We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shard Riverside Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shard Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 519: English reviews
Start your review of Shard Riverside Hotel
 Click to rate
Kincardine, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We travelled from Scotland to visit this restuarant for a family celebration. Beautiful setting but that's where it stopped. Our meal was very poor and the prices were outrageous. Starters were delicious but main courses very poor indeed. I had chicken Kiev which I was so looking forward to but there was no garlic butter inside it....the chicken was burnt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dakota444
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed over for one night earlier this month after travelling from Yorkshire to attend a family funeral. Staff were very welcoming, room was clean spacious with lovely river views. Ate in the restaurant and food was superb as was the service. Breakfast was also very good and nothing was too much trouble. Got a good deal on price and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirefriars
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Than you for your kind review.We are so glad that we made your stay as stress free and comfortable as possible under the circumstances.We hope you can visit again sometime.

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with a friend we both had the suet beef and veg. which was excellent. Unbeknown to me, my son was also at the restaurant, and he said the meal was excellent. The staff are courteous but not demeaning. I would suggest that they take on a "craft" beer; possibly Taylor's Landlord!! as the Bay Horse in Thornton has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul0s48
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write a review,it really means a lot to our team here to know that they are appreciated.We will take into account your suggestion for craft beer and see what we can do before your next visit.

Poulton le Fylde, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The visit was overall a good experience, the outside and location is beautiful and the inside is equally lovely and comfortable. The food was delicious, worth every penny. My friend and I sat comfortably after our meal with coffee very comfortably on the settees. A very good experience, I will be visiting again and would recommend the food and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bev T
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you,we are so happy that you and your friends had a lovely Sunday lunch with us.What better than great location ,great food and great company.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I treated my husband to a little night away here for valentines and it was perfect. Food is fabulous, rooms spotless and a lovely setting. The staff are really friendly and helpful and make it a really welcoming place with a homely feel. We will definitely be visiting again. Many Thanks :-)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anastasia M
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.What a lovely treat for valentines,we are so glad you had an overall great stay with lovely food.We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed and ate here, very good indeed, slight slip up with the room type but they rectified it without fuss and breakfast was 5/5. Not much around so perhaps a one nighter. Would be nice in the summer with the terrace overlooking the river.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james f
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Customer service is top of our agenda so we aim to meet all the requirements of our guests.You should visit us again in the summer and take advantage of our great outdoor seating area with great views.

Fleetwood
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stopped here for quick drink and decided to have lunch. so glad we did! I had focaccia with chicken and chorizo with skinny fries and hubby had smoked fish omelette with fries. We were not disappointed, it was delicious! staff were vey friendly and the place was delightful, by the river. We will definitely be visiting here again. Can't recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FleetwoodJulie1306
tracey l, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely response! We're really happy that you had a nice afternoon. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Looking forward to seeing you again, in the none too distant future. Neil & the Shard riverside team.

MANCHESTER
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We have been here for a meal a few times and it has always been lovely. We have friends who live in Poulton so thought we would stay over. Good choice! We had room 18 which overlooks the river. Comfortable bed, fabulous shower my favourite biscuits on the hostess tray! Lovely breakfast and the staff are fantastic so pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hazel18Manchester
tracey l, Guest Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review,we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Yes the biscuits are great I cant resist one when I am passing.Room 18 is a great room be sure to request a river view next time you book direct with ourselves on 01253 700208. We look forward to seeing you then.

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Boy oh boy - what a fabulous place/location - bankside of the river, Staff pleasant and helpful - Meal/Restaurant - plenty of choice cooked to your liking and reasonably priced We stayed in Room 20 - Over looks the River - clean, spacious wifi and all what you expect in a place like this - first class.!! - Pete B

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pete B
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Pete Thank you for writing a review.We are lucky to have a fantastic location especially in the Summer months.We hope to see you again sometime,give us a ring to book and we will make sure you have a river view room again.

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Hotel is situated down a short country lane and overlooks the river Wyre. Very friendly staff, especially at reception. Room on 2nd floor which was spacious with wooden floors and quite contemporary. Tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen tv and good en suite. Only downside was the bed, which was a double and had one of the firmest mattresses I have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review.It seems overall you enjoyed your stay,the mattresses are not to everyone's taste but they are recommended by the English tourist board.We do hope you will come and visit us again soon.

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
5.6 km away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
200 reviews
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
7.9 km away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3,734 reviews
6.6 km away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
3,084 reviews
8.0 km away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shard Riverside Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Grantham
1 month ago
Ossett, United Kingdom
4 months ago
belfast
9 months ago
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Shard Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a River View if you can”
 of 5 bubbles Yorkshirefriars, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room overlooking the River”
 of 5 bubbles peteb215, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front will afford excellent views over the river”
 of 5 bubbles paulhS5713IP, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe double room much bigger than standard.”
 of 5 bubbles tomi260, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Away from the stairwell, heels on stairs can be a tad loud late at night.”
 of 5 bubbles m15aaf, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5