We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Forest Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Forest Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Start your review of Forest Hotel
 Click to rate
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely restaurant with great ambience and attention to detail. The bar and waiting staff were excellent and the food was delicious- especially the beef wellington! A very enjoyable evening overall thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairehull123
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got married at the Forest Hotel in November 2016. We all loved the venue, the food was (as always) outstanding and the staff - notable Katie - were first rate. Would overwhelmingly recommend to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Lee, we loved looking after you on your wedding day and appreciate your time writing your review. Katie is a lovely, efficient wedding coordinator we agree!!

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night,a large number of our party stayed the night after a marriage blessing party.....l have to say l have stayed in cheap b&b rooms that were more worth the money than the room we were given,Room 1.....l was expecting such a lot but was so disappointed,the room was tiny for a double so much so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jackie R
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie R, I appreciate you taking the time to write your review but would like to make the following observations. Room 1 is indeed our smallest room and is described as such in all of our promotional material, but as you were part of a wedding celebration the bride had done the room allocation. Perhaps it would not have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have been staying here regularly in recent years whenever I'm in the area, mostly visiting the NEC - only an easy 12 minute drive away, in the opposite direction in rush hours to the heavy flow of Birmingham traffic. Clean, stylish, warm and cosy rooms, just 12, with a decent breakfast of high quality ingredients. The adjoining restaurant is somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jarfie
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jarfie, Thank you very much for leaving another review after your latest visit. I have looked into your room reservation history and can see that you did request a quiet room. Unfortunately as the furniture show was on at the NEC we were full with longer stay guests that had already been allocated the specific rooms you have mentioned,sorry....

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Stayed here and delivered training and was very happy. Whoever put this hotel together had clearly given it lots of thought. Lovely rooms with a homely feel. The food was superb and beautifully presented (a little rich for the travelling man looking for healthy options but that is nitpicking). The training facilities were spot on as were the professional, well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian G, Thank for taking the time to post your lovely review. Hopefully we can look after you again in 2017. Best wishes

Shirley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Twenty of the family had a lovely meal last Saturday 12/11/16 at the Forest The service was excellent, couldn't fault it Everybody was very friendly and professional All of the family commented on what a lovely night they had Thank you Roger

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rlocke1
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger, Sorry for delay in responding but thank you for a great review and I am pleased that you had a great night with your family. Kind regards

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

When to this hotel restaurant today and ordered a minute steak (for £12.50) for lunch, when the steak arrived I genuinely thought it was a prank. The steak had been hammered to about 2 mm in thickness and was no more than 4 inch in length, more of a minute (minuscule) than a minute steak! I have had many minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daamaro
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

This is the first criticism that we have had for this dish which fills a niche on our menu for guests who are looking for a smaller steak and it is extremely popular, we use a 4 oz single muscle rump. I am sorry that you did not feel it was large enough or take us up on our offer...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

My wife and i have a wonerful stay at the forest, the king size room we had was very spacious, clean & well appointed. The standard of the meal we had in the restaurant was supurb as were the staff especially Alicia who also served our first class breakfast.her warm smile and friendly manner nothing was too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianw1154
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I would clone Alicia if it was possible, she is so lovely!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

On arriving at the hotel I checked into my room and went into the restaurant for dinner. I had eaten here before and was blown away the first time by the standard of food combined with the flawless service of the staff. My expectations were not disappointed. My room was lovely and spacious and impeccably clean. The breakfast was included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, it really matters to us all and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Birmingham
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Used to love the food here but just had awful fish and chips. The fish had been baked and the batter was tough and inedible, petit pois and oven baked chips both from the freezer. It could have come from Sainsburys next door. Service wasn't good either. Won't be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh99
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

What a terrible title and one that I firmly disagree with, I have a wonderful team of hard working, passionate chefs striving to cook our customers great food. You have left not having enjoyed your meal but also left us feeling frustrated and disappointed as you did not give us the chance, while you were here, to rectify anything. It...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
1.8 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
741 reviews
2.3 km away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
320 reviews
4.0 km away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
3.8 km away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
283 reviews
6.7 km away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Forest Restaurant
The Forest Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 bedroomed privately owned boutique hotel with a restaurant listed in Good Food Guide and Michelin serving modern european food in relaxed surroundings. Buzzy bar with an interesting wine list and 3 real ales. Great position for NEC and Birmingham International Airport, opposite Dorridge station with direct links to London Marylebone and Birmingham Moor Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Address: 25 Station Approach, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Price Range: $170 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Forest Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 - ceiling fan very good”
 of 5 bubbles Hunts_11, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 was ace!”
 of 5 bubbles jamiee949, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 8 and 10 for noise, not sure about the other ones”
 of 5 bubbles GBZASING, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Opposite Dorridge train station easy commute to Solihull, Birmingham, London”
 of 5 bubbles BK1875, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 10 if you want a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewH937, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5