are the reasons you back to places. Rooms were tiny but good enough and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john c
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. Its Great to read that you had such an enjoyable experience from start to finish. I have passed over you comments to Andy, Alex and the team, who are extremely delighted with your feedback. we greatly look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kind Regards Amy Farmer...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

just to say we had outstanding customer service from all the staff at the red lion and holiday inn. Had booked in advance and checking in they said a party going on - they offered us alternative hotel option but still invited us back to the red lion for a great breakfast. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alex s
Thomas A, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you graciously for your kind feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with an unforgettably enjoyable experience. Your compliments have been passed on to the whole team and we greatly look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kind Regards Amy Farmer Senior Guest Service Manager

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
1.9 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
274 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.5 km away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
164 reviews
12.3 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,056 reviews
14.3 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#7 of 35 in Cambridge
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Price Range: $134 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 19 is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Fussym00, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“enter the road and not the post code to find it via a sat nav.”
 of 5 bubbles A8345XBjohnc, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable”
 of 5 bubbles charlyboychilly, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay here only dine”
 of 5 bubbles edna54, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother going!!”
 of 5 bubbles janete355, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay