We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Mill Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Six of us stayed there while visiting the Christmas market. The rooms were clean, and the breakfast lovely. It was a nice walk into town, about ten minutes. The seemed a little short staffed, but the staff that were there worked very hard. The beds were comfortable, and we rather liked the sound of running water from the river.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica E
Llanharan, Wales
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent a three night break with friends at this delightful “olde worlde” establishment. It really is an old mill, dating back to medieval times, and the former mill race still runs through the restaurant (under glass!). Low beams, open fire, flagstones, creaky floors all part of the experience. Outside ducks paddle around on the river – Constable could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Llanharan_WalesLlan
Lytham Lancashire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a nice friendly place. Very quaint and squeaky, but nice and clean with breakfasts to die for! Congratulations to Jo and John and all their staff for making us welcome. It is situated on the canal side with a lovely view of the cathedral, what more could you ask for!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was convenient for our needs. Check in was accommodating (we were early) and the room, on the top floor front was good. Bed comfortable, good nights sleep and great breakfast. This is an old building and delightfully quaint. The stairs are steep and narrow - but what do you expect in a property of this era? The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Thornton, CO
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This inn is in an old mill. The mill pond and the space where the water wheel was housed still exist. Service is friendly and the food is good, especially the breakfast. The price is quite reasonable, the beds are comfortable and the small, crooked stairs are kind of enjoyable. The rooms may not be accessible for some people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Notabrit
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my lovely girlfriend stayed here on Halloween weekend to visit family (they're not ghosts). I'd read the differing reviews and took a bit of a gamble on the old mill hotel. The main issue people seem to have is with the water pressure. Being told on arrival that we were on the top floor it was in my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
Marham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were in Salisbury for a wedding at the Guild Hall right in the centre. For several reason we elected to stay at the Old Mill rather than one of the closer venues and we were not disappointed. The hotel has parking which many of the hotels did not and the setting is charming, right on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mega575
OldSarumHotelsLtd, General Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Mega575, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Old Mill Hotel. Our check in times are 14.30, however, we appreciate many guests are travelling for a variety of reasons and endeavour to get guests checked in and comfortable as soon as we can. I am glad that we were able to assist in storing your luggage allowing you...

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a night here in October 2016 staying in a room at the top of the building which was fine for us, but wouldn't suit folk with mobility problems as the stairs are steep & narrow. Lovely view from the bedroom window and the 15 minute walk via the water meadows to Salisbury centre is most pleasant. We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
OldSarumHotelsLtd, General Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

John H, Thank you for a great score review. It's pleasing to hear you enjoyed your visit, the views and location. I look forward to your return when you are next in the area. Many thanks, John and the team

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous location and a pretty very old mill building sited on the river, but a pleasant walk to Salisbury city. Pub does good beer, Speckled Hen, Abbot Ale etc. and bar snacks (didn't try those). Rooms very poor. Drafty single glazed windows in bedroom and bathroom. Wardrobe was just a short rail in a crevice in the room. Uncomfortable bed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meribel1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, General Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

meribel1, Thank you for your constructive feedback from your recent stay with us at The Old Mill. I'm happy that you enjoyed the location and offer in the pub. We often receive great feedback on our breakfast, so it was disappointing to see you did not feel the experience was of our regular standard. Sometimes we do run a quieter...

Retford
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The first room we were given was at the back, looking iver the beer garden, with a noisy extractor fan under the window. We were sunsequently moved to the top floor. Forthe price we paid, the accommodation was of a poor standard. Loose toilet seat was dangerous, nearly deposited me on the floor! Towel rail ridiculously small. 'Wardobe' was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
OldSarumHotelsLtd, General Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Alison P, Thank you for reviewing your visit from Wednesday and Thursday. I am sorry that during the emails sent between yourself and Jack, my assistant manager, the room booked on the second floor was not suitable when you arrived. I am glad Jack managed to arrange a move for you to another room you preferred, despite being on a...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harnham
1.1 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.9 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
667 reviews
0.9 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
689 reviews
1.7 km away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
382 reviews
0.7 km away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 15 in Salisbury
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Mill Hotel is a 15th century building with features dating back to 1250. From its early ecclesiastical beginnings, it was transformed in the 16th century to a paper mill. The hotel is in the most tranquil location of Harnham Meadows. However, the shopping and tourist district of Salisbury City centre is a mere 10 minute walk. The paved footpath takes you through the meadows which boast the fantastic view of the Cathedral that was voted 'Best View in Britain' in a Country Life poll. It was also made famous in John Constable's classic painting 'Salisbury Cathedral'. (This camera shot alone will make your visit worthwhile.) The hotel is Grade 1 listed in parts and stands in a most peaceful and stunning location above 3 mill runs off of the River Nadder. This really is a countryside escape, just a stone's throw from the ancient city. Our traditional old English bar with low beams, stone floors and open fires, is a step back in time. A little piece of old England that has been preserved for your enjoyment. You can sample the best cask ales, a great selection of wine and food and chat to the locals whilst enjoying the best welcome and hospitality that Wiltshire has to offer. The restaurant is set in the oldest part of the hotel and sits above a mill run which is visible through a viewing panel. The ever present hum of the rushing waters and the large open fireplace, make it one of the best places to enjoy perfectly English food that's been freshly prepared by our chefs for your pleasure. When the weather permits, our restaurant and bar may be outdone by our fantastic garden setting for the best place to enjoy a cool beer, a glass of wine or a great meal. We have 11 en-suite bedrooms set over 3 floors. (No lift available, however, we will of course help you with your bags if needed.) The historic staircase leads you up to the narrow corridors of the newer part of the building, a mere 300 years old. We are sure you will find the views from all our bedrooms are impressive, whether it's the Harnham hills, the River Nadder or over our fabulous gardens set on either side of the mill run, where every seat has a waterside view! The hotel bar, restaurant and bedrooms are undergoing refurbishment during Autumn 2014 and the garden will be completed in March 2015. This is being done with the maximum respect for our present hotel, bar and restaurant visitors and will enhance this already great experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel

Address: | Town Path, Harnham, Salisbury SP2 8EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Harnham
Price Range: $117 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Mill Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Frisco, Texas
Frisco, Texas
Addlestone, United Kingdom
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 4 on 2nd floor looks out on ducks, river and meadow - but narrow stairway access”
 of 5 bubbles Llanharan_WalesLlan, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have a lovely view of the river, naturally this has a sound consideration if you are a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnP569, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the top floor facing the front.”
 of 5 bubbles 716AlisonP, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay there make sure you are as far away from the bar as possible unless you are as deaf as a post!”
 of 5 bubbles Cornishpagan, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I have never stayed here. Just love the building and views.”
 of 5 bubbles Val104, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay