We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed in a oceanview room in one of the extra buildings and it was clean and spacious. The restaurant in the hotel was decent with a lot of options. The staff at the restaurant and at the front desk were friendly and helpful. It was a great location to explore the area from.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah1515
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We make every effort to provide our guests with a top notch experience. Cheers!

BC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We managed to get the last room here in their B and B across the road. They gave us seniors rate and was a great price for a comfortable room. The rate included a good breakfast in their large restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notanangel
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! So happy you were pleased with our accommodations and service. Cheers!

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The room was clean and the bathroom was clean which is very important. The staff were number one in my books. Really friendly and would do anything for you. We stayed in the units across the street so had a few stairs to climb. Next time I would like to stay in the main hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry733
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Our guests/customers come first. Cheers!

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Good size rooms, all the comforts of home (refrigerator, TV, slow Wifi, table & chairs) and a spacious bathroom.We had a beach view room, Very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dadufault
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We strive to offer high quality amenities to our valued guests. Cheers!

New Glasgow, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This is the only "hotel" in Cow Head. We had not intended to stay here but due to a car problem we needed a room at the last minute and I got lucky to get a room here. We stayed in one of the cottages, it was a bit tired and old. Nice to have a kitchen and fridge. Got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are sorry that our accommodations were not up to our regular high standards, but we will make every effort to improve. We value your comments and suggestions and we hope to see you again in the future. Cheers!

Grand Bend, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Hotel is right on Shallow Bay beach so view is great. Rooms are sparkling clean and as we had ocean view--our room was bright with a wide view. Windows can open so you can hear waves on beach. Wonderful. Staff all very friendly and accommodating. Rooms have bar fridge, coffee maker but free wifi is slow--probably maxed out as hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imperfectaoist
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you had a great experience here. We realize that we do have an issue with the wifi and we are hoping to improve by changing our service provider. Cheers!

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Spent 2 night here - one in a standard motel-like room and another in a 2 bedroom cabin. Both very good. It is - as someone has said already - the only game in town. Many tour bus groups come here and are an obvious priority for the owners. This gives rise to sloppiness in the restaurant where many dinners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudyandDave
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are sorry that your experience in our restaurant was not up to par. Our staff will be advised and improvements will be made. Your comments are important to us. Cheers!

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

No complaints. We had a room in a B&B that is affiliated with the motel and it was all we needed--close, clean and with a small communal kitchen down the hall. The restaurant at he motel was very busy and the wait staff were doing an admirable job. Food itself was standard and a bit overpriced for what you get....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you were satisfied with your experience here. We will strive to improve so as to better serve our valuable guests/customers. Cheers!

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Shallow Bay for one night. We were fortunate to find a room there since people from three tour buses were also staying there on that night. The room was very clean and comfortable; we would stay there again. Cow Head is a most pleasant village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrBabs65
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers!

Petawawa, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Nice room view and being able to sit outside a bonus the grosmorne music show was awesome good food in hotel where we had our breakfast and very fast warning extra in restaurant busy as there were several bus tours

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylinda17
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We make every to provide our guests/customers with quality food, accommodations and service. Cheers!

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
37.4 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
176 reviews
38.1 km away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
91 reviews
0.8 km away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Price Range: $138 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One overlooking the bay.”
  • Sea, sky and a little land - what could be more relaxing?
 of 5 bubbles yvonned899, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have ocean virws”
 of 5 bubbles kestrels666, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms backing on the ocean are lovely, with walkouts to your grass back yard and million dollar ocean views.”
 of 5 bubbles OntarioPilot, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Reqest bay view room.”
 of 5 bubbles 0605carl1941, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We used the Bed and Breakfast, not sure about cottages or motel rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles peterbO9349ZJ, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5