We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Soughton Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Soughton Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Soughton Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I held a business event at Soughton Hall & have to say, the setting is stunning! It hosted approximately 200 people in theatre style in the marquee and it looked beautiful. I dealt with Annie who was extremely helpful and accommodating, with what we required & can't recommend her highly enough. Thank you so much!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa C
Daniel P, General Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm glad the day was a success. We hope to see you all again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We're do I start, spectacular drive down the driveway,to be greeted by very friendly staff. The hotel is just amazingly beautiful in the downton Abby way. Lovely grounds and we had the sun for the day so managed to take some stunning photos. Afternoon tea was excellent, we will definitely be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
Daniel P, General Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We stayed in what would have been the School room, it had recently been refurbished to a high standard following a recent change of ownership, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was a delight! We loved the original window frames and shutters which still worked and spent a lovely weekend here. On arrival we had a snack in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandymcintosh
Daniel P, General Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team and of course, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Oh my ,where to start?.This beautiful hotel is one of the best if not the best hotel we,ve stayed in!!!! The food is fabulous,rooms gorgeous and spotlessly clean.The staff are friendly and go out of their way to help.Its the small things like getting a real fire going to have afternoon tea in the lounge. Didn't want to leave ,we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally Seymour T
Daniel P, General Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm very lucky to have such a great team that work so hard to care for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

kolkata
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in Aug 2016. Big beautiful place. Big rooms , big toilets . Very clean. It feels like a walk in a different era when you enter this hotel. Will definitely stay again here. A little out of the way . Will definitely be more convenient for people with their own car .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cusum
Daniel P, General Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to place a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

From the moment you see the house from the drive you know you are in for something special and it doesn't disappoint! The hotel has been beautifully restored and it combines old world charm with modern comforts. Our room was spacious and well appointed with a comfortable four poster bed. Dinner was a real treat served in the formal dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaggy54
Daniel P, General Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. My team work so hard in making Soughton Hall an enjoyable place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately we never got the chance to stay, we had this booked as a Christmas treat a month previous, rang at 9 am on the day of arrival and the so called manager informed us we were on a list to call as the room was not fit for us to stay . Offered us another night with dinner included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odakota
Daniel P, General Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unable to experience staying at the hotel. It was very unfortunate circumstances that led to the bedroom you had booked not being suitable for a guest that evening. I would like to wholeheartedly apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Regards Daniel

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Excellent location this hotel has quirky bedrooms and has lovely drive entrance Now under new ownership and not sure how it might change Have visited here many times and normally eat in the stables restaurant which was excellent now we eat in the house in a small more formal surroundings of the dining room on first floor The hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnde215ll
Daniel P, Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

3 superb courses for under £20 per head. The food was stunning and the service excellent. The goat's cheese tartlet and duck starters were delicious, followed by mains of chicken, venison and beef. The portions sizes are perfect, leaving just enough room for desserts including chocolate cheescake and ice cream. The dining area is beautiful with an outstanding view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MusingJules
Daniel P, Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience. I'm very glad you enjoyed your lunch. We offer an excellent Sunday lunch that is not just restricted to a roast dinner. This is available every Sunday and is only £14.95 for two courses and £19.95 for three. We look forward to seeing you on a Sunday again soon (be sure...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Everything about this Christmas seemed precarious. Our 89 year old mum who suffers from dementia was unwell for the two weeks before. My 17 year old son found he had to stay in London to work. So a few days before we wondered if we would make it to our Christmas lunch at Soughton Hall at all. But we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fi0na222
Daniel P, Manager at Soughton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. The team put in so much effort to ensure guests have a wonderful time here. I must say our first Christmas here has been a resounding success. We look forward to welcoming you back next year if not before.

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop
1.9 km away
Beaufort Park Hotel
15.5 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
2.8 km away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
3.9 km away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
150 reviews
6.6 km away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Soughton Hall was built as a Bishops Palace in 1714 and is now a boutique hotel and Exclusive Use wedding venue located in Northop, Near Mold. Soughton Hall is located within a short driving distance of the Roman city of Chester, Wrexham County Borough, where you will find Chirk Castle, Erddig Hall and the World Heritage Site of Pontcysyllte Aqueduct. Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet, and the quaint shops of Mold as also a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Soughton Hall Hotel

Address: | Soughton Hall, Northop Nr Mold, Northop CH7 6AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Price Range: $138 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soughton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your Soughton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soughton Hall Hotel Northop
Soughton Hall Northop
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Soughton Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Soughton Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luxurious hotel with reasonable prices”
 of 5 bubbles ShelleyPJ, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are individual and appear to be quiet- we certainly didn't hear anyone complain about any of the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mandymcintosh, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid the mahogony as dark”
 of 5 bubbles johnde215ll, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have already been updated ,old is best though.”
 of 5 bubbles 785tomj, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bridal Suite has a large dressing area perfect for bride and bridesmaids to get ready on the morning of the wedding.”
 of 5 bubbles Jdownes2016, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5