We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pension Gimmelwald

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Pension Gimmelwald
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pension Gimmelwald
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I spent great 3 nights in Pension Gimmelwald. If you're coming to this part of the world, this is the place for you to commune with the Alps and sleep in an old place filled with lots of Swiss-mountain charm and its truly welcoming staff and owners who serve great food on a terrace that has one of the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Our family seriously enjoyed our time at PensionGimmelwald. The owners are wonderful and gracious (A bit silly as well). Great views from the rooms. The restaurant only serves devious food and ALL service is personal. My kids insisted I write this review in the most positive voice possible because they enjoyed it so much!

Helpful?
Thank PriestOmaha
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed in Murren for 5 days and found Gimmelwald a great place to gondola or hike to. It has 2 "self serve" cheese barn and charming typical small Swiss village feel with goats and cows with the bells. The Pension has a " honor" shop with a few vintage items which was interesting. The bar/café had great burgers and... More 

Helpful?
Thank krista r
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I had a great stay at Pension Gimmelwald! The rooms were comfortable and clean. There's a nice bar downstairs with good food and drink, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. They were always willing to give tips about good trails and hikes, which was very helpful. I think other posters have exaggerated the noise level - yes it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch whilst walking in the beautiful mountain scenery. They run a scam for unsuspecting tourists. When you ask for a menu they don't have one but instead tell you the limited list of options, without prices. The food is average but when you come to pay the prices most certainly are not. We live in Switzerland... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank 981brynr
ritzihostal, Owner at Pension Gimmelwald, responded to this review

Please view this with caution, if you live in Switzerland you will know there are serious laws about accuracy of statement. To say we run a scam is a serious claim and requires some research to support it. Our menu had not returned from the printer that much is true. What was not true is that we charged a price... More 

Burton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Stopped in for a beer after walking around Grimmelwald. The patio offers what may be the best view from a patio at a bar you will ever see. Prices were more reasonable than I expected (10 francs for 2 beers). The person working there was very nice....he had no problem with us eating the sausage and cheese we had bought... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank gpodboy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

...and came back in the evening for Caroline's curry night, we weren't sure what to expect but it was awesome. Our table was waiting for us when we arrived, the curry was served quickly and was delicious. Truly a lovely place with fab views of the snow-covered mountains in a tiny alpine village high up on a ledge. Don't miss... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley K
Bremen
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Pension Gimmelwald is a relaxing family-friendly retreat located,as the name suggests, in the small village of Gimmelwald. It requires a cable ride from Stechelberg which itself is a short bus ride from Lauterbrunnen. Gimmelwald is a great hiking and sledging area. The perhaps better known village of Mürren (skiing/hiking/sledging area) is either a 40 minute walk up or another short... More 

Helpful?
Thank BremenCologne
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Pension Gimmelwald in July, and loved every minute of our stay there! You take a cable car from the valley to get to the hotel, just a short walk from the lift. Our room was rustic, with a sink in the room and bathrooms and showers down the hall. Comfortable beds. Delicious food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

We had several meals at this property. Prices can be high but everything in Switzerland is expensive. My favorite dish was the hiker special. It is offered everyday from 6 - 7, for 10 Swiss Franks. It is just a good hearty meal. Burgers are big and tasty. Just a friendly well, well decorated pub/restaurant. Our waitress was Carolyn, she... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ploethen

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.9 km away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
524 reviews
2.0 km away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
608 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
197 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
199 reviews
1.3 km away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Pension Gimmelwald

Address: Gimmelwald CH-3826, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Gimmelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Gimmelwald Hotel Gimmelwald
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pension Gimmelwald staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pension Gimmelwald staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms have a shared toilet and shower down the hall but some have their own bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles barbaramO8998BU, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask the owners for there tips on hiking or day trips, especially if you have kids”
 of 5 bubbles mph161, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared for no proofed rooms-take ear plugs if you find that a problem it all adds to the realism of the olde world charm.”
 of 5 bubbles Trippytrekker, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“End room upstairs with the mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles 18elaineh, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the dining terrace”
 of 5 bubbles mlove17, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay