We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Forest Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Forest Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here and delivered training and was very happy. Whoever put this hotel together had clearly given it lots of thought. Lovely rooms with a homely feel. The food was superb and beautifully presented (a little rich for the travelling man looking for healthy options but that is nitpicking). The training facilities were spot on as were the professional, well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Shirley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Twenty of the family had a lovely meal last Saturday 12/11/16 at the Forest The service was excellent, couldn't fault it Everybody was very friendly and professional All of the family commented on what a lovely night they had Thank you Roger

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rlocke1
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When to this hotel restaurant today and ordered a minute steak (for £12.50) for lunch, when the steak arrived I genuinely thought it was a prank. The steak had been hammered to about 2 mm in thickness and was no more than 4 inch in length, more of a minute (minuscule) than a minute steak! I have had many minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daamaro
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

This is the first criticism that we have had for this dish which fills a niche on our menu for guests who are looking for a smaller steak and it is extremely popular, we use a 4 oz single muscle rump. I am sorry that you did not feel it was large enough or take us up on our offer...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

My wife and i have a wonerful stay at the forest, the king size room we had was very spacious, clean & well appointed. The standard of the meal we had in the restaurant was supurb as were the staff especially Alicia who also served our first class breakfast.her warm smile and friendly manner nothing was too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianw1154
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I would clone Alicia if it was possible, she is so lovely!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

On arriving at the hotel I checked into my room and went into the restaurant for dinner. I had eaten here before and was blown away the first time by the standard of food combined with the flawless service of the staff. My expectations were not disappointed. My room was lovely and spacious and impeccably clean. The breakfast was included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, it really matters to us all and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Birmingham
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Used to love the food here but just had awful fish and chips. The fish had been baked and the batter was tough and inedible, petit pois and oven baked chips both from the freezer. It could have come from Sainsburys next door. Service wasn't good either. Won't be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh99
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

What a terrible title and one that I firmly disagree with, I have a wonderful team of hard working, passionate chefs striving to cook our customers great food. You have left not having enjoyed your meal but also left us feeling frustrated and disappointed as you did not give us the chance, while you were here, to rectify anything. It...

Reviewed 6 October 2016

We had an amazing day and we would like to thank the whole team for ensuring our wishes were followed and the day ran smoothly. The room itself was magical and the set up throughout the day was amazing. All three looks (ceremony, meal, evening party) were absolutely stunning and the room was just right for our guests and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyZ1000se
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights, a Thursday and a Friday. The staff were mostly young, enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable. Our only problem was with noise. The hotel is in a small commuter town, and directly opposite the railway station. A previous review on this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephengeorge57
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Bank Holiday Monday evening meal was excellent. Delicious food served by extremely professional and helpful gentleman waiter. Nothing was too much trouble; he took time to explain everything we asked about in such a friendly and courteous manner. We noticed a discount on the bill and were informed it was a special offer for weekdays in August we knew nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley N
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your constructive review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit to us

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I recently visited The Forest with my girlfriend, and was extremely satisfied with the overall experience. We stayed in Room 7, which was well-appointed and benefited from a ceiling fan to ensure that we enjoyed an excellent night's sleep - if you are worried about the hotel's proximity to the railway across the road then don't be; we didn't hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hunts_11

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
1.8 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
708 reviews
6.7 km away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
344 reviews
3.8 km away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
5.2 km away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 22 in Solihull
1,194 reviews
2.3 km away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Forest Restaurant
The Forest Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 bedroomed privately owned boutique hotel with a restaurant listed in Good Food Guide and Michelin serving modern european food in relaxed surroundings. Buzzy bar with an interesting wine list and 3 real ales. Great position for NEC and Birmingham International Airport, opposite Dorridge station with direct links to London Marylebone and Birmingham Moor Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Address: 25 Station Approach, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Price Range: $189 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Forest Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 - ceiling fan very good”
 of 5 bubbles Hunts_11, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 was ace!”
 of 5 bubbles jamiee949, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 8 and 10 for noise, not sure about the other ones”
 of 5 bubbles GBZASING, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Opposite Dorridge train station easy commute to Solihull, Birmingham, London”
 of 5 bubbles BK1875, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 10 if you want a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewH937, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay