We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The View Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My two night stay in Fort St. James was relaxing and enjoyable, thanks to a very nicely renovated room at the View Hotel. I had a second floor kitchenette room, with a view of Stuart Lake (entirely frozen at this time of year). The room is adequately equipped with all the standard conveniences (TV, hair dryer, coffee machine), and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMcIntosh64
Yellowknife, Canada
Reviewed 2 December 2016

First, the good. Everyone that works at this hotel is very friendly and the cleaning staff work non stop to keep the place clean. A task, I might add, that would be a lot easier for them if the management would invest in a boot scraper. They had a very poor one when I first arrived that I was able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob4562
TheViewHotel, Assistant Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We have been working diligently on rectifying our internet connection. We've had some challenges bringing reliable high speed internet to our guests in this remote community, but we are committed to improving our guest experience for our corporate clients. We apologize for the noise level you experienced while staying on...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This hotel is the only hotel worth staying in at Fort St James but after saying this it is a hotel that lacks service and is way overpriced based on what you get. The rooms are equipped with a small fridge and the beds are comfortable but the smell of sulphur from the water is upsetting if you are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
TheViewHotel, Assistant Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We're sorry you didn't have a good experience, we will take this opportunity to review our practices and make improvements. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Lesley Braden The View Hotel

Prince George, B.C.
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Over priced, horrible service, definitely a nice view in the right room. 199.00 for a single room in the middle of very little is stealing. Because you supply display and shampoo does not slow you to take advantage of your clients. Yes it's a supply and demand world, but there is a limit. As for the food, there is so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank archfor
TheViewHotel, Assistant Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We're sorry you didn't have a good experience, we will take this opportunity to review our practices and make improvements. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Lesley Braden The View Hotel

Prince Rupert, BC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel was pricier than our budget even with the desk clerk taking pity on this senior couple and taking $30 off. The room was delightful with all expected amenities and the bed was THE most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The lobby and hallways were rather mundane. We had a great dinner in the restaurant but the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BDawn
TheViewHotel, Assistant Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm very glad you enjoyed the bed! Having a great sleep is important to us! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Lesley Braden Assistant Manager

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We were really surprised my wife and I to found a place like "The View" in such a small town as Fort St James. The rooms are pricey but really comfortable and clean. Our biggest surprise was the Bistro down stairs. The servers were efficient and professional. They have a good menu with many choices. Food was excellent. We are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bastien1686
TheViewHotel, Assistant Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business! I am very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, and especially pleased that you enjoyed The View Bistro & Lounge. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Lesley Assistant Manager

Prince George, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We came out for a hockey tournament and room was nice and big. Had two beds and amazing view of lake. The room was newly renovated and beds, pillows, decor was all very nice. Parking was close and check in was super fast. We did find the hotel very noisy at night as several teanage sports teams were staying and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogersviv
TheViewHotel, Assistant Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying at the hotel, we are glad that you liked the hotel rooms but we are extremely sorry to find out that you had troubles during your stay regarding the restaurant and noise problem. We have forwarded your concerns to the Manager of the restaurant and we hope that next time you won't find any of...

Reviewed 25 September 2015

I visited here en route to Takla Landing. Hotel staff were very friendly upon arrival. I was excited when I was told I had a lakeside view, not so excited to see the HVAC system blocking said view! However, I arrived at dusk and left before sunrise, so I didn't really even get a chance to enjoy the view, regardless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
TheViewHotel, Assistant Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jen H, Thank you so much for such a helpful review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Beside this, we will seriously take into consideration about some shortcomings you listed in your review and will take necessary steps to combat those so that our guests won't have any difficulty during their...

Salem, Oregon
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Don't let the outside fool you! Inside is as nice as you can find even in a big city! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The beds are wonderful! I wish the food in the restaurant was a little better. They need to use more fresh products.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry-Lyuba
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2015

This hotel is fairly new. It is very clean and modern. There was no noise problem and the beds were very comfortable. No problem with the WiFi. The desk staff was very professional and courteous. Gladly stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sexton5
TheViewHotel, Assistant Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was a huge opportunity for us to reconstruct an old building into modern Hi-tech hotel and today it feels pleasant to hear that we were able to achieve our target to provide the finest accommodation in Fort St James. Moreover, as you mentioned we try to remain...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The View Hotel is located on the shores of Stuart Lake. Enjoy the beautiful sunsets, views of the lake and the mountains. We are a brand new hotel, for business class and tourists alike. The View Hotel is the only hotel in Fort St. James. Free wifi, microwave and fridge in every room, kitchenette units. The View Hotel....The place to stay in Fort St. James. The View Bistro and Lounge Now Open! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: 309 Stuart Dr. West | PO Box 69, Fort St. James, British Columbia V0J 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Fort St. James
Price Range: $217 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The View Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Mississauga, Canada
Vancouver, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need WIFI, request a room on the second floor - and spring for the view!!”
 of 5 bubbles DMcIntosh64, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Third floor on the rear of the hotel offers a good view and might be slightly quieter than the lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles Rob4562, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay at this hotel you will be disappointed and out of pocket”
 of 5 bubbles petermL7401IJ, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the Lake side have the best view”
 of 5 bubbles Bastien1686, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lakeside view!”
 of 5 bubbles jenh572, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay