We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Via San Giovannello 1/b via Monte Ilice 2, 95029 Viagrande, Sicily Italy
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (14)
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Casale Poggio del Tiglio
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 11 Speciality lodging in Viagrande
Travellers' Choice
Nineteenth-century residence of historical and cultural interest, protected by the regulation of Cultural Heritage, situated at the foot of Mount Etna in the territory of Viagrande. Surrounded by pristine nature of the Etna Park is located just minutes from the sea. From the renovation of the old estate with the barn, the cellar and the millstone were obtained 9 comfortable accommodation with garden, furnished in Sicilian style. The first breakfast of fresh ingredients is served in the flowered terrace or in the room during the cooler seasons. The park that surrounds the estate includes 50 different types of plants, trees unobtainable that will make you rediscover smells and colors of uncontaminated
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
184Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 37
  • 12
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sören h wrote a review Sep 2020
Bern, Switzerland6 contributions
The villa is far away, which makes it calm and slow. The area is big and very clean so it‘s a perfect place to shut your engine off and let it go. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Dino who hs shared not only his cooking-secrets but also a couple of good storys. The 7 dogs are friendly and not scary despite their tallness. However, they are still dogs and therefore they bark, sometimes during the night or at 7 in the morning. Alltogether we would highly recommend this beautiful place! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from alberto romano, Proprietario at Casale Poggio del Tiglio
Responded 25 Sep 2020
thank you for being our guests and thank you for your kind words. we hope to see you soon
Read more
Mariella wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
All is perfect! A great experience. A place were you are between mountain and sea. This place is on wine's root, so it's possible to visit cellars and to taste. The hosts are very kind and helpful. I'd like to teturn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Response from alberto romano, Proprietario at Casale Poggio del Tiglio
Responded 12 Jul 2020
thank you so much. you have been very friendly guests, almost friends in no time. thank you
Read more
LaMa wrote a review Aug 2019
Strasbourg, France10 contributions13 helpful votes
The room was clean, the pool was nice, the breakfast was ok BUT dinner for 2 at 30e per person is not ok, especially since that was without the wine (20e/bottle, 5e/glas) meaning we paid 90e for a dinner which was good but nothing special (boiled eggs, zucchini in oil, pasta, ice cream cake...) which is definitely not ok. Also our room was connected to another one, and there was no intimacy: we could hear our neighbours cough etc. In summary: could be a great place but it feels a lot like a rip off
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Response from albertor703, Proprietario at Casale Poggio del Tiglio
Responded 19 Aug 2019
thanks for the compliments on the structure. we are sorry you used the term "scam" ... besides being unkind we believe it does not reflect the reality of our structure. Paying € 30 for a dinner with 6 starters, first course, second course, dessert and water included is a very reasonable price. the wine (which you chose ...) € 20: organic cellar, etna wine. normally you pay 30 euros in other places. the room you have chosen by booking directly is the cheapest and is close to another room (as in so many structures), all the others with a little bit more spending are totally autonomous. On the overall price I do not enter into the merits: very high season, mid-August ... thanks the same and best wishes.
Read more
Kathryn R wrote a review Nov 2018
Brooklyn, New York4 contributions
We booked this place thinking it would be a warm Sicilian family welcoming us to their property and teaching us about Sicily and the tourism in the area, instead we werent welcomed at all and had to fend for ourselves for basically everything. Here is a walk through of our experience. - Arrived in a horrible rain storm, and didnt have instructions on how to enter the property so I got soaked trying to figure out how to get in the gates. The owners do not speak english so I could barely understand them. Once inside we were greeted by the owner Valentina, who brought us to our room, but did not explain anything to us or give us any information other than a long book with a lot of rules in it. We had no idea where anything was, or what to do. - Finally, when the rain stopped we ventured out to see where we were, and there was nobody around at all, and no information. We were really confused. We had a dinner planned but we were never told what the food would be or how much it cost....We thought the dinner would be with the family, but it was just me and my fiance sitting in a room alone without any music, ambience, or idea of what was happening. Again, she doesnt speak english and could barely even tell us about the food. The food was mediocre. - Thankfully the next morning we met DINO, who was basically our savior. He speaks perfect english and was super customer service oriented and amazing. So nice and helpful! He gave us a book about Sicily and gave us his personal recommendations about what to do and where to go. He advised us to go to Syracusa and it was one of our favorite spots! He also suggested a pistachio festival on the other side of Etna, which was so much fun! He was so wonderful and greeted us every morning and always was helping up out. - the next day - i was bit by the giant white dog Caeser...Valentina had zero empathy and basically said he was a temperamental dog and to not pet him...however the dog came up to me and pursued me...i am a owner of two dogs and two cats and i know how to interact with animals. he bit me out of the blue and it was really scary. if you have a lot of people staying at your house you should probably have friendly animals or keep them away from the guests. They also have at least 4 other dogs on the property. it was quite alarming to come home at night in the dark and open the gate where all the dogs look like they are guarding the property and barking nonstop. - The room itself was really small and the bed was extremely hard. The towels in the bathroom were the hand towels. Drying off after a shower was really interesting. Thank god they gave us nice robes to wear! (huge positive) - We needed to wash our clothing one night and Valentina fought with us because she said the clothes wouldnt dry. It was never written that they didnt have a dryer. And on top of that they refused to hang the clothes to dry outside or in the room they "normally" do because it was rented to another guest. She also refused to let us hang dry the clothing in our room. After arguing with us, she allowed us to hang the clothes in the washer room which was a room out back near the dog kennel that was tiny. It took about 3 or 4 hours to wash a tiny load of clothing. - Another thing that we found extremely strange was that they entered our room without asking us if we wanted service. We had no cleaned up and they were basically in our stuff and they took the book that Dino had given to us...so they had clearly gone through out items. - The breakfast items were the same everyday, fruit, salami/prosciutto, cheese, cereal, bread, and some cake/pastry. It was basic but good. - the grounds were beautiful. lots of nice trees and plants all around. beautiful building. although it is deceiving in the picture because it shows a LARGE beautiful room with the old wine press, but that is actually not a room for guests. That is the room the family lives in. When you go to this place, there is no common house to spend time in with any type of services. They have a "living room" which is a small standalone building on the grounds that you cant even eat in. it isnt large enough for more than a handful of people. If other guests were in there, you wouldnt want to go in there. - on the site it says they have services that you can sign up for, but they were never mentioned once while we were there. - overall, the grounds are beautiful and DINO was amazing, but everything else was subpar. We would never go back there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from PoggiodelTiglio, Proprietario at Casale Poggio del Tiglio
Responded 5 Nov 2018
Dear Kathryn, thank you for the time you have dedicated to telling about your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed our park, our staff and the location. From your story you understand that what you write is a bit contradictory ... I do not want to go into the merits of what you tell, just clarify some things: - it is not our fault if it rained in a storm ... and if you have not easily found the way (very simple); - you were escorted to your room quickly just for a courtesy because it was raining in a storm (I thought to get you wet as little as possible); - we speak English and French, Dino works with us ... - if I do not speak English how is it possible that we discussed for the laundry? - the laundry service we offer (not all of them) does not have a dryer ... normally in Sicily there is the sun and ours is a Agriturismo (we are not a 5-star hotel) where I repeat normally there are not these services. We regret that instead of appreciating the service you complain; - the service card is not a book but 3 sheets with the history of the Casale, useful references for emergencies and the services we offer with their costs ... (we also sent it when booking and is present on our website); - we entered the room for the daily tidying up, we did not touch your clothes but we only put in place (in the living room available to all guests) the book on the itineraries of Sicily that you had left on the bed; - on the dog we all know how it went ... I do not even answer ... I remind you that the dogs in the evening are in their boxes and in the park there is nothing; - the palmento is the area where the check in and check out (reception) is done, the Living is the "house in the woods" where there are sofas and armchairs to seat 10 people. we are really sorry if you found yourself not well, we are a Sicilian family and we only want to put our guests in a position to be happy, maybe we did not succeed and we are sorry, it would be more beautiful and useful to tell the truth. much happiness
Read more
lavalletteknight wrote a review Oct 2018
malta17 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed here for a long weekend this October, would not change a thing! The place seems like it's in the middle of nowhere, but in fact is well located (if you come by car). Wonderful greeting from around 8 super lovely dogs!! They might seem intimidating for someone who's not that into dogs, but I assure you they are so tame and gentle and know not to enter the rooms if you leave the door open. DON'T BELIEVE ANY REVIEWS SAYING THAT THE DOGS WERE A PROBLEM OR A THREAT - there was a toddler on the premises while we were there and you should see how playful they were! Needless to say, they're protective of their house, so expect a bark or two. Having said that, we didn't hear a thing when at 2:30am we felt a 4.8scale tremor. Then, the funniest thing ever: punctual at 7am, the donkey lets out a bray to inform of his hunger! :-) Such a gentle character too, we were allowed to the stables which he shares with two other beautiful horses. Always ask for permission though, they're big beasts, but they soon befriend you, as the pictures show. The place is a little heaven on earth, with their own crops growing in-house, the pool area, the magnificent views, the swing benches, the outdoor living room with a sofa and table soccer... then there is the owners' private living room, which you will visit on checkin/out. Breathtaking. Breakfast was great with also an organic selection of marmalade and fruits, some of which were splendidly blended in honey & cinnamon for a divine taste. Dinner was nice too, and they have this home grown wine called ZOHRA which is absolutely delicious; so much, we bought stock for back home! As we did with marmalade: 18 jars! One eve we decided to dine out, and Alberto suggested the restaurant: All'angolo in Trecastagne - an absolute masterpiece at very reasonable prices. Literally, a small dining heaven run by one very talented bloke: ALL ALONE! Valentina booked us a horse-riding trip close by, which, if you're into horses, is a must. Lovely vine yards to gallop in! The hosting was so warm, all of the family, and Dino, who works and lives on the premises. I highly suggest this place for any kind retreat. It's warm, cosy, clean, so in touch with nature, so far from everyday chaos. It's not a 5-star resort but definitely worth the money as the relaxation levels there are sky-high! Will DEFINITELY return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from albertor703, Proprietario at Casale Poggio del Tiglio
Responded 12 Oct 2018
thank you very much for your kind words. We were happy to welcome you and look forward to seeing you in the future. We try to do our best to make the holidays of our guests beautiful and peaceful. Having guests like you fill our hearts with joy. We are waiting for you and thank you again
Read more
US$88 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ItalySicilyProvince of CataniaViagrande
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casale Poggio del Tiglio
Which popular attractions are close to Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Nearby attractions include Dario Vaghi - Etna Excursion Naturalistic Guide (2.7 km), Basilica di San Sebastiano (7.9 km), and Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dolceria Salemi, Ristorante Acquapazza - Santa Tecla, and Villa Mirador.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Casale Poggio del Tiglio?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Piazza del Duomo di Acireale (7.8 km) and Palazzo dei Principi Riggio di Campofiorito e di Campofranco (7.4 km).