We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bukela Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bukela Game Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of Bukela Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The accomodation at Bukela Lodge was first class. We stayed in one of the luxury tents. The facilities and staff were excellent. Our ranger did hid upmost to ensure we saw as much wildlife as possible. Unfortunately a heavy storm prevented access to the lower parts of the reserve for the final two drives. However prior to that we saw...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
High Peak
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful 3 nights here at the luxurious bukela lodge. Warm welcome from staff who welcomed us with a fab braii and african cultural evening of music and tribal dance. All staff wonderful and Excellent food cooked by first class chefs. Amazing wildlife guided by expert ranger! Hi light of our 5 week trip around the cape.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susangL1408KG
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

We are extremely happy to hear we were a highlight of your trip around the Cape and that you enjoyed your Bukela safari experience so much! We hope that you left Bukela and the Cape with some cherished memories. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and especially for mentioning our staff's efforts. We have a wonderful...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a full day of travelling we arrived at the fantastic Bukela lodge and were promptly greeted with a brief but informative tour of the grounds and refreshing drink. The site itself compromised of a main game lodge with 2 new tented rooms (more later!) and around 5 or 6 circular lodges. We stayed in a new tented room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for such a fantastic and detailed review, and for joining us at Bukela Game Lodge! We really do appreciate all the time it took you to write down your experience, this review will surely be extremely helpful to fellow travelers and it has been a wonderful read for us. We are thrilled to hear you...

manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights. Huge room with a view of a watering hole where we saw wart hogs and kudu coming for a drink. There is a small pool, which is rather refreshing to say the least. Comfy sunbeds and attentive staff bringing out cold drinks. Remember the all inclusive. The game drives were lovely and our driver was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bj_webster
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, we're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are passionate about providing the best safari experience within a natural setting, and it's a truly wonderful thing to share this with our guests. Janco is an extremely talented ranger and his enthusiasm shows in his drives, we'll be sure to pass...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found Amakhala to be a really delightful place,everything was done to make our stay perfect.We stayed in one of the Safari Tents,quite luxurious,with huge bath,outdoor shower,and massive bed,sofa and chairs,with patio to soak up a remarkable experience. Food,excellent,from early breakfast before the first game Drive,to brunch,high tea,and finally evening dinner. The game wardens are fantastic and very knowledgeable,ours was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chazzer124
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. Our tents were carefully designed to experience the immediacy of the African bush without compromising on comfort so we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of them! Your lovely feedback is such a joy to read, we'll be sure to pass this on to our team. We...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Bukela lodge for our honeymoon. We found the accommodation very nice and the safari trips were excellent. However, we were disappointed in a couple of things. Firstly, we were promised champagne as we were on our honeymoon which never materialised. Secondly and more pertinently, the owner's wife joined us for dinner on one occasion and was very rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic2404
100roaringlions, Public Relations Manager at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Your balanced feedback helped us to see that there are some areas we could make improvements on, although it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the accommodation and game drives. We hope you have had a chance since you’ve been travelling to read the private message left for...

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic lodge with brilliant staff and a perfect place for peace, tranquillity and game drives. Wella1 was incredibly helpful and Janco, our game drive guide, most obviously lives for his animals and was passionate, conscientious and knowledgeable about all of them - from the humble Leopard Tortoise to the magnificent elephants. Being surrounded by the herd one quiet evening is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkV1958
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mark, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! You seem to have capture Bukela brilliantly: 'peace, tranquility and game drives.' It really is such an out of this world experience being surrounded by an entire herd of elephants, we are really glad that you had the chance to experience this. We will...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had immediately a very nice feeling once arriving at the lodge. Reality was better than pictures!! For us was a relaxing stop over during our road trip from Cape Town to Durban. Very welcoming and professional check in, very nice loge, we like the style, simple according to the site which is naturally gorgeous and does not need any...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcopW6251ZG
100roaringlions, Public Relations Manager at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Marc, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We're really glad you chose Bukela as your stop between Durban and Cape Town and managed to experience the wonderful Amakhala Game Reserve. We'll be sure to pass on your compliments to the team, it really makes our efforts all the more worthwhile hearing such great feedback. Thanks for the...

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We spent 3nights in Bukela lodge at the end of our honeymoon and it was truly the highlight of our trip. The lodge and safari drives were just brilliant and our ranger Vuyani was so knowledgeable and great fun. Despite the early starts we thoroughly enjoyed the 5 safari drives we went on &got to see the big 5! There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livs85
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We really love hosting honeymoon couples, the lodge is designed to give you an intimate experience in the African bush and our staff pride themselves on ensuring everyone is always happy. We'll be sure to pass on your compliment to Vuyani and the...

Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Bukela Game Lodge is a great option close to Port Elizabeth, particulalry when you are not in the position to visit one of the big game parks. Amakhala Game reserve is a small but aceeptable alternative while Bukela Lodge is a great place to stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul803
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bukela. You're right, the Amakhala is a smaller reserve, which allows us to provide a more intimate safari experience for our guests. We are thrilled to hear you decided to visit us and hope you'll visit us again soon....

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
21.8 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
331 reviews
2.5 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
284 reviews
7.8 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
219 reviews
1.5 km away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
144 reviews
23.8 km away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bukela Game Lodge Is A 5-Star Luxury Lodge In The 7 500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape South Africa. Accommodation at this tranquil game lodge is provided in four suites, each individually styled in African simplicity while never compromising on luxury. This secluded safari destination is tucked away into indigenous trees and bushes at the top of a hidden valley and has the perfect setting for the intimate and romantic guest experiences for which we are renowned. Connected by a wooden walkway, our thatched suites offer a remarkable private wildlife-viewing experience. Savour a crisp glass of wine in your sun-soaked spa bath, opening onto trees alive with birdsong. Indulge in sumptuous high teas, private candlelit dinners or exciting fireside boma dinners under African stars. And as you fall asleep, hear the silence broken by the unmistakeable sounds of elephant and buffalo making their stately progress through the unfenced camp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bukela Game Lodge

Address: R342 Karel Landman Rd | off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $681 - $1,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bukela Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bukela Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukela Game Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bukela Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bukela Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Newly built luxury tented rooms are amazing”
  • Excellently finished bathroom (shower is just round the corner)
  • View from our luxury tent
  • All you need and finished to an excellent standard
 of 5 bubbles 128samanthal, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Safari tents are proper glamping.”
 of 5 bubbles Chazzer124, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best Safari”
 of 5 bubbles gregorylives, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are fabulous, but they do have a couple of huge luxury tents that are in a more elevated position which might be nice too.”
 of 5 bubbles Geekywife, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite was lovely, tall four poster bed, furthest away from reception. Loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles garvangallagher, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5