We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Swan & Minster Mill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Swan & Minster Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,663: English reviews
Start your review of Old Swan & Minster Mill
 Click to rate
catterick
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Old Swan for a 3-day trip to Oxford. The Hotel has been very well designed with the majority of rooms on one side of a very quiet road running through Minster Lovell. The restaurant was on the other side of the road (in all about 1 minutes slow-paced walk). Service was veryhelpful. The rooms are very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tweedsider09
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Quiet area but not best suited for unsupervised toddlers as is very close to an unguarded fast flowing river Maybe rooms could be better sound insulated but other than that food and rooms were excellent and worth the cost

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 208nigelp
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was here for a wedding so not a venue I would have chosen to stay myself as I'm a budget traveller usually. The hotel is lovely and welcoming and in beautiful surroundings. Bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard and the beds are really comfortable. I found the rooms too warm, even with the radiator off, and window...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonB1980
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you book directly there will be no misunderstanding re the spa. Midweek deal great value. Friendly, helpful staff. Enjoyable food, lovely choice of fresh fruit and compotes at breakfast and from the 1st April the lovely lady we spoke to when we left, told us the cooked breakfast would be fresh to order. Great walks from the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at the old swan and minster mill for 3 nights as a little honeymoon until our official one later on in the year back in 2012 unfortunately I can only put april 2016 as this is the furthest it will go back to. It's expensive especially the best room they have which was about £350 a night back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty H Thank you very much for your review from 5 years ago! I am not entirely sure if you have returned since your mini honeymoon but if you haven't please do come and visit, we would love to welcome you back. There are still staff members here that would have been here during your stay here in 2012,...

Haselmere
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a great stay here, Staff and facilities are fantastic, you couldn't ask for more. The view from our room was over the river and the patio area had a brazier and wood so you could like a fire in the evening to enjoy the view.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 767victorw
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear 767victorw Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Old Swan & Minster Mill. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay, thank you for your kind comments. I do hope we can welcome you back soon, the property is looking spectacular right now with all the spring blooms bursting into flower. Kindest regards...

Poole
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Friendly, helpful staff, from checking in to the spa and the restaurant. Our 50 minute full body massage was excellent and very relaxing as were the other spa facilities. Room was spacious, clean, comfy and had every extra you could think of, from dressing gown and slippers to hot water bottle. Food in the restaurant was mouth watering. An excellent...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Lisa F Thank you so much for your five star review, I have shared it with the whole team who are over the moon. Everyone works so hard to make our guests stay special so to receive feedback such as yours means we are heading in the right direction. Thank you, I hope we can welcome you back soon....

Stanstead Abbotts
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fantastic hotel and the food was excellent. Rooms were quite large. Large, comfy bed and pillows Found the water mill outside our room quite noisy and irritating for sleeping. Good location set on a river. The staff were top quality and highly trained which always makes a difference to a weekend away. Fair price as it was Cheltenham week and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 349jaynet
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear 349jaynet Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a fabulous review. I have passed on your comments to the whole team who are so pleased their hard work is paying off. I am sorry that the Archemedes Screw kept you awake, it is normally very quiet however if the wind is in a certain direction...

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As always we were very careful to read reviews before booking but I have to say the excellent reviews did not fully reflect the beauty, comfort, friendliness and first class service of staff. Our family joined us for a special celebration and not one of us was disappointed. Staff was very attentive and helpful. The bedrooms were spacious,very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valerie N
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Valerie N Wow, what a super review, thank you so much. We're so pleased you had such a lovely stay with us and thank you for choosing us for your special celebration. During the Spring and Summer months we offer delicious picnics to enjoy in our 65 acres of meadows and gardens which are looking particularly spectacular now as...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is set in a beautiful picturesque setting. Gives you the option to get away from all the hustle and bustle of day to day life. Staff in both hotel and restaurant were all helpful and friendly. We ate both lunch and dinner in the restaurant. Our lunch was beautiful, best ham sandwich we had ever had. No joke....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayburns18
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear kayburns18 Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us, what a lovely five star review. I have passed on your fantastic comments to the whole team who are thrilled you had such a great stay. The new Garden Spa has proved extremely popular and gets booked up quickly, I'm...

869 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (465)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Garden Room (27)
Viewed
Garden Room with Patio and Wood Stove (32)
Viewed
Old Swan Churchill Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Dovecote Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Luxe Early Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
River Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
2.9 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
337 reviews
23.6 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
768 reviews
13.7 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,572 reviews
37.3 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Price Range: $192 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A river room would be our choice again”
 of 5 bubbles LynPaul546, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“De luxe rooms in the upstairs of the Minster Mill overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles njanelondon, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only ate, did not stay.”
 of 5 bubbles beverleypawson, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They have only certain rooms for dogs - If you have a dog would not recommend to stay in room 132 and there is no room for a dog bed.”
 of 5 bubbles keoghanita, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Old Swan has 14 older character rooms whilst the Mill has 60 newer build rooms. all are well furnished.”
 of 5 bubbles Irvine-SoA, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5