We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,296: English reviews
Start your review of De Vere Tortworth Estate
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent one night to celebrate our golden wedding anniversary, room we were given was excellent, food in the main restaurant was good and the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. The grounds are lovely to sit and have a relaxing drink and if you want a nice walk

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
UK
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Place looks a lot refreshed from a visit a couple of years ago. Rooms well appointed, temperature and air in the room is right in the Goldilocks zone. Lots of amenities that I never use such as spa, pool and gym, so can't comment on them. Evening meal was in the atrium, a limited but pub style menu that delivered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orisinal
Krabi Town, Thailand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in this gorgeous hotel on Friday /Saturday this past weekend nicely located ,clean rooms to celebrate my cousins wedding.Unfortunately I thought it would be SAFE to leave my silver bracelet in my room on the dressing table I was WRONG .It was a sentimental piece of jewellery that my husband had given to me years ago and I should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kemble, Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear about the issues you have raised. We are currently looking into the matter and we will be in contact with you personally very soon. Kind Regards Mark Payne

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Secret escapes deal, bed, breakfast, afternoon tea & 3 course dinner. I can't fault the staff, very friendly & polite. The venue is stunning, despite the building work going on this had no impact on our overnight stay. The only slight let down is the pool area in the spa, could do with being bigger, with more seating & the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjh2703
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent review and comments regarding your stay at DeVere Tortworth Court. I am pleased to hear that you found all of our staff friendly and polite and you were impressed with the building. We are indeed about to start refurbishment works on the spa which will address many of the issues you have raised...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I always choose hotels based on low cost or access to local amenities but I chose this hotel for a Mother's Day weekend and we weren't disappointed. From the moment the hotel appears at the end of the for lines drive you know it's something special. Stunning hotel and beautiful grounds with a forgoes garden to sun yourself in. Check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at DeVere Tortworth Court. I am really pleased you were so impressed and happy with the hotel and all of our facilities. Some of our rooms can be a bit of a walk from reception but this is due to the age of the property and the fact that...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. They were the one highlight. The building is beautiful from the outside. The grounds are pretty. Otherwise - absolutely appalling. The 'king' bed was two very old singles thrown together, the bathroom was grubby and had an ant problem, the fixtures and fittings are old and worn and not in a charming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 10Richard8
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered whilst at our hotel. I would like to investigate these matters further so please can you contact my Guest Relations Managers at the address below so we can respond personally. chris.baker@devere.com Kind Regards Mark Payne

London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our friends booked this hotel for the weekend and I was slightly worried given some of the negative reviews on trip advisor. Well, all I can say is that they must have paid attention to the negative feedback and put steps in place to improve. All the staff were extremely polite, helpful and friendly. The check in was very smooth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Runold
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Runold, Thank you for you review regarding your recent stay at DeVere Tortworth Court. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the facilities we have to offer here. We aim to make all of our guests and visitors as comfortable as possible so we will always try to fulfil any requests where...

Kingswood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm a disabled member, I've always found all staff I pass smile, ask if I need any help and are generally very helpful. The pool in the spa is perfect for me as it's warm, it's always clean and tidy, the spa staff check the water chemical levels regularly which is reassuring. Mel in particular is friendly, helpful and importantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ria K
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Ria, Thank you for your recent review of the Peels Spa at DeVere Tortworth Court. I am really pleased to hear that you are so happy with all of the facilities we have on offer and that you are so impressed with all of our staff members. I will pass your comments on to Mel's manager as well. Please...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from an overnight stay and couldn't rate it any higher. The room was huge (superior room) and very clean with all the facilities needed for an overnight stay. The food was excellent. As we had taken advantage of a Secret Escapes deal, we enjoyed afternoon tea, 3 course dinner and breakfast. As a vegan, we had notified the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay at DeVere Tortworth Court. We strive to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible during their stay and try to cater for everyone's needs so I am really pleased to hear that we did not disappoint! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed overnight from 17-18 March as part of a birthday present. Have been to quite a few country house hotels and this one was a stand out excellent example of how good they can be! The room ( in the main house) was a good size and everything was pristine, not a wobbly or loose anything, which I find increasingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at DeVere Tortworth Court. I am really pleased you enjoyed our hotel facilities so much and were pleased with the service our staff provided. It is a shame that some guests disturbed you during the night but there is always a Duty Manager on site who would have been...

951 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (935)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (346)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (364)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
6.2 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
37.9 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,342 reviews
19.6 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
622 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
13.1 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: $119 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in 221 the room we stayed in”
 of 5 bubbles paulk900, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask which rooms have the best sound-proofing when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Alldaywatcher, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the luxury room if able, good views and masses of space.”
 of 5 bubbles stever987, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 85 and 86 are great because they are tucked away upstairs from the majority of other rooms - so very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles CookieBirmingham, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose the Hotel at all...!”
 of 5 bubbles BOUYOBOUY, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5