We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Swan & Minster Mill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Swan & Minster Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,691: English reviews
Start your review of Old Swan & Minster Mill
 Click to rate
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this is a real dog friendly property, we were able to take our dogs with us to eat instead of having to leave them in the room, all families kept their dogs under control. We will definitely be back. we booked canine traveller trip and even had packed lunch included.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D6005PFannb
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Unfortunately I cannot recommend anyone to stay here, which is unusual as as per my other reviews I am used to giving high ratings. The whole place is just disappointing - except for the grounds outside which are nice. The restaurant is cramped and the food mediocre. The staff act like they wish they didn't have to be there and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Sam B Please accept my sincere apologies that you found your experience with us lacking in so many ways. As you are very aware we usually receive such positive feedback so I am obviously concerned that we let ourselves down so badly on this occasion. I would be very grateful for the opportunity to discuss this with you so...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful Cotswold Village. The grounds are well kept with lovely walks along the river. Worth a visit to the Church and ruins of the Hall at the other end of the village. Dinner was lovely and lots of choice with the buffet breakfast in the morning. My husband was so impressed with the Nespresso machine in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Upon seeing the numerous excellent reviews we were looking forward to staying here. Upon arrival we were informed we received an upgrade to a superior room. The room was lovely, clean and modern - plenty of space. I had a quick look at the rooms online, we were in the room we actually booked for, superior? No big deal as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukesmith2
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Lukesmith2 Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. Whilst we are delighted that you enjoyed our stunning location, food and buildings it is extremely disappointing to read that your breakfast experience, as well as service in the Restaurant, wasn't up to scratch and I sincerely apologise for this. We pride ourselves...

Hatfield
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The worst hotel we have every stayed at in our entire lives. We have stayed at better B&B's. This isn't a five start, it is a lie and a fraud. We had not issues with the people but the living conditions, the stench, the beds that were bought form possibly a dump, the stink of sewage and the flushes at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8kartikd
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear 8kartikd What a shame to read your review after we have already been in touch and you were very happy,and grateful, with our solution. I am truly sorry that nothing the hotel has to offer met with your approval. Firstly, our property is graded independently by multiple agencies and achieves 5-star Inn status. There is a constant program of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Old Swan is in an idyllic location in beautiful countryside. Using the hotel as a base, you can easily go for walks through the cotswolds. The pub has a lovely atmosphere and serves a good quality food and wine. The hotel itself is more like a mini resort with tennis, croquet, giant chess and a lovely river running through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crtlove23
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear crtlove23 Thank you so much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Old Swan & Minster Mill. We are delighted to read that overall you had a great stay at the hotel but we are obviously disappointed to read that you found service to be below par. I have forwarded your comments to all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A fantastic place to get away from it all - and the Spa is a real treat! The service and friendliness and politeness of the staff was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend and will definitely be going back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn F
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Martyn F Thank you so much for your excellent five star review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that everything about your stay was perfect, I have passed on your comments to the whole team who are over the moon. We do hope that we can welcome you back soon for another relaxing stay. Very best...

Twickenham, London United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is a lovely hotel with great grounds for children. Shame that restaurant and some rooms on other side of road (a small road but car can go fast). Room was very nice but not really big enough for a child on a z bed. Child's bed not great quality and uncomfortable. Virtually no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Jackie S Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted to read that overall you had a lovely visit and enjoyed our beautiful location and excellent food. Unfortunately I do not know which room you stayed in but I am sorry to read you found it too small and...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made the mistake of booking this hotel too late and over New Year's Eve. The only room available was the cheapest room - the classic double room. We contacted the hotel to request that if any higher graded room were available, we would be happy to pay the difference to upgrade, as our stay was still a month away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsK208
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear MrsK208 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us back in December. Unfortunately as your stay was so long ago it is impossible for me to follow up on any of your comments. We do not have any room categories by the name of "signature" so I am unsure of the rooms you are referring...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for three nights to kick off the Easter holidays and take full advantage of what little free time we have before our baby is born. We were both looking forward to our visit as the place looked beautiful and, on the whole, it did not disappoint. The grounds are gorgeous, breakfast and dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and kind words. We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful property and particularly our food and friendly team. I have forwarded your comments regarding staffing at breakfast to Andrew, our Food & Beverage Manager for review. At the beginning of every sitting each staff member is allocated a...

869 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (465)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Garden Room (27)
Viewed
Garden Room with Patio and Wood Stove (32)
Viewed
Old Swan Churchill Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Dovecote Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Luxe Early Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
River Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
23.3 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.0 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
347 reviews
7.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,601 reviews
4.4 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
791 reviews
37.3 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Price Range: $195 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a room close to the dining room, make sure you ask for this when booking as it could be a long, dark walk back to your room.”
KH3000, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for rooms in the newer building - better views over the gardens.”
pjk49, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A river room would be our choice again”
LynPaul546, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“De luxe rooms in the upstairs of the Minster Mill overlooking the river”
njanelondon, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only ate, did not stay.”
beverleypawson, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5