We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

HOTEL.INFOUS$85*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$117*
US$85*
Great Deal
US$96*
US$96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Booked last minute for one night on a flying visit. Amy on reception was very welcoming and the staff in the restaurant very friendly and obliging. Room supposedly a 'standard' but was very small. It was fine for me on my own, but with two people it would be a real squeeze. The 'cosy' is apparently even smaller! Small size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prettykitty57
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review and the lovely comments regarding the food and your overall stay. All of the team here are great at going the extra mile where ever possible and love to make all our guests feel at home, and are extremely please with all of the above comments. The Head chef and...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Our 3 night visit was to enable us to look after an elderly relative while her usual helper was away. We found the hotel quirky and interesting but lacking in many areas. The rooms were sparsely furnished with only 4 pegs on the wall for hanging clothes. With no drawers or shelves everything else had to go on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to your satisfaction, please be assured that this isn't our usual standard of practise. I have spoken with the Head housekeeper and his team, who are saddened to read that issues arose throughout your stay. I have also made Maintenance team...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The check in procedure has been changed and is a case of hunt the staff or wait in the lobby until you are noticed, the door to the reception is closed and when you open it you find an office with 2 chairs in front of a desk and you are told that they are busy so you go out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichyB1964
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to your satisfaction, please be assured that this isn't our usual standard of practise. I have spoken with our restaurant manager regarding the issues that arose throughout your stay and she is very sad to see that you didn't have a...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

after reading the past couple of reviews I was a bit apprehensive about eating here. my wife and I ordered fish cakes and the pork belly to start, both excellent, my wife had confit chicken and I the pork fillet and again BOTH faultless. we shared the lemon meringue and again it was lovely. mediocre its not, awful its not,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank behappy2017
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review and the lovely comments regarding the food and the service that you received throughout your stay. All of the team here are great at going the extra mile where ever possible and love to make all our guests feel at home. The Head chef and his team are very passionate...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Shabby, tired and overpriced. In fact, I would go as far as saying it was dirty. Beds uncomfortable, no wardrobe or hangers for clothes. Food very mediocre. I feel thoroughly ripped off and don't understand how places like that get away with the price they charge! Please, do not go there!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ipowell15
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your feedback, I am sorry to read that you didn't have a pleasurable experience with us this time, however I can assure you this is not our usual standard of practise. Please be assured that I have passed over all comments to the relevant departments regarding the issues that arose, we are doing our...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We went there tonight and ordered potato and leek soup and fish cakes. The soup was absolutely tasteless what there was of it. Tiny piece of bread was on the plate. After two spoonfuls of the soup and a couple of bites of the bread, I took it back to the bar and said how awful it was. Nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marigibb
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your feedback, I am sorry to read that you didn't have a pleasurable experience with us this time, however I can assure you this is not our usual standard of practise. The head chef and his team are very passionate about each dish that leaves the kitchen, so are saddened to see that you...

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We were attending a friend's 60th birthday in Saffron Walden on a Saturday night and as it was my husband's birthday on the Sunday, I booked a double room for a romantic getaway. What a disappointment! The bathroom had a horrible damp smell that pervaded the bedroom unless the door was kept shut; the shower was barely big enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunchylde
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to your satisfaction, please be assured that this isn't our usual standard of practise. I have spoken with the Head housekeeper and his team, who are saddened to read that issues arose throughout your stay. I have also made Maintenance team...

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Just a quick visit whilst house hunting. Staff were really friendly and a really relaxed environment. Had whitebait plus a sandwich all of which was exceptional. Lovely convenient venue which we will visit again. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkJJ69
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review and the lovely comments regarding the food. All of the team here are great at going the extra mile where ever possible and love to make all our guests feel at home, the Head chef and his team are very passionate about each dish that leaves the Kitchen and take...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

A regularly visited spot when collecting/dropping visitors at railway station. Always disappointed by pricing of drinks but shocked today when asked for £17.50 for 2 diet cokes from a soda gun and 2 single gins with 1 shared tonic!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimVJ
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017

i recently stayed at the Red Lion Hotel whilst attending a training course in the area the red lion hotel is a nice place to stay its clean the rooms are tidy the bed comfy the food although nice is A la Carte which is not to my taste but thats just my opinion it woulnt be my choice on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Thomas A, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review and the lovely comments regarding the food and the service that you received throughout your stay. All of the team here are great at going the extra mile where ever possible and love to make all our guests feel at home. The Head chef and his team are very passionate...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
1.8 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
307 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.8 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,253 reviews
14.3 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,134 reviews
1.2 km away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Price Range: $140 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 16 is very nice”
Bird29, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Can't comment”
HEXHAMLAD2014, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 19 at the top of the stairs, people seem to like to say there merry sleep tights out side the door.”
RichyB1964, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for the food”
behappy2017, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You will have a job finding a nice room here! Complain and you might get a better one!”
ipowell15, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HOTEL.INFO
US$85* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$96
PricelineUS$96
ElvolineUS$117
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates