We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Buckley Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Buckley Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Buckley Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
birmingham
Reviewed 4 February 2014

After a day off roading on fantastic Welsh lanes, the Buckley Arms Hotel was just the thing. Lovely welcome, nice and warm with a great warming fire and the rugby on a giant screen- magic. Rooms were spacious and warm with lovely big bathrooms and nice hot showers. We had twin beds, really comfortable and a good nights sleep was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CazBirmingham
UK
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First the good points. We stayed in the Sir Edmund Buckley room. It was spacious, clean, warm, had a good view and was at the back of the hotel away from road noise. We had a well cooked meal at the Bistro but were disappointed that our first choice of fillet steak had run out by 7pm on a Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Twofreespirits
buckleyarms, Owner at Buckley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you weren't happy with your stay and I can't fathom why there wasn't any hot water because I checked with all others guests and they didn't have a problem. I have had the bathroom checked and there didn't seem to be any problems. I'm puzzled because even during July and August when we were full we didn't...

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stopped off here on the way to Snowdon. It was clean and welcoming and easy enough to find as it is right on a junction of the A470, the Welsh Alpenstrasse. It is more like a pub with accommodation than a hotel with a bar.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SunriseSuperman
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This a lovely old hotel, spotlessly clean and with the charming decor and furniture to go with it. My room was spacious and had a lovely view of the mountain and river. The family were friendly and welcoming so no worries there. I would have given it 5 stars but for a few little niggles. There were several odd rules...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellerUsk
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed for just one night recently in the master suite. Lovely Hotel is a great central location. Owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Certainly worth the money! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, I will certainly stay again the next time we visit Wales.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartyDoyle
oswestry, england
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Dinas Mawddwy is unashamedly in the middle of nowhere. A fair drive from the sea still, and a bigger one back across the border, so it was a surprise to find two large hotels there, but it was perfect for us to get away for a night and near to the walk we had planned the next day. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The welcome was warm and friendly, the room lovely and interesting. The food was excellent with lovely views of the valley from the restaurant and the special in the bar was really good. I would definitely recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redkete
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Buckley Arms (known to some locals as the Buckley Pines) is situated within minutes of some of the most fabulous countryside in the world. For example, the walk up to Llanymawddy is marvellous, and a side trip up and down the Cywarth valley is one of the most magical walks you could ever wish to find. This spectacular topography...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeremy A
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed in a cottage 150 yards from this hotel and, quite honestly, after the first night's meal and drink at The Buckley Arms, we ate there every night. Lovely staff, lovely owner and wife-very welcoming, excellent food and excellent ale-Don't take our word for it, see and taste for yourselves. Highly recommended The Turzynski Family

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beverley t
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the "Buckley Arms" (they must have changed their name from Buckley Pines back to the original name). We received a warm welcome at the pub and were shown to our cozy and spacious room. The furniture is fully in touch with the architecture of the building, ie.a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OliverE77

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Mawddwy
23.1 km away
White Lion Royal Hotel
17.0 km away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,321 reviews
16.8 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
276 reviews
15.7 km away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
83 reviews
26.7 km away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Buckley Arms Hotel

Address: Minllyn, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales (Formerly Buckley Pines Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Price Range: $137 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Buckley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buckley Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Buckley Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid - you're better off having a beer in your own tent. There's bound to be more atmosphere and better service”
 of 5 bubbles Bethpagejet, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We highly recommend The Buckley suite- four poster bed and stunning view up the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles Parsleysage, 26 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are a little quieter and have the views across the valley to the surrounding mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles Dean-Traveller, 5 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Romantic getaway? Ask for the four poster room.”
 of 5 bubbles CazBirmingham, 3 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Choose a rear room as there is considerable road noise”
 of 5 bubbles Twofreespirits, 29 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay