We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Safari Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Safari Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Hastings-New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked ahead - no problem. Room -(studio double) quite adequate in size. Being near road, and rail was quite aware that there would be road noise, so no problem there. Room appeared very clean, but hubby wiped water from floor in bathroom with white bathmat - ..... not so clean! Placed towels in shower tub -as requested for replacement. At...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a very reasonable motel price wise . We only need to put our heads down for the night and it was good for that. Can't comment on the food. Nice queen bed.,The room was clean and the tv was good. Handy to town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raylee M
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This place has changed hands and while we were regular customers in the past, we will not be staying here again with the new ownership. I booked a room by phone for a Thursday evening and provided the owner with my phone number and credit card details. When we arrived the manager (not the owner) told us that there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
Management response:

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. Regret that the standard of service didn’t meet your expectations. To clarify a few points- 1. The charge made for Tuesday booking was not communicated by calling you was because we get self check in guest at all hours of night. To make the self check in process faster we charge the card...

Famagusta, Famagusta, Cyprus
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Just stayed here for a month. 1 bedroom apartment ideal, and because the bedroom was at the back no noise from the road. The apartment had everything we needed. Bed really comfy, towels and linen lovely. Grounds were good and looked after well. New owner trying to improve and looking after it well, new manager struggling a bit, but new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
Management response:

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. Happy to let you know that finally we managed to get the wifi problem resolved. The change of cable during your stay that got stapled didn’t solve the problem because the access point needed to be replaced too. It arrived today and it is all fixed...

Whitianga, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We were looking for somewhere to break our journey between Wellington and the Coromandel, where we could have our greyhound with us. This seemed to fit the bill. Check-in was efficient and friendly. The room was basic, and although there were plates and a microwave oven and an electric fry-pan, there was nowhere to wash any dishes. We have significant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
Management response:

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. Great to know that you found the bed to be comfortable. The dishes are washed in the dishwasher in the staff kitchen and replaced at the time of servicing or make up. We are working on the noise level and hoping the speed level will be reduced from existing 70KPH to 50KPH. We...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This Motel being right on Highway 1 is an ideal place to break your journey. Check-in was efficiently and courteously carried out. The room was quite small but comfortably furnished and very clean. Good quality linen and towels were supplied. The unit was well equipped with utensils, plates etc and there was a generous supply of tea and coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diob255114
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Taihape is a small town and I believe the motels are all on the main street. We always ask for a quiet room as we are light sleepers. The staff member was very kind and he did his best to accommodate our request. However, as the motel is on the main road, it is just a matter of more noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P A
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I had a comfortable and relaxing stay I was impressed with the excellent hospitality of the owner and the cleanliness of the studio that I stayed in. I would definitely recommend this motel to family and friends. I also enjoyed a dip in the spa pool that was available after a long trip on the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ngawai R
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This motel is embracing the new generation of checking in. CHECK IN KIOSK. No hassle, type your details put your credit card and walla the key drops. AWESOME room. SKY tv, free internet.The shower was the best. This place has my 5 stars. My salute to the owner who thought of the late night kiosk. Its a life saver for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hossain76
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Motel owner was so offended that we asked what his policy on cancellation... we only asked and wondering. We decided to stay when he told us cancellation fee is 100% (our mistake, sorry we asked) The Motel owner charged $300 on my Credit Card for damages. Which he claimed as broken light switch and dried feces stain on their sheet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThingsUnseen
Management response:

I am quite surprised with your review, although I recall your threat to blackmail us with a bad review unless the money was refunded to you but I did not expect you to lie in your review. You or your partner threatened at the time when you asked for a penalty free cancellation and was visibly furious when the penalty...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taihape hotels
0.0 km away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
383 reviews
1.7 km away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
28 reviews
0.0 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
175 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located by the foothill of Mt Stewart Reserve almost halfway between Auckland and Wellington, Safari Motel, Taihape offers all that you could ask for without breaking your bank. The only motel in town to offer Sky 50+ channels and the comfort unexpected in the price range. Come and enjoy your break with us and see what Taihape has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Safari Motel

Address: 18 Mataroa Road, Taihape 4720, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Price Range: $86 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Safari Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Safari Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great restaurant over the road. Good location, although traffic noise to be expected.”
 of 5 bubbles margaretbO6733AN, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“1 bedroom apartment bedroom quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JanetF496, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One wouldn't expect luxury, but nothing at all was amiss and I did in fact find it quite luxurious!”
 of 5 bubbles paulinebC3320MN, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pick any room, you are in for a comfy stay”
 of 5 bubbles Akhil_Wellington, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask for one well away from the truck park.”
 of 5 bubbles BronwynH419, 8 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5