We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 195: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In a previous review I rated the venue highly as well as the location. Following a recent stay I wish to issue an update specifically for anybody with a health condition affecting their mobility ! The rooms are located in the grounds in a complex annexe with three floors and long corridors. Unfortunately there are no lifts so when booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
oxford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used the library and anteroom for a wake following a funeral at the Church of St Peter and St Paul. The Abbey was very convenient, easy to find and had ample parking. However the reason for an excellent review is more to do with the staff, they did an excellent job whilst at the same time being unobtrusive. At...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdo001
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I was so disappointed I booked in here the rooms are like shoeboxes and the bathroom had hairs in the shower and shaving remains in top of the shaving point. The rooms are single glazed so you here every noise from outside. Unless you are a conference guest you don't matter you can only dine in the bar with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alecrenwick
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Beautiful peaceful location as well back from road with large grounds to wander around. There is also a walled garden to visit during the week. The room was warm and bed comfortable, with a view over the pond in the coach house. Food and service was good and there is a bar and restaurant for meals. The main building is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed yesterday and my room was a disgrace. I have tried posting my experience on their Facebook page but keeps being deleted. I complained about my room and did get moved. But the second room was just as dirty. See pics.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent visit to Missenden Abbey. It was our Duty Manager that helped and assisted you on the night of your check in and it was myself that spoke to you the following day to offer my sincerest apologies on the experience that you had...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Stayed for two nights, but only because there was nowhere else available. The rooms are tired, shabby, and tiny. The bed was uncomfortable. Awful nights sleep as the walls are paper thin and it felt like I was sharing with next door. This is more like student accommodation. The main building (used for advertising) is impressive on the outside, uninviting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 797welltravelled
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. Thank you for the feedback regarding your bedroom, to which I agree with you that the bedrooms and smaller than your average and the walls could be...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Cold, so cold ! No heating in the room and no alternative offered Rooms are shabby and dirty, whole place is tired. Quite cheap but to be honest my car is more comfortable Unless you're desperate just best avoid this place It's like the owners really don't care

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rich190_10
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am disappointed to hear about your experience and I believe that our General Manager has contacted you directly. We await your response and would certainly like to discuss your stay and this review with you further.

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Missenden Abbey is situated in the Buckinghamshire countryside. It is a accommodation and conference centre situated in extensive as well as beautifully landscaped grounds. The whole complex is built around the original abbey. Reception is sited in the old abbey and on entry is extensive as well as breathtaking with its medieval style and vaulted ceilings. The lounge bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Please follow us on Facebook/ Twitter for the latest offers and events. We would love to see you again soon.

Tralee, Ireland
Reviewed 3 September 2016

The place was nice and clean but the food you could not eat at all complained didnt eat fat all over plate you could squeeze the fat out off the food, when i showed the waiter my hand was covered in grease never seen such bad food have traveled the world Could recommend food in the village

 Report
Helpful?
Thank facebook533
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay here at the abbey. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. I will investigate the feedback that you have left regarding the food, to which I was very surprised to read. We make it a high...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Beautiful location, great conference venue and some great local attractions e.g. Roald Dahl museum, cross keys pub. I had the advantage of a very sunny day however the grounds are lovely as us the overall location and the staff were very attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen6422013
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the grounds in the sunshine. Please do keep us in mind for your next potential meeting and overnight stay.

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Missenden
4.3 km away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
281 reviews
7.1 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
671 reviews
10.5 km away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
411 reviews
7.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
329 reviews
8.3 km away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Address: London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Great Missenden
Price Range: $104 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Missenden Abbey Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Hotel Great Missenden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Missenden Abbey Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Missenden Abbey Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If mobility is challenging requires a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles 294allanp, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 797welltravelled, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“yes very nice coachhouse”
 of 5 bubbles facebook533, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask about rooms with good sound proofing”
 of 5 bubbles Geordiemax, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are the same. on 2 floors (No lift)”
 of 5 bubbles paulbee2015, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay