We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolpack Inn

Save
Share
2 Warminster Road nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (154)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Woolpack Inn
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Beckington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Welcome to The Woolpack Inn, your Beckington “home away from home.” The Woolpack Inn aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as The Woolpack Hotel offers guests free wifi.

The boutique hotel features room service. Plus, The Woolpack Inn offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Travellers looking to enjoy some fish and chips can head to The Foresters Arms or White Row Café. Otherwise, you may want to check out a deli such as Mes Amis.

The Woolpack Inn puts the best of Beckington at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
Languages Spoken
English
648Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 294
  • 213
  • 86
  • 34
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karen P wrote a review Today
2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Spent 2 nights at The woolpack with my daughter using a Virgin Expierience voucher> I must firstly say that this is a busy pub/restaurant and the hospitality and food were excellent. The room however leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel is ideally situated for Bath with a bus stop virtually outside and regular bus services. Checking on Trip Advisor there have been complaints about this particular room, last year as well as more recently (room 5) and the issues obviously have not been addressed. Initially the room didn't look too bad, until we looked closer and we should of requested a different room. But thought as we were only using it too sleep we could put up with it. The building is very old (500 years), so we expected the squeaky floorboards, however, although the bed was comfortable, the leather effect headboard attached to the wall, is actually rotten and when sat with pillows against it the pillows were covered in bits! The windows rattle in the frame (expected its old), but one window pane didn't even fit in the frame leaving a gap you could put your finger in. Wall paper is beginning to hang off the walls. Then we get to the bathroom! sink cracked, grouting dirty/mouldy, flooring lifting and gaps around the edge. This room should definitely not be used until complete refurbishment takes place and I will be contacting Virgin about the sort of rooms their customers are being given. I did mention the state of the room before leaving and staff member did say she would tell the manager!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Geoff H wrote a review 22 Nov
Ringwood, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
We spent two nights in a superior room. There were one or two issues with the room, which did not detract from our enjoyment. The room itself was quirky and quite magnificently decorated. We often stay at Old English Inns, the ambiance of them is the sort of thing we like, they are quite good value, and you never get a bad one. We were most impressed with the staff who were polite and keen to please. We would like to thank Meg and Peter in particular for making our stay very enjoyable. Its a small hotel which is obviously a popular place with the locals as well as visitors. We can see why. The food was very good and the service great.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Spend the extra for a superior room. We had room 1 which was great.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
roger p wrote a review Oct 2021
Taunton, United Kingdom78 contributions14 helpful votes
First time visit for us. Very pleased we made this choice as suitably situated halfway to meet our friends. Food very good and pleasant staff, pub with a nice atmosphere.👍 Would certainly return to this pub sometime as it ticked all the boxes.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Woolpack Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at The Woolpack Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Rogerp71, Thankyou very much for this fabulous review, we are very fortunate with location here at the Woolpack Inn which as you know makes it an ideal place to meet from all over. I am delighted to hear the staff made your stay so pleasant and we look forward to seeing you again soon Many Thanks Justine
Read more
sarahrhli wrote a review Oct 2021
Redhill, United Kingdom44 contributions8 helpful votes
Just come back from here after staying two nights while we went to Longleat. There is nothing bad I can say about it. The staff made you feel very welcome, the room was lovely and clean, and the food in the evening and the breakfast was excellent. Will absolutely be visiting again. Thank you very much for a fantastic time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Woolpack Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at The Woolpack Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Evening Sarahrhli, Thankyou very much for your review, I am so glad that the staff made you feel so welcome and you had a fantastic time with us at the Woolpack Inn. We get a lot of guests stay with us and visit Longleat which is such a great day out for all. We very much look forward to seeing you in the future Many thanks Justine
Read more
Ryan J wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
Me and my wife visited this place to have some dinner one night whilst on our honeymoon, the staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful and the food.... OH MY GOD.... we both ended up rolling out of there like a pair of fat seals, unfortunately with no room for deserts but absolutely zero regrets....... 10/10! We had squid and haloumi fries for starters and slow cooked lamb and a salmon florentine for a main meal and we were bowled over by how much flavour and taste the food had! Would recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Woolpack Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at The Woolpack Inn
Responded 22 Oct 2021
Dear ryanjL2077CA, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review, it's wonderful to know that we were able to help add some happy memories to your honeymoon. The salmon Florentine is a fantastic dish that is so popular amongst our customers and I'm sure after sampling it you can now see why. We cannot wait to welcome you back to the Woolpack again soon, perhaps on your anniversary? Many thanks, Natalie
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the woolpack hotel beckington
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetFromeBeckington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Woolpack Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Woolpack Inn?
Nearby attractions include Tucker's Grave Inn & Campsite (5.9 km), Farleigh Hungerford Castle (5.8 km), and Catherine Hill (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Woolpack Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Woolpack Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Woolpack Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Woolpack Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mes Amis, Thai Kitchen, and La Campagna Restaurant & Bar.
Is The Woolpack Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 km away from the centre of Beckington.
Are pets allowed at The Woolpack Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Woolpack Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Farleigh Hungerford Castle (5.8 km) and Westwood Manor (7.3 km).