We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Leyenda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Leyenda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Leyenda
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A gorgeous, easy to find hotel with spotless, comfortable rooms and beautiful grounds. The service all around is friendly and accomodating, and the restaurant serves really good food. They even brought dinner up to us in our room. A great place that I can definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G098
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear G098 Thank you for taking your time to give us a good reviews; has been a pleasure for us to having you as our guest, we are glad to know you enjoyed the stay in Hotel Leyenda. Will be nice to see you again in our hotell for your next vacations in Costa Rica. Thanks for your preference Kind...

Madison, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Hard to start as it is an amazing plaze. Very friendly staff. Huge and well maintained propery. Great great swimming pool. Rooms are newly renovated and European style modern with a big bath, good AC and fridge. Very good hard beds. Each room had a nice porch. You get extra beach towels amd there is a shuttle service (5 min)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georg S
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Hello Georg We are glad to read your good reviews, thanks for taking your time to share your experience in our hotel. We hope you visit us again Kind regards

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We were in this hotel during new years eve. The Hotel is very clean, great pool, great garden. the rooms are clean, AC. It´s not directly at the beach, but they offer a beach service with tools, sun deck chairs. they have there own toilet waggon on the beach. Perfect service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taucher69
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thanks for taking your time to give us a good review. We hope you visit us again on your next vacations. Thanks for your preference Kind regards

Wroclaw
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Overall I liked it. Next time I just wouldn't take the suite but a simple room. Pros -Nice gardens -Rooms with A/C (we had the suite) -Jacuzzi (suite) -Trailer at the beach allows you to shower and use toilet Cons -Restaurant is too expensive -No room service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alonso S
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Hello Alonso Thanks for taking your time to give us this good reviews, we appreciate it. We are glad to know you liked all our services and we will keep working every days to improve all our services including the prices of our restaurant. About the rooms service it is always offered for free if the guests request it. We...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We have been here about six years ago and were looking forward to returning on this trip. We were disappointed. The BBQ pork ribs were dry and a little tough. The pastas ordered by my husband and son were good. The problem for us was the price. $13 for noodles and pesto sauce? Cocktails were $8 so we opted for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBrydenthal
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest We appreciate your reviews and your preference; Is a pleasure for us to know you have been in the hotel before (6 years ago) and I want to emphasize that everything has changed since that year until now; We have different owners, different menu and prices change significantly every year; so maybe thats the reason of the difference...

North Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 October 2016

February of 2016, I and my family visited Hotel Leyenda in Costa Rica, Guanascaste. We had in mind it was going to be a great get away the Hotel has amazing ratings, but guess what it was a nightmare. We got robbed along with the guest in the attaching room everything on camera the delinquents even got caught weeks later...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sz9umendez
HoteLLeyenda, Director General at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada Señora Estamos muy apenados por lo sucedido durante sus vacaciones en nuestro hotel, pero pensamos que hay detalles que...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We were greeted at the hotel with a warm welcome and a refreshing drink. The style and decor is modern and well suited to the surroundings. Our room was on the first floor with a wonderful view of the gardens. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was quiet. There were nice breakfast choices, and we sampled most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet Cousins
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks for your preference, we appreciate your excellent comments. Thank you for taking your time to share with other guests the experience you had with us. We hope you visit Hotel Leyenda on your next vacations, we'll be happy to see you again. Kind regards

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing service very unique and super nice staff.. The place is just beautiful. Super clean and very cute rooms.. Perfect view in every single room. Special in 2nd floor beautiful backyard.. I definitely will be back👍😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sulate30
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to give us this good review, we appreciate it. we are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay in Hotel Leyenda and we'll be waiting for your next visit. Thanks for your preference Kind regards

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Playa Castillo one of the most untouched beaches in Guanacaste and Nikoya. Amazing grounds at hotel. It's what you imagine a Costa Rican resort or Tropical paradise should look like. Clean pools , amazing gardens and children's play area. They will drive you to the beach and give you beach chairs , towels and provide a full size clean bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheHas
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your preference, we are glad to read your good reviews and knowing you have enjoyed your stay in hotel leyenda makes us very happy. We'll be so much happy if you visit us again for your next vacations. Kind regards

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 18 August 2016

WE stayed in this hotel for 2 days in June. The hotel was gorgeous, the rooms were clean ,the pool was amazing and the staff was pretty helpful.However, this hotel is well tucked into the city and there is nothing around it....just you, the hotel and nature. Also the beach is pretty far walking distance and you have to rely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dfmetal1
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking your time to give us your reviews, we are taking notes of all the details mentioned and we'll keep working to improve it as possible. The distance to the beach is only 2 km from the hotel, but as every body knows, in Costa Rica is not allowed to build near to the beach, so...

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
4.3 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
806 reviews
1.9 km away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
107 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#6 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
154 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Peace & Lodge
Hotel Peace & Lodge
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
23 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Leyenda is located at Carrillo Beach, the white sand beach and gorgeous palms, Guanacaste. Enjoy the hotel's Mediterranean architecture and its entertainment area, featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, playground and private parking. 11 Superior rooms, luxuriously equipped with 2 queen beds, fab, a/c, beautiful outside porch, satellite TV and amenities. Five Superior rooms include kitchenette. Also available Internet access.Enjoy our very exclusive service for our exclusive guests! We offer mobile units including restrooms, sinks, showers, dressing rooms, lockers, safety box, beach chairs and umbrellas, awnings and sports equipment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Leyenda

Address: 1 Kilometro al Este de la Plaza de Deportes de Puerto Carrillo, Playa Carrillo 291-3100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Price Range: $133 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leyenda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Leyenda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Leyenda staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Leyenda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premiere suite is a great deal!”
 of 5 bubbles basolomon91, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 6 and 7 upstairs facing the pool. No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles C2772AOjasonm, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room #8 is small. The others are about double or triple the size.”
 of 5 bubbles Cristian_FP, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“A suite style room with your own sink and oven”
 of 5 bubbles jojoi122, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If only a single traveler, the economy room would be great.”
 of 5 bubbles lijahd, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5