We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

496 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

It was not as good as our expectations. The beds were small and many leaves at the beach that day while we were swimming... There were no noise like others travellers commented at our stay... The breakfast were good, and the concierge offered kids to feed the fish with their fish food, this made the kids very exciting...

Helpful?
1 Thank kylie23705
Management response:

Dear “kylie23705”, Thank you for staying with us and we are sorry to learn that our standards were not up to your expectations. The lobby saltwater pond is one of our unique features and is very popular amongst our guests of all ages. All of our new facilities are expected to open by the end of this year so we... More 

Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This is far from Sheraton standards. The hotel is like a charter tourist hotel with a feeling of cheep all inclusive buffet. The general design is outdated and the furnitures is not worth a dollar. They are doing a sound and light show in the lobby in the evenings. Loud and a bad try for an improvement . The only... More 

Helpful?
Thank ottowagner32
Management response:

Dear “ottowagner32”, Thank you for choosing to spend your summer holiday with us at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort. We are sorry to learn that your expectations were not met with our facilities and services. Since our re-branding in June, we acknowledge that we still have a lot to learn, and are working on enriching the quality of our services, especially... More 

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This hotel is the 2nd one we chose in Okinawa, comparatively to our 1st hotel and beach resorts we have stayed in other destination, I can say it's the worst we have. We booked the hotel in half year ago, we were noticed that there's construction work carried to enhance the property but there's no mention "ALL POOLS" are closed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Flo_Mak
Management response:

Dear “Flo_Mak”, Thank you for staying with us and we are sorry to learn that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the pool closure. We have had the notice posted since February but will further work on ensuring that the notices are clearly indicated and noticeable when... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Just entering the hotel, I was attracted by its design. I was like visiting an aquarium. There are various kind of fishes in the different fishponds at the ground floor of the hotel. Kids are allowed to feed the fishes. There is a game room and a painting room for kids and there are sea travel activities for kids of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Management response:

Dear “Chris F”, Thank you for your kind compliments and for letting us know that your stay with us was satisfactory. Our building structure, designed with an image of a cruise ship, and the saltwater fish pond definitely help create a unique resort atmosphere. We are happy to know that your children got to meet our friends in the pond... More 

New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina was recently reopened and the property has some really nice features going for it: very nice entryway with a man-made pond, secluded beach that is family friendly and minimal waves. Note thought that the property is also undergoing renovations and even though the renovations were not really loud (or maybe we were not in the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelMuch?NewYork
Management response:

Dear “TravelMuch?NewYork”, Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort. We are happy to know that your family enjoyed our lobby saltwater pond and the beach, which are both features that make our hotel unique. We are indeed, in the process of building a new guest wing, wellness center consisting of an indoor pool, gym, spa and... More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I've pick this hotel while i plan my trip last year. I've booked a lots of activities with the help of hotel secretary, Ms Masako (very nice and helpful). I've been keep her busy before arrival. I keep changing my activities schedule, she cooperate with me without issues. I finished my trip last week. Let me summarize: Good: 1. beach... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank simontsui88
Management response:

Dear “simontsui88”, Thank you for staying with us and for choosing the Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort for your family vacation. Thank you also for your warm compliments towards our team members. All of the valuable comments received are posted for all team members to see, and your kind words are definitely most encouraging and motivating for them. We will continue... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

It's the best resort for an athletic boy! There are many things to do - 18 hole mini putting, basketball court, snooker, table tennis! However, it's impposible ro chill out on the pool side. There is a small water playground,though, it's just for 3-5 yr old baby. And because of the air pump to blow up the play ground, it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jules H
Management response:

Dear “Jules H”, Thank you for taking the time to share your family holiday experience with us. We are very happy that your son was able to enjoy the many activities that we have to offer. The ongoing construction of our new Wellness Center, restaurant and guest wing will be complete later this year, and we hope that you will... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We are local and just visit for projection mapping show. We all deeply disappointed the show. We made phone called and made sure the show will be different for each time but it wasn't that different and we were expected to see what we saw on web page one which aquarium show but it wasn't. Parking a lot will be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sachiko G
Management response:

Dear “Sachiko G”, Thank you for coming to watch our “Sunmarina Sound & Lights Fantasy Show”. We are sorry to hear that the show was not what you had expected and apologize for the inconvenience caused. There is a total of 4 different shows and 2 shows are shown alternatively every night. Every show has a part where the island’s... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016

The hotel is under renovation, we were distrubed by heavy noisy sharply at 8:00am everyday. Moreover, the hotel was surrounded by bad smell probably caused by the construction site, I can feel it at the entrance of the hotel and even at the balcony of our room. Front desk staff is not so friendly. Limtied choice of food in breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank chineseherb
Management response:

Dear “chineseherb”, Thank you for staying at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort. We are sorry to hear of your experience and hope that our hospitality and services will meet your expectations next time. The construction of our brand new facilities that include a Wellness Center (indoor pool, gym, spa etc.), guest wing, restaurant wing and chapel are all scheduled to be... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

The good (more like great!) *The Ocean Maisonette we stayed in was spotless. With two levels and 2 futon style beds on the second floor plus a large balcony, it was plenty specious for two adults and a child. *Breakfast buffet had plenty of choices and the LEGO room within the dining room made breakfast son enjoyable. *There are many... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lila E
Management response:

Dear “Lila E”, Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, and for sharing your resort experience in such detail. You have mentioned about our strengths and complimented us on all the features that we wish to boast about. We appreciate your kind comments, especially towards our hardworking associates that are always trying their very best to... More 

925 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (553)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (336)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
High Floor Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
High Floor Deluxe Room (Alternate Set-Up) (38)
Viewed
High Floor Twin Room with Sofa Bed (5)
Viewed
Ocean Maisonette Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onna-son
10.9 km away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
3.7 km away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
14.3 km away
Okinawa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Kafuu Resort Fuchaku Condo Hotel
7.0 km away
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
1.0 km away
Hotel Monterey Okinawa Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Hotel is a luxury resort located beachfront at Onna-son, approximately an hour's drive from Naha Airport on Route 58. All rooms have a magnificent ocean view, and the hotel provides a choiceful range of marine and beach activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort

Address: 66-1 Fuchaku, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0494, Okinawa Prefecture (Formerly Sunmarina Hotel)
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Price Range: $158 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, Rakuten, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Marina
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort Okinawa Prefecture/Onna-Son
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Onna-son
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#6 Romantic Hotel in Onna-son
#7 Luxury Hotel in Onna-son
#10 Family Hotel in Onna-son
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a sea view but the higher the better the view.”
 of 5 bubbles OlddogHK, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor is better for the view. hotel aligh to west-east, if you want to see nice sunset from room should ask for west side.”
 of 5 bubbles bou156, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“maisonette rooms are recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles Saikat36, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher Floor with better view, but both side got construction work and not facing directly to sea, so it's not the best seaview anyway”
 of 5 bubbles Flo_Mak, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Full beach view, on the east side. 9/F are the best, large and comfort. once renovation finished, it would be great.”
 of 5 bubbles simontsui88, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay