We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown, Stoke By Nayland

Park Street, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SE England
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (96)
Dining (35)
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


Travellers' Choice
The Crown Stoke by Nayland, was reopened in November 2003 after extensive refurbishment. The boutique Hotel which took twelve months to build was launched in September 2008. The Crown Stoke by Nayland, an historic privately owned village Inn has a reputation for making everyone feel welcome - without pretension - simply a passion for high standards, good service, food, wine and real ale. To complete the picture a boutique Hotel has been created - eleven stylish luxury en-suite bedrooms individually designed and furnished.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
740Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 481
  • 140
  • 67
  • 41
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Downba wrote a review Today
Thurrock, United Kingdom201 contributions64 helpful votes
We used to visit this place on a regular bases but was a bit unsure whether to re book because of some of the previous reviews. We shouldn’t have worried, we arrived on a very busy Sunday afternoon so had to wait a bit to check in. Most of the staff very friendly and efficient, we had a few drinks in the lovely outside covered area with heaters blankets lights and lovely plants, it was like a little haven. Room was comfortable, and very nice for a standard room. Had a Sunday roast which was ok, beef nice potatoes a Little hard and vegetables seemed like they had been reheated or boiled to much, lovely curried courgette soup for starters. Very comfortable bar area and restaurant with attentive staff and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Lorraine W wrote a review 13 Oct
Benfleet, United Kingdom280 contributions119 helpful votes
We had one nights stay but wish we could have more. We had a warm welcome from Diane who showed us to our room which was spacious, comfortable and quiet. It was a sunny afternoon when we arrived so we sat outside and had a drink, it was a spacious area with lovely plants and flowers. Though it was a busy Saturday night, the service was friendly and efficient. Our dinner the food was excellent and plentiful. So, nice we could have our dog with us, she just sat under the table when we had our meals. All the staff we met were friendly. Breakfast too was excellent and staff were friendly. We would definitely return to the Crown. Thank you to everyone for making it a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
heathermavis wrote a review 10 Oct
Colchester, United Kingdom76 contributions40 helpful votes
Firstly, I must say that food and service was exceptionally good and could not be faulted. Unfortunately, the restaurant did not feel covid-safe! It was incredibly busy and 'rammed' from door to door with far too many people sat on far too many tables for the area and space in question. Ventilation was inadequate, none of the staff were wearing masks and customers were free to wander around to the toilets etc without placing a mask on first. Mask wearing and appropriate ventilation are still evident and being requested of customers in most cafés, restaurants, shops etc, despite it no longer being a legal requirement, because most people realise that covid is still around, still highly contagious and still deadly for some! As an ex-nurse and a person who is immuno-compromised myself, I felt vulnerable and disappointed that a few simple strategies that could have been put in place, were not in place. Simple measures that would have enabled myself and others like me to enjoy my meal in a significantly safer environment were not being observed and because of that, I don't feel I can return here for another meal at the present time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We are taking every precaution that we are required to take to keep our staff and customers safe. Regular testing and hand and surface sanitising are standard. Obviously there are some customers who are particularly vulnerable and there is always the option to sit in our lovely covered terrace – still warm enough with heaters and blankets available but with plenty of ventilation. Ever since we re-opened, we have worked extremely hard to balance the needs of our customers with the efficient running of the business. I think a great many people are very glad to see that we are still flourishing and able to provide the kind of experience and service they have come to expect from The Crown.
Read more
Kelly P wrote a review 7 Oct
Gissing, United Kingdom23 contributions28 helpful votes
We arrived on an extremely wet afternoon but were greeted warmly by staff and shown to our lovely rooms. Once settled in we ventured back outside and a lovely touch was a container full of umbrellas - just what we needed. We ventured into the outside teepee and despite being the only ones in there the waiter was very welcoming and once he brought our first drinks returned to check we were okay. The teepee was magical, lights, blankets and heaters. We then returned to the main pub and were lucky enough to find seats by the fire. Whenever we wanted drinks we went to the bar but were told they would bring them over. All the staff in the bar area were very friendly and professional. Later on we were shown to our table and the food was excellent - it was very busy and we were impressed with the speed and quality of the food that arrived. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and offered a good nights rest. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and plenty of staff on duty to see to everyone. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - slightly disappointed we coudn't enjoy the beautiful gardens more but the weather was against us. Thank you to all the staff team.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 1 week ago
What a lovely review! I'm so glad you were able to enjoy the tipi - it really is a magical place and a great venue that will return to The Crown next summer. For Autumn through to Spring we have our fabulous covered terrace that will be further transformed into our festive Winter Garden at the end of November with all the Christmas touches you could wish for! For now, it's a great way to continue eating "outside" in comfort. It's such a shame that the weather wasn't on your side but I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Peppa01 wrote a review 4 Oct
Colchester43 contributions29 helpful votes
Arrived at the crown for a birthday meal, told the barman we had a table booked. His reply it’s that one over there, we were left to find our own table. We sat there waiting staff back and forth and nobody came to see if we wanted a drink. We had to try and grab a Barman’s attention so we could have a drink. Nobody came to take our food order. Again we had to find a member of staff. Nobody asked us if we would like another drink. After our starter and Main course nobody bought us the dessert menu Or even asked us if we wanted a dessert. It was very disappointed considering the prices. Let down by the staff or lack of.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Responded 1 week ago
I’m very sorry that your recent experience at The Crown fell short of the standards of service that we aim for and usually achieve. I take full responsibility for any shortcomings and would be very happy to address the individual issues with you. Please feel free to email me at gm@crowninn.net.
Read more
US$148 - US$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the crown stoke by nayland hotel stoke by nayland
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBabergh DistrictStoke by Nayland
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
Which popular attractions are close to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Nearby attractions include Dedham Art & Craft Centre (7.6 km), Splatkidz (7.8 km), and Blue Owl (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Angel Inn Restaurant, Old Bakery Cafe, and Yew Tree.
Is The Crown, Stoke By Nayland located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Stoke by Nayland.
Are there any historical sites close to The Crown, Stoke By Nayland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lavenham Guildhall (14.9 km), Flatford Mill (8.9 km), and Melford Hall (15.6 km).
Is The Crown, Stoke By Nayland accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.