We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Swan & Minster Mill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Swan & Minster Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Swan & Minster Mill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,629: English reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful setting and charming building. Everything about it is first class except the food and the service. We ordered Sunday lunch with friends and left feeling we'd had very poor value. The portions were tiny- one slice of fatty beef and a minuscule portion of veg. The desert was so small it looked like one portion had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arthurives
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ives Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you felt the portions small as we normally get great feedback for our Sunday lunch. The portions are plated to recommended standards in terms of weight of meat etc. We also consider size as well with the fact that most people order three courses for...

Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We had a super stay at this lovely riverside hotel in a charming village. The staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and kind. The room was great, so comfortable! The restaurant too was very good. We relaxed and unwound, despite the weather. If you have mobility issues be sure to let the hotel know ahead of time. While there are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burwend
Oxford
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We decided to pop into the old Swan after a lovely morning at the mister Lovell ruins for an afternoon tea. We were greeted by a very unfriendly member of staff, who begrudgingly told us we could have a table in the bar area. When asked if we could have a high chair we were told they were all being...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank h1982
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear h1982 We are sorry to read your review and to learn of your shabby welcome to the Old Swan. The de Savary Family pride themselves upon the warmth and charm of our staff so we can only apologise that this wasn't how you were greeted. As a rule, the inn is open for lunch (12.30-3pm) and dinner (6.30-9.30pm) for...

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Lovely and quiet, with spacious rooms and very updated bathrooms. Kids outside play area could use some attention, although we loved looking at the chickens. They do have bikes, but the tires were flat on one of the two kids bikes. It just seemed like it was the off season or something... Great restaurant, but wish it opened a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara M
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Cara Thank you for taking time to review your visit to the Old Swan & Minster Mill. We're sorry that you felt some of the children's facilities were not up to scratch and we are already taking action on the points you have highlighted. The activity area in the kitchen garden tends to be very popular although it's meant...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We had 2 nights here with Breakfast and Dinner included - Breakfast has pretty much everything you could want, usual buffet stuff and option of cooked breakfast (included if you have inclusive breakfast, but 'latte' or 'cappuccino' are not, normal coffee is). The walks are amazing, I'd recommend Wellies all year round as there could be muddle spots even in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrvot
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Having just returned from our third visit to the Old Swan and Minster Mill we are most certainly feeling happy and refreshed due to this wonderful and special place. We had an amazing suite Richard III in the Old Swan which we absolutely loved and the four poster bed would have fitted in a whole family it was so big!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KELLYSLJ
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Kelly Thank you for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed another stay with us, we very much look forward to seeing you in June, please bring the warm weather. With best wishes, Caroline

Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I have been here twice now and we use it as our little getaway with our two dogs. It is difficult to find somewhere that accommodates dogs and where you can have dinner with them sitting at your feet. Well we finally found it... Beautiful, breath taking walks, superb food, lovely staff and best of all they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aljordan04
HostManager, Guest Relations Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Jordan Thank you for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed another relaxing stay with us with your lovely two boys. They are the sweetest. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Caroline

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Having just returned from a 2day break at The Old Swan and Minster Mill it was perfect. We had a superb room in the Mill with a comfortable bed, complimentary slow gin and even a hot water bottle, what's else does anyone need. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and evening meals, all of the food was superb. There...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Paul J
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Went for afternoon tea after visiting the historic Minster Lovell Hall. When we arrived we were told that the whole establishment had been booked out and we could not come in. Not great as the only place in the village

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickH_NickH
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Nick We're sorry that we were not able to accommodate you when you dropped by last week for afternoon tea. As an hotel, it's a difficult balance when we're full to say "no" to people who drop-in without a reservation. We always do try to accommodate but hopefully you'll understand that this can't be to the detriment of other...

Peterborough
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as a family for 1 night. It's a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting - very romantic but lovely for families too. The room we had was in the Minster Mill part of the hotel. It was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and had a good selection. We would love to return to spend longer,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VickyPeterborough

863 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (459)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (207)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Garden Room (27)
Viewed
Garden Room with Patio and Wood Stove (32)
Viewed
Old Swan Churchill Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Dovecote Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Luxe Early Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
River Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
2.9 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
326 reviews
23.6 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
753 reviews
13.7 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,551 reviews
32.2 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Price Range: $193 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only ate, did not stay.”
 of 5 bubbles beverleypawson, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They have only certain rooms for dogs - If you have a dog would not recommend to stay in room 132 and there is no room for a dog bed.”
 of 5 bubbles keoghanita, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Old Swan has 14 older character rooms whilst the Mill has 60 newer build rooms. all are well furnished.”
 of 5 bubbles Irvine-SoA, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If your focus will be the spa, choose a room in the Minster Mill. If it's going to be the bar and dining room, pick the old pub.”
 of 5 bubbles TimG634, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just avoid rooms reached by spiral staircase if could be of concern to you”
 of 5 bubbles anenglishgent, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5