We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Northey

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Northey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Start your review of The Northey
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Northey for a Sunday evening and had dinner. Staff are so helpful and friendly. When we checked in the heating in our room was not working and it was very chilly, staff did their best to sort it as it was a really lovely room but they couldn't get it working so that moved me to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiggsBunty
OHHCo, Manager at The Northey, responded to this review

Hi TiggsBunty, Many thanks for the kind words. So sorry about the heating but glad the team managed to look after you in the end. Next time you are in the area please let us know and we would love to look after you again. Kind regards The Northey Arms Team

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was an absolute gem of a place. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. We didn't have any cash to get the bus into bath so a member of staff lent us money to get into town. We returned the cash the next day with much gratitude. The room was quite warm in the evening and the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selbs88
OHHCo, Manager at The Northey, responded to this review

Hi Selbs88, What a great review. Thank you so much. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with. Next time you are down this way we would love to look after you both again. Best wishes The Northey Arms Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely pub with good ambience. We went for an evening meal and all the food was lovely with good choices on the menu and big portions. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smp441
OHHCo, Manager at The Northey, responded to this review

Dear Smp441, Thank you so much for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes The Northey Arms Team

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here before for dinner, lovely food etc. This time we had sunday lunch for four. Friendly welcome, and efficient helpful staff. Our dinner looked amazing, with a wonderful selection of tasty veg, divine roasties, but oh dear what a shame about the beef. The menu did say medium rare roast beef, and I love rare beef, but this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Millmen
OHHCo, Manager at The Northey, responded to this review

Dear Millmen, Many thanks for the feedback in regards to your recent visit with us. My sincere apologies in regards to beef. We will start slicing slightly thinner from now to avoid this happening again. In regards to the service and the rest of your plate, many thanks for the kind words. On your next visit we will do everything...

Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had one night here. Rooms are decorated to the highest standard. Every good not what I expected from an Inn. Now the things that let it down, 1) The rooms are situated down a path. The bath might be only be a short stroll. But is very poorly lit. How the Health and Safety guys accepted the lighting is beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveannmarie
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Visited Jan 2017 as a couple on a Sunday. Warm, welcoming and very cosy with a lovely warm roaring fire! We were told to choose a table and given menus but had to ask for drinks (no biggie) and were then asked if we were ready to order food. We ordered the beef roast at £14.95 served with duck fat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cerimj
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Early week visit to this pub was a delight, generous portions (huge burger), lovely liver and loads more well worth the visit, friendly staff and reasonably priced. would recommend save room for pudding

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Chippenham
Reviewed 24 December 2016

We only came for a Lunch Time Meal, with two friends, Meal was good, and the two waitress who looked after us were excellent, cheerful and helpful, we have not been to this hotel for a couple of years, and we enjoyed our visit. The food was excellent and enjoyed by all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joypierce
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

I was rebooked into this as their sister hotel had a burst pipe, that's not to say I wouldn't have chosen it but it was slightly further from the M4 than I would have liked The room was really nice, and the bathroom huge, unfortunately though the sound proofing was sadly lacking so every time a lorry passed during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian912
OHHCo, Owner at The Northey, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, and we are glad you enjoyed your room. Unfortunately we are situated on a main A road, we have installed double glazing as sound proof and we rarely get any negative feedback. Our menu has an array of freshly cooked dishes, so I'm surprised that you mention the menu of having limited...

Poole in Dorset
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed over for one night as we were visiting Bath the next day, booked this place after reading the good reviews and we were not disappointed with the room or the location. There are a few things that might annoy some, like the train noises and the noise from the pub/restaurant downstairs, but if you are booking this kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chef16071966

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
4.7 km away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
567 reviews
5.9 km away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
316 reviews
7.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
617 reviews
5.0 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
9.5 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The former Box Station Hotel owes its architecture to Brunel. Head Chef Chris Alderson has created a classic menu using seasonal produce. Fresh fish is delivered to from Cornwall, along with locally sourced beef. Those staying the night will be royally spoilt as slick bedrooms sport pieces of one-off furniture and sculpture - and beds super comfortable with dazzling white linen and thick mattresses. One room has a decked balcony, all have coffee-machines, and slate stone bathrooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Northey

Address: Bath Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Price Range: $163 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Northey 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Northey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Northey staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Northey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are quieter in the block in the back garden but don't have the same character, they are still very well appointed though”
 of 5 bubbles TiggsBunty, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Review based on room 6”
 of 5 bubbles prlights, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Well, if the bathrooms are all like Room 2 then you'll be fine. Room 2 does face the main road...”
 of 5 bubbles CharlieBing, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go in the annex bit as I'm sure the rooms in the main building are nicer!”
 of 5 bubbles N4473RBsarahw, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a main road so best choose towards the back - we only ate there though”
 of 5 bubbles GorfBathUK, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5