We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hlosi Game Lodge

CancelonUS$487*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$570*
US$487*
Great Deal
US$561*
US$561*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hlosi Game Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
Start your review of Hlosi Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a short one hour drive from Port Elizabeth. We did the day safari. The safari was excellent with a very knowledgeable guide. There are both lions and cheetah in the reserve. Saw the lions but not cheetah. Lunch was excellent. Well worth a visit if not a stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank noelh701
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are really glad to hear you enjoyed the food and service. All of our rangers are very talented, it sounds like you had some great viewings with him. We hope you'll visit again! Wishing you all the best, the Bailey Family and Hlosi team

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I waited 70 years to experience the closeness and freedom of the animals that is possible at Hlosi. Driving through the early morning mist and seeing many animals becoming clear as we approached them was to be remembered as was the silence of being next to a heard of 21 elephants passing by. A pride of lions basking in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_B186273
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi John, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hlosi Game Lodge and would recommend us! It means so much to the whole team to hear such positive feedback. We'll certainly pass on your wonderful compliments to the team. We would love to welcome...

Sint Maartensdijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first thing you see when entering the lodge you see an old building with walls broken down and a few beams sticking out. That puts you off when arriving at the place... The accommodation is the opposite though. We had the most ignorant game driver you can imagine, but that does not reflect to the friendlyness of everybode else....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leendertv2017
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a balanced review. We appreciate hearing back from our guests about what we have done well and where we may have dropped the ball a bit. We're glad to hear that you found our lodge to be a great place to stay! We hope to see you again soon. All...

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights and had a wonderful time. Relaxed atmosphere. Cottages were very nice and spacious. Great food and drinks. Game drives were wonderful. We saw many animals. Nice touch stopping during each drive for refreshments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank portermbr
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during your two nights with us and that you were able to see many animals on the game drives. We strive to ensure that our guests feel relaxed and leave with many great memories! We hope to see you again...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were extremely lucky to be able to stay at two private game reserves in the Eastern Cape. We stayed 2 nights Kariega then 2 nights Hlosi Lodge. Hlosi is a smaller place with a colonial feel. When it is raining the communal areas can seem a bit cramped with not too many places to sit but when the weather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J H
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to write a such a valuable review. We are thrilled to hear you all enjoyed your stay at Hlosi Game Lodge and found our family suite to be a good choice for your accommodation needs. We really appreciate hearing the balanced feedback you have given us, we strive to achieve...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great game Lodge not too far from Port Elizabeth. Make sure you check in within time to catch the afternoon Game Drive - 3pm in Autumn/winter and 4pm in summer. We nearly missed it as not made aware it left at 3pm. The general information tells you to check in anytime between 2pm and 5pm. Our accommodation was lovely (chalet...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Wendy, thank you very much for the review. We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit, we hope you left Hlosi with some very happy family memories. Thank you for your suggestions on where we can put extra focus into, as well as for the recommendation to other families. We hope to see you again soon!...

Woking Surrey
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We had three nights at Hlosi and loved it. The check in was a little confusing but once we were shown to our luxury tent all was well. Tents very spacious with wooden floors huge bed amazing views and big bathroom with outdoor shower. The tent is raised off the floor and has decking surrounding two sides and is totally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank badgercat
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review! We're really glad to hear you enjoyed staying in our luxury tents. They have been an exciting addition to our lodge and it's wonderful to hear such positive feedback. It sounds like you had some great viewings from the deck, as well as during the game drives! It's such a wonderful pleasure to...

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hlosi lodge at the beginning of April. Food was delicious, especially breakfast on our return from safari at 10am. The safari guide was Megan who provided excellent commentary and also made a special effort to locate giraffes and lions. Her rapport with guests was down to earth and highly knowledgeable. We were all pleased...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, thank you so much for your kind review! It sounds like you had a great safari experience! We'll pass on your compliments to Megan and the rest of the Hlosi team. We couldn’t agree more, 3 nights is the perfect length of time to really take in all that the Amakhala has to offer. We hope you'll visit...

Amakhala Game Reserve
Reviewed 6 April 2017

This was our first safari and it was a great experience. We particularly liked how the rangers tracked and controlled the viewing. For instance, if another jeep was close and we were watching a particular animal then that jeep would ask permission to join. If two jeeps were already present then they were told to holdback until one of the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 577jacquit
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We aim to capture the very essence of an African safari and our team works hard to create a memorable experience for each of our guests. That being said we're so happy you chose Hlosi for your first safari experience, and so very pleased you found the experience super! We’re glad to hear that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

I don't dish out the 5 stars often; if I could give 6 I would do here for Hlosi Game Lodge. We stayed 2 nights in a luxury tent; the veranda on the tent affords an awesome stargazing experience as there's little light pollution. Food wise you won't go hungry; the quality of the food is on a par (and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Peter, What a lovely and descriptive review, thank you so much for writing it! It makes us extremely happy to hear back from our guests and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you had such a great experience! We'll pass on your compliments to lucky and the rest of the Hlosi team. All...

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (340)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (238)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
6.1 km away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
356 reviews
2.5 km away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
219 reviews
10.3 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
230 reviews
3.7 km away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
151 reviews
6.5 km away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hlosi Game Lodge Offers 4-Star Family-Friendly Safari Trips In The 7 500 ha Malaria-Free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape South Africa. Hlosi Game Lodge is a small 6-room game lodge in Addo, near the city of Port Elizabeth offering rich wild life game-viewing and luxurious game lodge accommodation for the whole family. Our six suites lie along a gentle curve of hill above a river plain, and offer wide-open views from your private deck. The main lodge includes elegant lounge and dining areas, and a hard-to-leave bar overlooking the swimming pool and waterhole. With only six suites, Hlosi offers a unique, intimate safari trip with personal game viewing experiences. We're privileged to be able to share our love for conservation, food and life with you. Our four double suites and two 2-roomed family suites may also be booked exclusively as an intimate venue for small team-building events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hlosi Game Lodge

Address: R342 Landman Road | Off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $424 - $1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlosi Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hlosi Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hlosi Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hlosi Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would go for a tent it just makes more sense in the game reserve”
  • Bath with a view
  • room with a view
badgercat, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 overlooks the watering hole”
Mustangsally41, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Your own breathing and the birds are the loudest things .....”
talglider, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“have a tent always”
Bignige53, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for a lodge as the tents were cold at night and in the early mornings”
janetony2015, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$487* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$561
Orbitz.comUS$561
Booking.comUS$570
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates