We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hillbark Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hillbark Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hillbark Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Went for Sunday lunch only to be seated in a freezing cold room,no atmosphere what so ever,and only us.The server was a lovely pleasant man but everything he brought was wrong.We had to pre order our meal and we had to have exactly the same starter main and sweet as each other.The whole experience was dreadful and a complete waste...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Debbie W
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie W, Thank you for your review, all feedback is very important to us. The concept of our Contessa Sunday Roast is to replicate the homely, family feel of a typical family roast with all of the hassle taken away, hence why we offer an alternative menu with slightly less choice. Alongside our Contessa Sunday Roast menu, we do...

Solihull
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This really is a lovely hotel with very nice staff, but we stayed Saturday night and our stay was spoiled having to complain about our Suite being cold, the lounge being cold and the dining room being cold. As nice as the staff were, they did not appreciate that the heating was a problem and seemed to assume that as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterHurley
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PeterHurley, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, all feedback is very important to us. It is unfortunate that your stay was affected by the cold and we apologise, we do have fires going throughout winter which warm up the building, however the cold weather has just come upon us and the heating throughout the hotel...

tommypip
Reviewed 9 November 2013

After leaving Peel Hey for afternoon tea due to rude guests (please read review) we came round corner to the beautiful Hillbark. Incredible front of house lady was on duty (Saturday 9th November lunchtime) and we were seated instantly in the beautiful room next to the fire. Stunning surrounding inside and out. My friend I was dining with actually got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seahorsesparkle
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear seahorsesparkle, Thank for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to again have you here at Hillbark. It’s great that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We have passed on your feedback and everyone has been thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest regards, Helen Jones Public Relations Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Top flight Hotel and Restaurant, although appears expensive, you get what you pay for. Went to a friend's Daughter's wedding and it was exceptional. Beautiful house and surroundings, ideal for a wedding.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank forgel
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear forgel, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it was a pleasure to have you here for the wedding and we hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards, Helen Jones Public Relations Manager

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here recently as a special occasion treat but have to say a high price to pay for a lovely setting and nothing else. The hotel is stunning on the eye and in a lovely setting but that's about it ! Room was below expectation, food was well below expectation and don't even think about buying alcoholic beverages unless you...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank third-dimension50
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear third-dimension50, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hillbark, all feedback is greatly important to us. It is unfortunate that your time here wasn’t all that it could have been. The price for the drinks you have stated is above the price it should have been; due to our extensive wine list you may have...

Surrey
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Hillbark for one night last weekend, while up visiting Liverpool. The location of this place is stunning and you can take some short or longer walks through the local woods up to peaks from where you can view the whole of Liverpool. It as stunningly beautiful. The hotel itself has lots of character and charm in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mabel_Gripper
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mabel_Gripper, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you here at Hillbark. It is great to hear you both had the time to take a walk through Royden Park as it does have some fantastic views! I have passed on your comments and everyone has been thrilled to hear you...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Good things - lovely building and wedding venue. Huge, nicely furnished room. Pleasant staff Bad things - terrible nights sleep. Very noisy, from communal areas, floors and taps / flushes. We were woken at 6.15am by music booming out loudly from the restaurant below our room. Tried to call reception to sort it, but no answer. Ended up ringing room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank greeny_4
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear greeny_4 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, regarding the loud music in the morning we can only put this down to a huge mistake on our part as whilst we were getting ready for the morning routine. We have raised this with our Night Porter who would have been on shift at the time and...

liverpool
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I loooove this hotel my partner took me here and was amazing, the feel of the hotel the atmosphere is fantastic, ideal for couple looking for a romantic get away, food amazing the views of the grounds was stunning if your looking for some luxary then really look no further

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vickym0090
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vickym0090, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you both here. We are glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay and hope to see you again soon! Kindest regards, Helen Jones Public Relations Manager

wirral
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We've just had the most perfect happy wedding at hillbark and the bride and groom were both radiant! However... The location and building exterior are fantastic but once inside its tired and needs smarting up. The carpets in places were stained, torn, not fitted properly. The decor seemed dated and the hotel toilets left a lot to be desired. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maudkidd
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maudkidd, Thank you for taking the time to shareyour experience of your time here. It is unfortunate that you experienced the above issues whilst here, we have very rarely had any issue with cleanliness and can only put this down to the amount of events we had during the week which may have caused standards to slip and if...

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed for one night following a wedding and had a very nice room in the second floor. The staff were friendly and attentive even though it was very busy with wedding guests everywhere in the hotel reception. This place is not cheap though and rooms can cost around £200 depending on the package. Room service is included as is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoff S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay following the wedding and enjoyed the surroundings of Hillbark. Your feedback has been passed on and everyone has been thrilled to hear your comments! Kindest regards, Helen Jones Public Relations Manager

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
9.5 km away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
254 reviews
7.8 km away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,044 reviews
6.5 km away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
10.2 km away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
1,174 reviews
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillbark Hotel & Spa, located in the 250 acres of parkland in Royden Park on the Wirral, is the only five-star hotel in the Liverpool City Region and the smallest five-star in the UK. The Elizabethan style mansion has 18 individually designed bedrooms, a choice of restaurants including an award winning fine dining restaurant The Dining Room at Hillbark and a luxurious spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillbark Hotel

Address: Rangers Office Hillbark Road | Frankby, Frankby CH48 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Price Range: $490 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillbark Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Hillbark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbark Hotel Frankby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillbark Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
leeds
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hillbark Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms ar nice but the suites are the best, we like room 103, but all the suites are especially fab.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpy47, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Which ever room you choose, they are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles hilaryholden7, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 108 - described as a suite, it isn't. Tired and gloomy - as tho a train goes through the room when neighbours shower!”
 of 5 bubbles SueS967, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had bridal suite and our guests were equally comfortable and lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Jancw65, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the bathroom heating works.”
 of 5 bubbles a19432016, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay