We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Ipswich Hotel

Save
Share
Old London Road, Copdock, Ipswich IP8 3JD England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$70
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (14)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Best Western® Ipswich Hotel is located in the quiet countryside, but is also just a stone’s throw from the A12 and A14, meaning easy access to all the major routes without the hassle of parking in town. All our guest rooms are furnished to a high standard, with our latest refurbishment having been completed in February 2017. Each bedroom is equipped with a very generous 40-inch television, a desirable hot drinks station fluffy towels and comfy beds.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
803Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 272
  • 209
  • 143
  • 90
  • 90
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jade C wrote a review Today
1 contribution
This is by far the worst hotel I think I’ve stayed in. When we got there they had no idea that I had even booked it. Although the lady gave us a room, there was no apology but more of an inconvenience. When we got to the room the bathroom was disgusting. Pubic hairs on the toilet!! Whilst getting ready to go out the door started to open and a lady walked in. A guest had been given a keycard to our room!! Luckily we had bloody clothes on!! When I told the front desk they really didn’t seem to fussed. The girl simply said. Oh sorry. When we got a drink from the bar there was pink lipstick left on my husbands pint glass. No apology given. Just a ‘let me change it’ They have no idea on how to deal with the public or how to apologise. I will not be coming back here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
LordKinally wrote a review 13 Oct
Cambridge, United Kingdom92 contributions44 helpful votes
Hotel needs updating especially the bathroom. (not a superior room as promised) Staff did not seem to know anything about the offer it was all a bit disorganised- wish we had known that 2 coachloads were staying as not enough staff to cope. Spa was good as no one else there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear LordKinally Thank for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies regarding any confusion with the "Offer" that you booked. I am afraid it is not our normal procedure to inform Guests of coach parties. We are delighted that you had a lovely time in the Spa and we hope that you will visit again soon. Kindest regards Julie Campbell Cluster General Manager
Read more
Linda P wrote a review 12 Oct
St Keverne, United Kingdom20 contributions3 helpful votes
Where should i begin !!!! We visited as my partners son was getting married at a nearby venue, so was convenient for us, and other guests. We were booked in for 5 nights...and had a superior room booked with breakfast.. The room was average...but very dated....but ok for our stay. The shower wasnt great due to the water pressure... Restaurant looked inviting, and on our 1st evening, had booked a meal ,as we were tired from a very long train journey.. The menu was uninspiring, But we ordered and the Starters were nice, Main courses were average.....The waitress took our drink orders, then i was told they didnt have the wine id ordered from the menu...so i settled for 2nd choice.. Breakfasts for the next2 days were pretty good....choice wise.... Then it gets worse.. The Brides mum had asked 3 different members of staff in advance if we could have 2 tables together on the day after the wedding, so we could all be together for breakfast...and some Just Married Banners put round the tables.. We all came down looking forward to this, and found nothing had been done !!! After finding a member of staff, they hurriedly laid up 2 tables, with just a brief apology...... There was a different Chef over the weekend, and the food was awful...Burnt dry Sausages, Greasy Eggs, and a chef that looked like he didnt want to be there...Also there were no glasses, cups and Juices etc were mostly empty... It could have spoilt what was a beautiful weekend. .The day after that, our breakfast was even worse....The fried eggs were sitting in grease, and every one had been broken..YOU DO NOT SERVE FOOD LIKE THAT !!!!! we didnt return for breakfast on our last day... We realise Covid has made staff problems.....But it seems like most of the staff need serious training in Customer service as most dont seem to have a clue how to deal with things. Or cant be bothered.. The Only Good thing we can really say about the staff ,Was our Lovely Housekeeping Lady Gemma, who truly was a star, and a pleasure to chat with. She made sure we had all we needed, and the young man behind the Bar on Friday Lunchtime, who found the wine id wanted straightaway, which no one else could. .It had been in the fridge all week strangely enough.!!!!!! This is a lovely Building that needs to be updated, And staff that need to be trained properly...Then things may improve...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Linda Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations. The information you have given with regard to training of the new Team and the inconsistency of the food will help us going forward and please be rest assured that we will be looking into the issues you have raised. We do hope you will visit again in the future to regain your confidence in our hotel. Kindest regards Julie Campbell Cluster General Manager
Read more
janewithwilko wrote a review 10 Oct
1 contribution
Very pleasant 1 night getaway. Good dinner and breakfast. Nice restaurant overlooking the garden. Tablecloths and linen napkins. Friendly helpful staff. Expected bigger bed in a superior room. Very comfortable, spacious, lounge/bar area with winding staircase. Hotel has lift but serves only one end of the hotel so caused bit of a problem as we had stairs to negotiate - my partner has bad knee and I am visually impaired. Had we asked I feel sure they would have changed our room if possible. However, nice view over the garden. Had been previously and would stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Jane Thank you for leaving your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The Team will be happy to hear their accolade and we do hope you will visit us again soon. Kindest regards Julie Campbell Cluster General Manager
Read more
Mike W. wrote a review 6 Oct
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed 3 great breakfasts. Rooms were clean, adequately furnished and comfortable. The TV sets are a bit on the small size but we didn't come away to stay in the room all the time. Had one evening meal in which was tasty from a decent selection. The hotel could do with a lick of paint on the outside and at some time some internal modernisation but it represents great value and was well positioned for all out needs on the A12 and A14. This was our third stay and we will definitely stay again when we next visit the area - which we do twice a year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Bartonresident Thank you for leaving your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is my understanding that the front of the hotel is ear-marked to be painted again next year. We do hope you will visit us again soon. Kindest regards Julie Campbell Cluster General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
elizabeth copdock hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ipswich Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkIpswichCopdock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Ipswich Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Ipswich Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ipswich Escape Rooms (6.4 km), New Wolsey Theatre (5.7 km), and Escape Ipswich (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Ipswich Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Ipswich Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Ipswich Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Ipswich Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Ipswich Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Fish Platter, Takayama, and Mariners.
Does Best Western Ipswich Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Ipswich Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Ipswich Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter's by the Waterfront (5.8 km), Pykenham's Gatehouse (6.2 km), and Jean Ingelow House and Archway (5.8 km).
Is Best Western Ipswich Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.