We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chilton Apartments & Cottages

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chilton
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 32: English reviews
Start your review of Chilton Apartments & Cottages
 Click to rate
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We are delighted to give this excellent accommodation in the picturesque village of Chilton a five star review! When we arrived after a long and difficult journey we were given a very warm welcome by Shiela, who very kindly and quickly sorted us out with our dog who had been overlooked at booking (our fault). The cottage (Lewis) had everything...

1Thank Trish D
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed at the Churchill Apartment for 2 nights (from Friday to Sunday). Giles who was dealing with us since the beginning of the booking (through emails) was very helpful at all times. The house is an amazing 600 years old building, well kept with all commodities, kitchen, comfortable living room, 2 bedrooms and bathroom (and 2 parking spaces as well)....

1Thank laura r
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I warn you not to book this accommodation! Booking Chilton apartments was initially difficult as the manager seemed unwilling to accommodate a girls only party. I was constantly asked for more money to cover any sort of extra request made (linen change, use of the sofa bed and 2 hour delay on checkout) which totaled nearly £100! The accommodation was...

Thank Genny B
Gilo101, Owner at Chilton Apartments & Cottages, responded to this review

I do love this review! This was a hen party. Due to the quiet nature of the village we do not allow hen parties. This is clear on our website. Despite numerous emails before & after the guest confirmed the booking she did not think to mention this at any time!! Funny that! I do love this bit - ‘I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed in one of the apartments for 2 nights in December along with a group of girl friends. Unfortunately I accidentally dropped an iron on the carpet in one of the bedrooms. This caused a small burn in the corner of the room, which to be honest was hard to see. Of course as a consequence the management kept...

Thank Ruth2303
Gilo101, Owner at Chilton Apartments & Cottages, responded to this review

This guest caused major damage to the carpet & we had no alternative but to replace it. Due to the extent of the damage it was clear that the iron was not ‘dropped’ but in all likelihood was unplugged then immediately placed down on the carpet while still hot. This inevitably burned through the carpet. The damaged carpet was not...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Myself and a colleague had a months work, on Didcott power station so rather than stay in a B&B or a hotel we looked for something more comfortable. The apartment was brilliant a home from home in a charming part of the country we stayed in the Rutherford apartment.

2Thank Qujaho
Carterton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Hawking apartment in October. The accommodation was very spacious & just ideal for us as we were attending a local wedding. The apartment was spotlessly clean & had everything we needed. We only cooked on one of the nights but the kitchen & dining area was great for a family of 4. The village...

2Thank Miranda E
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The process of booking Chilton apartments went smoothly and our conversation on the phone with Giles was both straight forward and welcoming. We were a party of four friends with the possibility of 2 more friends joining us. Giles suggested Churchill as he said it was his largest apartment and could accommodate 6 people if needed. We arrived ( 6...

1Thank Sumac2013
Gilo101, Owner at Chilton Apartments & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review & I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Having read your review I must admit to a sense of amazement at its content. Back in March you reserved the apartment for a 2 night stay in September for 4 guests. This followed your initial enquiry where you were sent an e-brochure as...

Ness, Isle of Lewis
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We (three adults, two children and a dog) had a very pleasant stay at Chilton Apartments in September 2013. The apartment proved ideal for our short stay: It was very comfortable and clearly planned with family living in mind. The proximity of the local park was ideal for walks with the dog. We were re-assured by clear and helpful communication...

1Thank David G
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2013

During our three week trip we stayed at various times in Rutherford, Lewis and Churchill apartments. All were a real home from home - comfortable, well-equipped and clean. We were all made really welcome, especially the children and were given plenty of local information plus other travel tips further afield. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we...

2Thank JudeBest
Hillegom, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Chilton Appartments enormously. Kind, warm welcome; spacious, clean appartment. Well equiped kitchen, fine wi-fi and great choice of TV channels. Ideal for explorign Oxford and surroundings! Hope to come back some day..

1Thank Annelies V

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Room/Suite (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilton
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
4.4 km away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,062 reviews
12.4 km away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Greensands Guest House
Greensands Guest House
#1 of 2 in East Hendred
51 reviews
2.7 km away
Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 km away
The Red Lion Pub & Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room

Additional Information about Chilton Apartments & Cottages

Address: Chilton House Townsend, Chilton OX11 0SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Chilton
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilton Apartments & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chilton Apartments & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have a dog, Lewis is perfect.”
533trishd, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
“The website on Chilton Apartments is very clear and helpful when looking for nearby activities or places of interest to visit.”
847mirandae, 1 Nov 2013 | Read review
“All were good - just depends on the size required for your trip.”
JudeBest, 7 Oct 2013 | Read review
“We would probably stay in one of the cottages next time because they are on the flat (no stairs) and are newer.”
mezza19, 26 May 2013 | Read review
“All the rooms are good, The cottages are £10 p night more but have small gardens if you have kids.”
PepperedEggs, 15 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5