We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Appleby Inn Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Appleby Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Appleby Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We have a 6 year old severe Coeliac and contacted the hotel a couple of months ago to discuss a family gathering. The response and cooperation were second to none. The hotel manager was efficient, helpful and honest about what they could provide. When we arrived today the staff were well prepared and trained - they made our visit so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of the Appleby Inn Hotel. We are vey familiar in dealing with guests individual dietary requirements and aim to assist guests with a helpful, honest service to ensure their needs are met. All of the staff involved in your visit express their thanks at your kind words and guarantee a warm welcome should...

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Another visit to this excellent restaurant. Staff are professional and friendly. Varied choice of food from Sunday roasts to other dinners. Very busy which sets a good atmosphere but even though busy food was served with minimum wait, piping hot and very generous portions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for such kind comments. We are delighted you spared your time in reviewing your visit to the Appleby Inn Hotel. A busy restaurant which still offers high quality service and meals is our aim day to day and it is with great pleasure we read you found this was the case. We would look forward to...

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed here for a few days over the summer recommended by a local friend. rooms are basic but large and clean the staff are friendly and always willing to help. and the food is brilliant be prepared for massive portions though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTomlinson2013
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Appleby Inn Hotel. We are pleased we were able to validate your friends recommendation, word of mouth is the best form of advertising in our view. We would be delighted to offer you another warm welcome should you stay in the area again.

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Would def rate this hotel for staff friendliness .. Cleanliness and room size . Food is also good ! Only downfall for us was the noise during the night so we couldn't sleep well :( Hear doors banging from other guests and people coming in late in the early hrs and outside fans from the kitchen'/bar area Only reason I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisabaldwin452
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel and our staff express their thanks at your warm comments regarding their manner. I apologise if you were disturbed by other guests nosily returning to the hotel, whilst we are a little limited into controlling guests noise levels as they enter their rooms...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We visit the Appleby regularly for afternoon and evening meals. We have never had a meal we have not enjoyed. We meet up with friends several times a year and always go to the Appleby. We have been to functions their and the meals are just as good with good entertainment. Staff are very accommodating and nothing is too mush...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _v121ros
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. Your comments are overwhelmingly complimentary. We are pleased to be your go-to place for meals and evenings out alike. We look forward to delivering the consistently high standard of service for your next visit!

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I went with my mum Auntie dad and cousin . When we got there we ordered and everything was okay . But my mums meat was very fatty and she told the waitresses and they were very nice about it . Then the threw it in the bin with out showing the assistant manger and he said to my mum...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reece P
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. It is with great disappointment I read your comments. Your review does bring an air of confusion in relation to your issue. We do not have a specific Assistant Manager, just myself as the General Manager and also a team of Duty Managers, no one at the Hotel would advertise themselves as such....

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Food is really amazing. Service really good. Beer is good. What more do you want. Food from 12 -10. what more do you want. Hotel as well. Nice place to stay. Rooms really nice. Loads of things to do locally.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john b
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review! We aim to leave guests satisfied with all of our offerings and it is pleasing to read you have found this the case. Exceptional beer and delicious food are what we aim to deliver to our guests, and our extended opening times leave offer guests plenty of time to visit at their convenience. We...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We really were impressed by this place we were staying the night for a 60th Birthday party and had a great night, all staff really friendly and helpful and the room was really a nice size and clean, shower great with plenty of water pressure, a feature not available in a lot more supposed classier accommodation. Would recommend if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremybarnes
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a complimentary review. We take great pleasure in hosting guests for special occasions and playing a part in guests celebrations. Our recent investment into our water systems offers fantastic water pressures, thank you for taking the time to mention the updated system. We would love to host you again should you return to the Appleby Inn...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel so we could attend a friends wedding at the John Moore Foundation and the location was perfect. We needed a room for 5 but only showed as 4 being available on the website, dropped them an email and they were so accommodating and agreed for my 3 year old to have a z bed. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We act as preferred accommodation for many local venues and are pleased to offer accommodation for guests attending wedding receptions at the Sir John Moore foundation. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to both the local area and also the Appleby Inn Hotel and thank you for your warm comments.

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We chose this place on Google having already visited two other local pubs to try and have a nice meal out, but we were very dissatisfied with those. I will review them separately. The Appleby Inn was clearly very busy and we were concerned that we would have a long wait. But the premises was big enough to cope with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of your visit to the Appleby Inn Hotel. We are well accustomed to hosting large parties and plenty of guests, we are pleased you took the time to mention our efficiency in coping with such volume. Our staff express their thanks regarding your comments and would love to extend a warm welcome to...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby Magna
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
435 reviews
9.9 km away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch
428 reviews
10.5 km away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,029 reviews
5.4 km away
Champneys Springs Health Resort
11.1 km away
The Bulls Head
The Bulls Head
#1 of 1 in Hartshorne
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Appleby Inn Hotel is a family owned and run Hotel, Bar & Restaurant located on the A444 half a mile from junction 11 of the M42 within close distance of both Birmingham and East Midland airports, and is also easily accessible to the M6 and M1 motorways. The Hotel is also ideally situated close to most local midland towns and cities, perfect for both commuters and tourists. Set within rural Derbyshire the Hotel borders on the four counties of Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Derbyshire. The Hotel has a fine reputation for its welcoming, homely atmosphere, fine restaurant food and exceptional value for money.Nearby tourist attractions include Twycross Zoo, The Battle of Bosworth fields, Donnington Park, Drayton Manor Park and the Sir John Moore Foundation is only a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Appleby Inn Hotel

Address: 11 Atherstone Road | Appleby Parva, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Price Range: $98 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appleby Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Appleby Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Appleby Inn Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Appleby Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles JimMcKillop, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 12 which was spacious, with a double and single bed.”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretE105, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check that the bed is comfortable and that all theequipment works. If you like to socialise after an event chose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MalcolmH141, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All rooms were to a good standard, and all varied in size.”
 of 5 bubbles fergie507, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Do not accept room 24”
 of 5 bubbles PeterH205, 24 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5