We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Turaco Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Turaco Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Start your review of Turaco Lodge
 Click to rate
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the first mail contact until our departure we felt very welcome. Two Adventure seeking and naive German tourists drive through the bush...The rooms are new, very clean and decorated in beautyful African style. Food is homemade and very good (especially Danielle´s homemade icecream!). Nice South African wine, cold beer and soft drinks, coffee and tea in the room. Kudus,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jensg90
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for the lovely and positive review - we really do appreciate you taking the time to post this for Turaco Lodge. It was an absolute pleasure to have the two of you stay with us and we really felt like we were saying goodbye to family when you left. We hope that you will get...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Turaco Lodge with my girlfriend. It is such a nice place with wonderful hosts; the surroundingsame were so beautiful and the home cooked meals made us feel like home. I highly recommend it and definitely will come back sometime.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank inaiate
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tony and Danielle were amazing. Always concerned about your trip, always trying to help and make your experience better. The room is really comfortable, with a big bed, nice shower and TV. The dinner and the breakfast are really good, with all fresh food made by Danielle everyday. I wish I could stay more, it was a nice experience, nice...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tauanlacerda
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you very much for posting such a positive review for Turaco Lodge - we really do appreciate it. We so enjoyed sharing your stay and all your wonderful sightings in Kruger National Park, and we are very pleased that you had a memorable time. All the best, Tony & Danielle

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We have a great time at Turaco Lodge with our family. Tony and Danielle are very welcoming and accommodating hosts, nothing is too much trouble and Danielle’s cooking is top notch. The rooms were comfortable and the location is very convenient. We didn’t realise there is so much to do in the area in addition to visiting the Kruger National...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 428hughl
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. First of all, thank you for posting a review for Turaco Lodge - we really appreciate it! We have almost as much fun as our guests when they are enjoying their stay so it really is our pleasure! Please do stay in touch. Kind regards, Tony & Danielle

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Staff: lovely, hear-warming couple. We've had some interesting talks at dinner with them and other guests. Dining: Very delicious Breakfast and very good dinner, cooked with love. We really enjoied it. accommodation: Very clean and cute room, with everything we need. Unfortunately no TV in room, but don't matter, we had a lot of things to visit outside. Location: Marloth...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanjal650
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you for your very kind remarks. We do apologise about the lack of a TV in the room - unfortunately we had not yet had time to install televisions in the 2 new rooms - we plan to rectify that shortly. We are sorry that you did not find Marloth Park to be an interesting place as...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We crossed the Mozambican border late at night & arrived at Turaco to a delicious cold supper in our rooms. Danielle really didn't have to do that but we were so grateful. In the morning, we saw just how beautiful the lodge was! And had a hearty breakfast before getting on the road again. We had a lovely chat to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you most kindly for posting such a positive review for Turaco Lodge. It was really our pleasure to be able to at least give you a bite to eat before you went to sleep - you must have been exhausted after your long drive through Mozambique! Please do contact us should you plan to visit this part of the...

Maseru, Lesotho
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Danielle & Tony were exceptionally nice,very welcoming & warm people, always ready to assist. The weather was a nightmare but their ready smiles made it bearable. The staff was also great especially the lady who helped with our breakfast & dinner everyday. Big up to you Zodwa. Both Danielle & Tony made sure we were fed everyday & tried to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisebo2017
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge. We really enjoyed having you stay with us - so sorry about the weather and the very long power outage we experienced during your visit. Unfortunately there are some things over which we have no control. Re the lack of a tv in...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Enjoyed 2 great days in Kruger Park. Tony and Danielle arranged a night tour and full day safari for me and my friend on only two days notice which was fantastic. Staying at the lodge was very comfortable and Tony and Danielle were so kind and amazing hosts.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for posting a review for Turaco Lodge, and for your very kind words. It is always our pleasure to help our guests have a great safari experience, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will visit us again should you ever plan to come back to the Kruger National...

Bridgton, Maine
Reviewed 13 December 2016

This Lodge exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were excellent, comfortabe and very clean. The hosts could not have been more welcoming and of course the location is ideal for a luxurious Safari experience. The meals were delicious and with the addition of wine of excellent quality were a true bonus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria M
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you so much for posting a review on Trip Advisor for Turaco Lodge. Tony & I really do appreciate you making the effort. We are so pleased that your safari experience was what you had hoped for and more, especially since you waited so long to actually go on safari! We do hope your trip home was...

Madrid
Reviewed 4 December 2016

excellent place to stay in family and benefit from warm welcome. Great location if you come from Swaziland and want to enter in the most game intensive part of Kruger Parks. Exceptional quite spot and great hosts !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinebI9138JK
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you very much for posting a review for Turaco Lodge. We really appreciate your effort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again some day. Take care. Kind regards, Tony & Danielle

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
0.7 km away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
381 reviews
13.4 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#76 of 170 in Kruger National Park
88 reviews
7.0 km away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
267 reviews
5.9 km away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
206 reviews
6.0 km away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 31 in Marloth Park
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Turaco Lodge offers the traveller an exclusive, tailor-made bush experience. Availability is limited with only 6 guests at a time in the lodge. Situated in Marloth Park on the southern boundary of Kruger National Park, in the heart of a wildlife conservancy with free roaming wildlife. Personal service, good food, friendly atmosphere. Best place for a breakaway from stressful city living. Experience The Kruger National Park and the South African bush in a whole new way! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Turaco Lodge

Address: 171 Kudu Street, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Price Range: $133 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turaco Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Turaco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turaco Lodge Marloth Park, Africa - South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Turaco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe room has good wifi reception”
 of 5 bubbles Jjsalonga, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles tuberide, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Stevefurnitureman, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Only three rooms to choose from; all are pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles 512frankm, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I recommend staying in the Coral Tree suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Paintressg, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5