We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glenlo Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,002: English reviews
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Just want to compliment all of the Staff in the Glenlo Abbey Hotel, we so enjoyed our stay there. The food was excellent and our room was superb. The surroundings are amazing and so picturesque. Ray & Carmel

Helpful?
1 Thank carmel_sutton
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ray & Carmel, Greetings from Glenlo Abbey. We loved your review and its so satisfying for all the staff to receive such positive feedback like your own thoughts on your time with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards Rory O'Sullivan General Manager More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

What a fantastic surprise in the lovely Galway. A beautiful estate an enchanting abbey with a spectacular view. But the best part of our stay was the outstanding service. Friendly, welcoming very professional, they made us feel like at home. The morning breakfast is delicious with a choice of cold and hot dishes including the famous Irish one. We also... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichelaRescia
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichelaRescia, Greetings from Galway. Lovely to see you enjoyed your family time at Glenlo Abbey. We hope the remainder of your trip went according to plan and look forward to seeing you visit for longer soon. Wishing you all the best. Rory O' Sullivan General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Stayed at glenlo for one night and it was really good. Dinner at the Pullman was fabulous and such a great experience. Our waiter from Poland was excellent. Room was big and comfortable and breakfast was good. Would definitely recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank fiona r
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fiona r, Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at Glenlo. Bart in the train was especially chuffed at the mention for his great service which is lovely to hear. Looking forward to hopefully welcoming your return for a longer stay in the near future. Warm regards Rory O' Sullivan General Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Glenlo Abbey was the first hotel we stayed at while driving around Ireland. We are so happy we made this choice. The historic building is absolutely adorable, and set just outside of Galway among rolling green hills and a golf course. The interiors are all decorated in historic fashion. We felt like we were in the Irish version of Downton... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine R
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katherine R, Thank you dearly for your kind words in your review. It is very comforting to see such great feedback and as a hotel which has gone through quiet a renaissance in recent times it is indeed very welcome. Next time around you will definitely have to make time for the Pullman Restaurant Aboard the Orient Express which... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Three of us had Sunday lunch here and really enjoyed it. We found the staff friendly and efficient without exception. The food was quite good. I had the duck which was delicious. Others found the lamb very good as well. The staff made a nice fuss with dessert as one of the party was celebrating a birthday. Pricey but worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank LOGITRAV
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LOGITRAV, Lovely to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday Lunch offering in the River Room Restaurant which is proving very popular of late. Special occasions and Glenlo Abbey are the perfect fit and we are delighted that you chose us to celebrate your special day. Looking forward to welcoming your return soon. Warm regards Rory O' Sullivan General Manager More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

Located just a few kms out of Galway & now a mixture of its stately past dating back to the 18th century and an annex of quality 4.5 star accommodation. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome and the breakfast service was excellent. Set in beautifully manicured grounds which included their own golf course this would... More 

Helpful?
Thank fridge24
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fridge24. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to details your experience of your recent stay at Glenlo Abbey Hotel. Its a long journey from New Zealand and we were delighted to see you chose our hotel for your time in Ireland and that most importantly you enjoyed your stay here. Looking forward to having the possibility of welcoming... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Most unfriendly,no atmosphere hotel I have visited,Staff not at all helpful, complained about one night porter who was extremely rude and no notice was taken to our complaint,It is on the other hand a very beautiful place and the room we had was very comfortable and upon our arrival we automatically talked of a wedding here,But after one nights experience!!!... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank BlingBling2007
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BlingBling2007, Many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback of your stay at Glenlo Abbey Hotel. I have looked at the notes of your stay and we were delighted to have had the opportunity to look after your party after your initial reservation in another hotel could not be satisfied. I believe your complaint centred on a... More 

London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We got married here last week. We had such a perfect day. All of the staff are absolutely amazing - Cathy Melia, our wedding co-ordinator, was not only excellent, but she's also very, very lovely. The managers, Ronan, Seamus, Francis, and Alex are so amazing, funny, organised...so nice. The food was amazing - our guests have been raving about it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gaillimh1983
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona & Alastair, What a lovely review of your special day at Glenlo Abbey. We are all delighted that everything went so well and that we were able to play a part in the memorable success of your wedding. A picture never lies and the image attached gives a great indication of how much you enjoyed your wedding. Wishing... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Very friendly receptionist greeted us, as well as the rest of the staff. Room was big and very comfy, high classic standard. The cellar oak bar served delicious food. We have been traveling by car through Ireland for 6 days and this place has been by får the best!

Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel S
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samuel S, Great to see that we were top of your list during your recent visit to Ireland. Considering the standard of accommodation around Ireland this truly is a lovely commendation from you regarding the hotel. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time travelling throughout the country. Wishing you all the best. Warm regards Rory O' Sullivan General... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Place is like in a fairy tale! Inside is antique, elegant, you can feel the odour of the past! Room is elegant, stylish, big and cosy, bathroom is OK but easy to recognise that it wasn't renovated recently (hairdryer, tap etc...) Scented toilet paper. Minibar has very limited items. There was no red wine. I asked one glass into the... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappiestMother
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HappiestMother, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel during your recent stay. I thought your review was great. It had excellent details and many of the points you mentioned, we have improved on including the Minibar items, Apple Juice and fresh fruit selection on the buffet breakfast. We greatly appreciate your constructive and honest comments and... More 

690 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (431)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Dining (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (117)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.5 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,515 reviews
6.5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,539 reviews
4.7 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 47 in Galway
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Price Range: $217 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenlo Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Glenlo Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there is a bad room in the house!”
 of 5 bubbles Jeannier801, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“very cosy deluxe rooms”
 of 5 bubbles INFINITE_YACHTS, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden view is the best!”
 of 5 bubbles Kutaa1022, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go on a sat as the afternoon tea is served in the carraiges of the orient express train on the grounds of the hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles podge30, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in an elegant room overlooking the green where falconry/archery takes place.”
 of 5 bubbles DallasAlice51, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay