We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Barnsley

Booking.comUS$57*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$57*
US$57*
US$57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Barnsley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Barnsley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 519: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

I would certainly return to this hotel, staff staff made it in my opinion. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Big shout out to Suzanne who I believe is the operations manager (although I only got a quick glance at her badge) who went the extra mile when I ordered room service and required dishes checked if they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Brilliant. Lovely Italian menu by a Sicilian chef. The lamb chops were amazing. 3 courses plus coffee for 20 quid and friendly attentive staff. Great evening out. Will certainly come back for more....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Good location for my purpose. Clean rooom and decent temperature control. Wifi signal was very poor both in my room and in the lobby. Kept coming and going every minute or so. Reasonably priced though and not a bad breakfst choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jebeldog
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review

Hello jebeldog, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Barnsley M1, Jct.37, UK and posting a review and rating your stay. We appreciate that you found the property to be suitable for your needs as a traveler particularly the clean room and great location. I would also like to apologize for the issues you encountered with the internet access ....

Stockbridge
Reviewed 27 February 2017

when i booked a Holiday Inn meeting room i'm not sure exactly what i was expecting but i was very pleasantly surprised. the whole hotel was of an excellent quality, the bedrooms exactly what was needed with a very large comfortable bed. the meeting room itself was spacious and well kept and the staff member who was looking after us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G800UTpeterw
Northampton
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Whilst the appearance of this hotel is not unpleasant the attitudes of staff and general cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. Whilst there is wifi it is completely unusable Also its location whilst good for motorway access is pretty isolated and as its only 10 miles from sheffield which is a far nicer than barnsley id suggest stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SimmasUk
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review

Dear SimmasUk, Hello from IHG! I read your review about Holiday Inn Barnsley M1, Jct.37, UK. I was sorry to see you had some disappointing aspects to your stay, particularly with the demeanor of our staff and overall upkeep of the property. I value your comments with our hotels and I would like to obtain additional detail about your experience....

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I attended a wedding this weekend. I cant fault the Hotel, food was good, clean and inviting but... and a big but the man behind the bar was so rude and pig headed. It stuck out like a sore thumb that he did not want to be behind a bar serving people. Such a shame to let the full experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottMorleyy
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review

Hi ScottMorleyy, I am grateful for staying at Holiday Inn Bransley M1 Jct 37 UK and leaving feedback. I am happy that you find our hotel clean and inviting. However your encounter with one of our bar staff was a let down because of the rude behavior shown. My sincere apologies. Rest assured this has been noted and will be...

south yorks
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We have been to Brooklands restaurant six of us in total, we went for the meal deal that they are doing from 6.30pm until 9.30pm, three course meal for £10 with a choice of different starters, mains, sweets, you could fault it a all it was very nice, don't know how they do it for the money, it's not on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1951
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I'm a member of the gym and would like to say the staff are great and very friendly but it's a constant problem that spa guests swim and then sit on the soft chairs in the cafe area meaning it's hard to find a seat that is dry,for the amount of money I pay for membership I do expect to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2KKO
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review

Dear B2KKO, I would like to thank you for choosing us and going out of your way to leave you thoughts. I'm glad that you had great encounters with our staff. I'm sure they'll be happy to know that you appreciate their efforts. On the other hand, I'm sorry to know about the wet chairs in the cafe area that...

Barnsley
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We came to Holiday Inn last night (Sunday) to have a meal with our friends who were staying there. First impression was how dark and depressing it was in Reception,which also carried on into the Bar area. Our meal was just ok and could have been hotter considering how long we had to wait for it, service was really ,really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haelcoco
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review

Hi haelcoco, I appreciate the time you took to share your experience while staying at our hotel. We rely on guest feedback as this will allow us to improve wherever possible. Thank you for noting our hotel staff and the customer service they delivered. On the other hand, I am sorry for the disappointments you had with the lobby and...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I stayed one night midweek. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quite and bed comfortable so I did have a good night's sleep. There were very few at breakfast. I often fell hotels should consider cooking breakfasts to order when they know there are only a few people booked in rather than the buffet style....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean N

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
6.7 km away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
350 reviews
6.1 km away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
525 reviews
10.1 km away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Price Range: $93 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Barnsley staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Barnsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms above the function suites were noisy”
carolyn134, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with an updated / refurbished bathroom. Room 238 didn't”
N3469YTstevec, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the family parties”
robbo998, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can have an Exec Room for extra payment. We like 2nd floor front/side.”
jenniferpU2410ZI, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room as my colleagues was not refurbished and had a funky smell”
New_Traveller_x, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$57* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$57
Hotwire.comUS$57
HolidayInn.comUS$57
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates