We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
16 Voie Urbaine 1, Poindimie, Grand Terre 98822 New Caledonia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
US$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$95
TravelocityUS$95
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (385)
Room & Suite (99)
Pool & Beach (60)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
On the edge of the village of Poindimie, the Hotel Tieti is located on the most beautiful beach on the east coast of New Caledonia. Tribes of the 3 neighboring valleys will share their ancestral culture, rich in emotions. Walkers as hikers will be able to perceive the soul of a warm and welcoming people, living in harmony with nature. Located in a park of century-old coconut palms and banyan trees, is an authentic and tropical architecture, opening the doors of Melanesia. Set in 2.7 hectares of parkland, abundantly dotted by coconut palms and ancient banyans, the bungalows are distinguished by the strikingly original design of their wood-tiled roofs, shaped like the exotic fruit of the Barringtonia tree. In the heart of lush valleys, facing a UNESCO world heritage listed lagoon, Poindimie area is a must-see site for any visitor exploring New Caledonia. The hotel comprises 50 guest rooms and suites offering three accommodation options: 10 Beachfront Bungalow Suites, spacious and luxurious overlooking the sea, for up to 3 people 20 Garden Tropical Bungalows with terrace, for up to 3 people (Some interconnecting) 20 Standard Rooms with terrace or balcony (Some interconnecting) Some activities available: Pool, towels, sun chairs Petanque Tennis Table-Tennis. Scuba diving (on-site club) Snorkeling Taxi boat to the island Tibarama Canoeing Beach volleyball Fishing Tieti diving, located right in the hotel, offers an exciting program of scuba diving excursions, snorkeling trails and boat trips to Tibarama islet. Activities include visits to local tribes to experience their authentic lifestyle, kayaking, mountain bike & 4wd trails and hikes on foot. Hotel guests enjoy free access to tennis & table tennis facilities and the swimming pool. Bike for rent. Tieti Poindimie hotel reflects the true spirit of traditional Oceanian architecture, mingling natural and noble materials with peerless elegance. Our meticulous care and attention to every detail ensures your total comfort and relaxation in uniquely authentic surroundings. Through generous nature and welcoming local populations, you can experience the spirit of the North.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
French

Location

Full view
Contact
16 Voie Urbaine 1, Poindimie, Grand Terre 98822 New Caledonia
Getting there
Kone Airport52 kmSee all flights
Tontouta Airport152 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
452Reviews6Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 200
  • 104
  • 49
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
GillesEHL wrote a review Nov 2022
9 contributions7 helpful votes
An illustration of why the tourism in New Caledonia is limited: the location is great but the hotel is far from any international standard. You will wait to be served at every outlet. The kitchen is closed in the afternoon, so not possible to eat something after your dive. The staff isn’t outgoing to say the least. The hotel needs a refurbishment asap and mosquito nets need to be installed. We encountered many mosquitos in our room as the broken shades do not fully close.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware the opening times of the outlets
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yves Cre, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 1 week ago
Réponse totalement inutile, car elle constitue une perte de temps !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MilmineM wrote a review Oct 2022
Auckland, New Zealand544 contributions200 helpful votes
+1
Be aware that this hotel is a long drive from Nouméa or La Tontouta airport - approx 4. Hours. The beach side location is lovely, as are the beach front bungalows. Food options are limited to what is available onsite, which is expensive, although there are one or two basic snack type places if you have a car. The WiFi is terrible pretty much everywhere given the remote location. For a relaxing beach side holiday this is a good spot if you don’t mind the limited food choices.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Beachfront bungalow definitely worth it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yves Cre, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Megan, That's correct, it takes about four hours - drinving distance - to reach Le Tiéti. But after that you should have a nice stay, at least like yours. Thank you for this lovely feedback. Mind yourself.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brucebruce13 wrote a review Oct 2022
Australia157 contributions104 helpful votes
Arrived at 1.30pm and before welcoming us or asking our names the receptionist almost without looking up says your room will not be ready until 3pm. This one could understand as when we booked the check in time was mentioned as 3pm. I asked if we could do the paper work so we could go straight to the room when it was ready and she said no. Then asked if she could please call us if the room was ready earlier, alas heard nothing and at 3.10pm I then got in line at the counter to fill out the paperwork, poor show for a resort hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yves C, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 19 Oct 2022
Hi For the clerk a t the front desk, it is not acceptable, you are absolutely right, and I wait to see face to face the one in duty that day. For the show, that was great Saturday night, everyone liked it. Now where we are located, never I will see AC/DC on stage, I do stuff with what I have under my hand. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brett wrote a review Feb 2022
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions4 helpful votes
At first all was OK, we checked in at about 3pm and the room was as expected. Later that night around 7-8pm we went to have showers and there was NO hot water at all. I called reception with my broken French and the girl immediately seemed to know what I was on about, almost like they knew this was a problem before… they offered to move us to another room which was beside the road, we had NO choice but to accept this room, and yes it was extremely noisy! I looked online and noticed there were still family and double rooms available for the same night, no clue why they didn’t provide one of these rooms to us given the hot water was their problem not ours. Overall a really disappointing experience I thought Tieti would be a better experience but it wasn’t. Management you need to lift your game and do something better if your customers experience issues in your hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay in rooms near the road, the locals seem to enjoy driving extremely noisy cars.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yves Cre, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Hi Brettr, Yes we were aware of these troubles with hot water. The reason is simple : due to the storm and thunder many thermostats were broken at the same moment in different bungalows. In fact we had an high voltage and the installation did not support it. Ans yes one more we had no choice as well, it is not something that you can programm to reparer more than 10 boilers the same day or night. We provided you the best solution at the moment ... and the manager I am knows really how to lift the game be sure, I don't really need advice for that becasue I have Tieti under my skin. Next time do not hesitate to contact me directly and I have a special offer for you. Mind yourself.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann L wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
Bungalows are awesome. Beach near by is wild and beautiful. Breakfast is great as well as the swimming pool. The food at dinner was very tasty and felt local. It just took us 1h to get our cocktails at the table...we waited quite a while to get through dinner
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction-Tieti, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear AppyAnny, That's good to read such good review. I will share it with the staff. I admit, that it is too long to have a simple drink and I will report it as well. Thank you for your visit, and we do hope to welcome you again in the future. Mind yourself.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cliffordchambers wrote a review Jan 2020
Europe630 contributions297 helpful votes
We had a beach front room, large and pleasant with a huge bathroom. The room had a small terrace but our enjoyment was marred by the presence of local youths on what appeared to be hotel property. A young couple kissed and cuddled for several hours and perhaps even consumed their relationship before our eyes. They were replaced by a group of youths who obviously were making as much noise as possible in order to antagonise the hotel guests. Such a pity that the hotel cannot afford to employ security staff, since, judging by prior comments on tripadvisor, this is a frequest occurence. Breakfast was spoiled by a guest blowing out clouds of e cigarette smoke at breakfast, INSIDE the restaurant. When I asked him to please move outside, he simply ignored me. He was French; I speak fluent French, so it was not a question of misunderstanding. When I mentioned this to reception the lady said "I think I know who it is", so evidently another recurring problem. The hotel chose the high season to completely rebuild the bungalow opposite ours, so we heard plenty of banging, hammering and cutting of tiles with a metal saw. Why couldn't they do this in the low season? With proper hotel management, this could have been such a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YvesC1103, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Clifford, Your point raised is correct. Fact is Tieti is an open space hotel, which is impossible to secure correctly. And the beach is a public space, I cannot do anything it does not belong to us. Regarding the impolite guest, I leant it today while reading your comment. It is forbidden to smoke into the restaurant, the bar, rooms ... so on. Regarding the renovation, I have no choice, there is no good moment for that, but I should do it. Sorry for the noise occurred. I have started this programm last April, and it should end this april. If I stop it will be too long. After I should launch the refurbishment of the deck .... Thank for you coming and A Happy New Year 2020
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spacifictraveller wrote a review Dec 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand33 contributions26 helpful votes
Easy to find when travelling from the south. We stayed in one of the connected villas. Initially, we were given a room near the park (far end) overlooking the park with no view of the sea, but of public toilets. However, we went back to reception and asked to swap rooms and she was obliging. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are bigger! Everything you need is in the room, kettle, fridge, large tv, lounge suite, coffee table and a king size bed. We had our own little patio that we could see the ocean from (in between the villas in front of us). It was quite busy when we went, lots of families and couples. Lovely well-kept grounds with some local cats as visitors. Internet access was fine at certain times of the day for us, but we didn't mind, as we were on holiday! Staff were very helpful (and patient) even though we were speaking in a hybrid of English and French - mainly English, we managed to communicate well enough (with the help of a translator app) for the staff to understand what we required. Check out was quick and wished we had spent more time getting to know the locals.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from YvesC1103, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 12 Dec 2019
Dear Spacifictraveller, Thank you to describe so well your coming at Le Tieti. Good to read that your stay went fine. I admit that the staff is not tranied enough for English speaking. Never mind the post important is the resultat and you got it. We wish you a Happy New Year that comes soon. All the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristo22 wrote a review Nov 2019
Brussels, Belgium22 contributions3 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, nice place to relax at beach, have drinks or eat. Food-wise excellent location on east coast. Accommodation in wonderful bungalows at beach is a superb experience. Only problem was weak WiFi signal.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction-Tieti, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 13 Nov 2019
Dear Kristo, As I mentioned it often, the WIFI does not depend on me. This is brought by the Caledonian Post Office. Located where we are, at the end of the world, it is not powerful. Next year we should have the fiber, and I hope it will resolve this weakness. Thank you for the time you spent with us and this review. All the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CeeDee57 wrote a review Sep 2019
Manly, Australia16 contributions7 helpful votes
Our group of 5 stayed there because of family connections to the township. All booked thru Flight Centre and had no problems with payment, or anythign else for that matter. The town itself is quite long, nearly 2km, with several supermarkets. As the hotel is the northernmost building in town, it certainly helps if you have a car. For what it is - large hotel on the east coast - I am rating it very good. The staff and amenities were fine. The room, yes a bit dated but came with kettle and frig. Did not care for the louvered door on the bathroom. Well-placed right on the beach, sensible walkways to all the rooms, nice grassed areas and palm trees, nice pool. We did not use the dining facilities, although their prices were no dearer than any hotel we stayed at. We went to the chicken shop at the southern end of town for dinner for a more authentic local experience, and bought our breakfast at the small but well-stocked market right across the road. They had local live music at the shelter by the pool, which proved popular with the locals, and was not audible from our room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We were close to reception ie everyone has to go past, and still did not hear anyone.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction-Tieti, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 30 Sep 2019
Dear CeeDee, I guess your review follows the previous one. I thank you all for your coming, and do hope to see you again. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Longworths wrote a review Sep 2019
Sydney65 contributions44 helpful votes
We stayed here one night, in the Motel-style rooms. We had 3 rooms in all, and all were fine, clean, spacious, just a little tired. The shower was roomy, pressure good. In all we took 6 showers, and 5 were tepid, but one was a decent temperature. Not sure why. Our bed was a queen on a platform. Bouncy mattress was not brilliant. We didn't notice any road noise, and they had a local band playing by the pool (pretty good too) but they didn't play late or loudly. Grounds were beautiful, well tended and very tropical. The room rate was good, but as usual, the meals were not cheap. To keep our costs down we got dinner at a very unlikely place up the road, and breakfast from across the road. Poindimie is a thriving village with lots of amenities. Hotel Tieti has activities and accommodations at a good standard. I would definitely choose it again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction-Tieti, Directeur général at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Responded 30 Sep 2019
Dear Longworths, Thank for bringing us all these informations. It describes well the feeling that all can get here. But I disagree about one point : the food. If you compare Tiéti to others places around, it was a huge investment. Of course there is a price to pay for that. If anyone is coming, but decide to eat somewhere else, it is better to close the restaurant and the bar. And no tourism at the end of the road. Especially in some area as mine, so far from big cities, it is important for families who are living all around to have their jobs. We are as well refurbishing accommodations, it is the most important need at the moment. Thank you for you coming and see you soon again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tieti tera beach hotel poindimie
LOCATION
New CaledoniaGrand TerrePoindimie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL TIETI POINDIMIE (S̶$̶1̶2̶4̶) S$104: UPDATED 2022 Resort Reviews, Price Comparison and 430 Photos (New Caledonia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel Tieti Poindimié
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel Tieti Poindimié?
Nearby attractions include Tibarama Island (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hôtel Tieti Poindimié?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hôtel Tieti Poindimié offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Does Hôtel Tieti Poindimié have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hôtel Tieti Poindimié accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.