We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Black Bull Inn

    Northside, Matfen NE20 0RP, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in MatfenSee available hotels in Matfen
    Jesmond Dene House
    1,159 reviews
    #4 of 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
    22.9 km
     
    Walwick Hall
    150 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Humshaugh
    13.0 km
     
    Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
    753 reviews
    #5 of 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
    22.8 km
     
    Battlesteads Hotel
    1,176 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Wark
    17.7 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent81%
    • Very good9%
    • Average0%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “the pub” (13 reviews)
    “sunday lunch” (6 reviews)
    “warm welcome” (7 reviews)
    Public Wifi
    Free Parking
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (74)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 74 reviews

    Reviewed 26 September 2017

    Highly recommended! Go out of your way for Sunday lunch at this pub! Although we booked a table for 9 and arrived with 10 full-grown people, our extra person was readily accommodated by a local giving up his regular table with great good humour. The...More

    Thank suecassidyburgin
    Response from Alison C, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 3 October 2017

    Thanks for that positive review. We enjoyed your table’s company very much. Do call again.

    Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

    We dropped in here at the weekend, hoping for evening food. Unfortunately, they had just changed to winter hours a few days before, and were not doing food that evening. However, the landlord and landlady, Nige and Ali, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful,...More

    Thank foxale
    Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 19 September 2017

    Thanks for that lovely review and sorry you missed out on our food. That is the challenge of being a "hidden gem" I suppose. Do call back again when you're next up proper North. We'd love to see Ellie's ears again! Ali

    Reviewed 7 September 2017

    I have eaten fabulous meals in restaurants, pubs and cafes before but never felt compelled to write a review….that is until I sampled the delights on offer during the Black Bull's 'Spanish night' last Thursday. The food was amazing, cooked fresh, locally sourced (or locally...More

    Thank yfullwood
    Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 8 September 2017

    Thank you so much for your positive review. I am really pleased you enjoyed our experiments in Spanish food - we had another customer in that night who regularly travels extensively through Spain and was also really impressed by the authentic nature of the food....More

    Reviewed 27 August 2017

    Just wanted to say how wonderful, eloquent and funny your replies to the nutters from the Golf society, Ping pong club and drunks are concerned....Keep up the good work Ali, you entertain me greatly and will visit soon !

    Thank Bill9999000
    Reviewed 5 June 2017

    After reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor, I was looking forward to an evening meal after our first day of walking stage one of St. Oswald's Way from Hexham to Matfen in May. I tried to book about a week before we started walking and...More

    Thank Sunjo
    Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 6 June 2017

    I must humbly apologise for your poor customer experience. My husband underwent major surgery a few weeks ago and while we thought he may be well enough to resume cooking after a short time, this has proved impossible due to his ongoing ill health. I...More

    Jesmond Dene House
    1,159 reviews
    #4 of 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
    22.9 km
     
    Walwick Hall
    150 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Humshaugh
    13.0 km
     
    Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
    753 reviews
    #5 of 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
    22.8 km
     
    Battlesteads Hotel
    1,176 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Wark
    17.7 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Northumberland >
    • Matfen
    • Also Known As
    • Black Bull Hotel Matfen
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Robin Hood Inn
    236 reviews
    4.05 km away
    Queens Head Inn
    94 reviews
    2.72 km away
    Errington Arms
    270 reviews
    5.38 km away
    Vallum Restaurant & Chef’s Room
    212 reviews
    4.10 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Go Ape at Matfen Hall
    110 reviews
    .90 km away
    Belsay Hall and Gardens
    483 reviews
    8.47 km away
    Corbridge Roman Town
    363 reviews
    8.56 km away
    Shepherds Dene
    10 reviews
    10.42 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Neil H
    23 March 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Alison C | Property representative |
    We are very dog friendly and have lots of equine visitors in summer. By "pet", what species do you mean? I wouldn't fancy meeting your pet tarantula or rat... 😨 Cheers Alison
    0
    Votes
    Vanessa A
    3 November 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Alison C | Property representative |
    Sorry Vanessa, we do not have rooms here. Thanks for the enquiry.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Not applicable to our visit - we did not stay overnight but just visited the pub which is recommended."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing