We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kaiteri Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kaiteri Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 125: English reviews
Start your review of Kaiteri Lodge
 Click to rate
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in this lodge for one night during my kiwi experience trip, it was a lovely little hostel with spacious and clean rooms. They had a bar area that served cooked meals for a very reasonable price and these usually included an alcoholic drink. I can imagine this can be quite loud for guests not travelling as part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for four nights during my kiwi experience trip back in October. I spent four relaxing nights in this cute little lodge right on the beach. Clean rooms and bathrooms, kitchen was cleaned a few times a day and well stoked with utensils. Spending four nights here meant there was one night I was practically alone in the lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristy T
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Kristy T, We appreciate your awesome review and so glad you enjoyed our little place here in paradise :-) Our team work exceptionally hard to keep it clean and cosy and we really enjoy having visitors from all over the world on a daily basis. We hope that you get to come back soon and have some more...

Birmingham, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights from 21st-23rd March. The "lodge" let's you know that upon check in, you are required to place a $20 deposit for your key and cutlery for the kitchen, due to the amount of theft of cutlery. This is the first hostel in New Zealand I have experienced this. Check in was slow but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xelaward
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora xelaward , Thanks for taking the time to write such a lengthy review. The team here found it exceptionally entertaining reading your considerably biased and inaccurate review of events. Interestingly, you seemed to have missed a couple of vital points leading up to our request that you vacate our Reception so please let me refresh your memory… At...

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Located close to the beach. We had a double with en suite bathroom. Room was decent size but it was not clean. Visible dust on bedside tables etc. The bathroom smelled of mold so bad I was difficult to use. We informed staff but they ignored us and claimed it was not mold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nirre1510
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Nirre1510, Thank you for reviewing Kaiteri Lodge. Any customer concerns are always taken seriously and at no point was I informed that you were not happy with you room and you certainly would not have been ignored if I had. The rooms are fully cleaned and checked daily and, should there be an issue, it is always reported...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a private double at this hostel as part of the Kiwi Experience. The hostel is a two minute walk from the beach and there's a kids play park opposite. A restaurant and bar sits right beside this hostel and a local supermarket is a two minute walk away. The room and ensuite were clean. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LindyBopper
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora LindyBopper, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise that you did not find our kitchen up to its usual standard. The kitchen is cleaned thoroughly at 11.30am and 10pm every single day. We leave out new tea towels and cleaning cloths at each...

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We only stayed for one night and for $80 you got an ensuite room+ towels!!! Great location near to the beach and the bar downstairs. Very clean and very comfortable rooms!!! The only bad thing was the size of the kitchen here it is just too small. So if you do stay either eat out, food is really reasonably priced....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gem M
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Gem M, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Kaiteri Lodge. We have extended our kitchen and put on a 10 metre, outdoor, covered dining area complete with cooktops, jugs toaster etc. . This is besides the current kitchen so its disappointing to hear that you still found it too small. We hope you...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Above and beyond expectation! Nice and friendly lodge with a warming atmosphere. Fantastic staff who put in the extra effort. Recognition is most definitely needed. Would always be happy to visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Tom, Many thanks for your great review of Kaiteri Lodge. Our team here work hard to make sure our guests have an awesome stay. we are certainly lucky to be in one of the most beautiful locations in the world and we would love to have you come back and visit us again. Kia kaha and safe travels...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

I first came to the hostel in February 2016 via the kiwi experience bus. I can remember as clear as day how it was back then. And how unwelcoming some of the staff at the time made us feel. Because this is a dry hostel they came around looking for liquor, but like a bloodhound in the room. Makes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaydenMeer
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review Kaiteri Lodge. We remember you well from both visits, the miserable guy with no friends, who obviously has too much time on his hands. Now that you have finished distorting the truth let me touch on a few of the points you made. All accommodation providers on...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Lodge is a good location. Hosts friendly and helpful with booking etc and answering any questions. Generally adequate facilities... hopefully you get what you pay for. We stayed 5 nights in a room with ensuite. recommend this option as is large. cleaning of room and ensuite needs improvement. ensuite basin and toilet definitely not cleaned for 5 days even after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Sue W, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. Its disappointing to hear that you didnt feel that your room was up to standard. Our housekeeping team work very hard and all rooms are cleaned , and occupied rooms serviced, on a daily basis. it certainly was not 5 days that nothing had been done. The...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Great location and setup just a few seconds from one of New Zealand's best beaches. We booked an en-suite double room and it was most suitable for our needs, which was really a good place to base ourselves for day trips up to Abel Tasman National Park. Like any budget establishment - you get what you pay for. But with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VillaInTheVines
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora VillaInTheVines, Thanks for your lovely review of Kaiteri Lodge. We are so lucky to be based right at one of the most beautiful beaches in NZ and only a short drive from the Abel Tasman National Park. I'm sorry that you felt that our kitchen area didn't meet your expectations as we have recently added on a ten...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kaiteri Lodge is set right at the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. Our beach-style and back packer accommodation is just 50m from the beachfront of beautiful Kaiteriteri, a stone’s throw from the Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park, and the perfect setting for fun, relaxed family holidays, international travellers or weekend get-away. The beautiful Nelson region boasts the most sunshine hours in New Zealand, and a selection of safe swimming beaches. At Kaiteri Lodge, we’re proud to offer the best of everything New Zealand has to offer – friendly people, local cafes and restaurants, golden beaches, walking tracks, beautiful scenery, and comfortable, welcoming accommodation for any traveller. When you stay at our Kaiteriteri accommodation, you won’t be short on things to see and do. Go kayaking, sailing, mountain biking, fishing or swimming, or visit the nearby walking tracks for a real outdoor Kiwi experience. We have 21 rooms that can accommodate most requests but have limited private rooms configured as Super King Doubles and Twins with en-suite. Kaiteri Lodge is mainly configured as shared dorm style rooms with en-suite. Our private en-suite rooms come with a super king double bed, heater, TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. All linen is provided. Kaiteri Lodge is also shared with Kiwi Experience, a national in-bound tour bus operation. The lodge has the following facilities available to all guests: Activity booking desk, TV room, Laundry, Wireless and Kiosk Internet, BBQ area and a shared kitchen with all necessary cooking utensils. The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, fully licensed, on-site and open from 4pm 7 nights a week November to April and May to October 4 nights per week serving set menu options or choose from our a la carte dining, gourmet pizzas or take away, we’ve got it all. There is music nightly. Local activities: kayaking, walking Abel Tasman, waka races, water taxis, scalloping, cray-fishing, mini golf, sailing, sky diving and many more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaiteri Lodge

Address: 8 Inlet Road | Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Price Range: $56 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiteri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaiteri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiteri Hotel Kaiteriteri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask what services you are going to get for the cost and what your view will be of. Request a quiet room. Ensuites large.”
, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for an ensuite room - bathrooms are a decent size.”
VillaInTheVines, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“private room with ensuite”
c0mmuter, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a family room”
, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“20m to the beach”
Mic_Born, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5