We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel

LateRooms.comUS$43*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$59*
US$43*
US$59*
US$59*
US$43*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

my wife and i stayed here this weekend the hotel was ok and the staff were quite friendly. In the early hours of the morning the fire alarm sounded . so we dressed very quickly and went outside and assembled with the rest of the guests. we stayed outside for about 40 minutes and no one from the hotel appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Arnside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very limited choice on the menu, only about 4 starters, one vegetarian dish listed. The excuse for the limited choice was due to them changing over to the new summer menu. Food was not good standard Father in law had rump steak which was tough to cut, fajitas were very spicy, to appoint my dish was enablable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markawilkinson
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a good offer for this hotel £55 per night, bed and breakfast so decided to book a couple of nights here. We wanted to walk some of the Lancaster Canal which ran behind the hotel so it sounded ideal. At that price we weren't expect anything very salubrious. However, the staff were very friendly and accommodating and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tracey M, Thanks for the review. The rooms are very reasonably priced as we are currently upgrading them. We are pleased you enjoyed our food and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend of mine and I stayed at The Royal for a couple of nights while we were attending a course being held a couple of miles down the road. As food was provided at the course venue, we didn't eat at the Royal, so can't comment on the food. We found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjk928
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi rjk928 Thanks for the review. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and like you say the price reflects. We are pleased you found the Royal nice and clean and we hope that you do choose to dine with us next time.

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were on holiday in this area for the week and had done our homework on places to eat when we got there. The Royal Hotel looked good for Wednesdays Steak sizzler night and for Fish Friday. Firstly sizzler night was off, apparently a new menu being the cause. Fish Friday was on but nothing to let us know what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne311247
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Anne311247 We are sorry to have received your review. We did explain to you that we were having some staffing and menu issues when you visited. We hope that you call in again when you're next on holiday. We now have a new chef and new menus will be out soon.

Cumbria
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We stopped here on Saturday for lunch.My Husband said it was the best steak pie he had had in a pub as usually it is in a dish with puff pastry top but this was a proper short rust pie.The chips were proper and a side dish of veg.I had the hot pot equally good and we finished off with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank audreyCumbria
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello audreyCumbria Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review! We're especially pleased you had dessert as 25p from each one is donated to CancerCare our local charity. We do sometimes question some reviews ourselves!! We know we try hard to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. We'd love to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

I'm very sorry to say that we had a terrible meal here a week ago they sent out burn food most of it the wrong meal a sad effort complained as were several other tables at the same time and the waitresses were lovely so sad as 2 weeks before had one of the best meals ever in here. Don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin John H
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kevin John H We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal here with us on this occasion. We have since employed a new chef and we think your Mum's birthday meal did take place here this weekend and we were happy to receive many compliments. Please call in again soon - we have our new Spring/Summer menus out...

South Yorkshire
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We chose the Royal as it was close to the venue of a party we were attending. The price was reasonable. The room was warm and clean although quite basic. The hotel was comfortable and the food was excellent. Overall it was fine apart from the fact that there was no hot water for the shower - tepid at best....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wickedstepmum
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello wickedstepmum We're sorry you experienced a tepid shower - that issue is now resolved. Our staff do try very hard to be friendly and helpful so thanks for pointing that out. As you say the price is very reasonable and we are currently upgrading our rooms so please stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night, room was basic but clean, and only charged £39 so had realistic expectations. It needed a lick of paint and better lights in the bathroom, plus the rad in the bathroom couldn't be switched off so the room was very hot, and being on a main road meant there was a bit of road noise through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ty B
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review TY B We are currently upgrading all our rooms. Please visit us again soon.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Went to the royal hotel for tea was disappointed. We was served rather quickly but bar man had no idea about cask ales,for my partner I had a coke. We looked at the menu and choose our meals and ordered at the bar setting up a tab. We had the two pate.tjis was rather nice but the salad was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynn r

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton le Sands
6.4 km away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
6.5 km away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
104 reviews
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
262 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
6.7 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel is a traditional pub offering a warm welcome, good home cooked food and comfortable en-suite accommodation. Located in the small village of Bolton Le Sands overlooking the canal, the Royal Hotel is ideally situated to explore the Historic City of Lancaster, Kendal, Lune Valley and the natural beauty of the Lake District National Park. The Royal itself offers excellent dining facilities with an extensive main menu and a daily specials board, a large selection of cask ales and wines are also available to compliment your meal alongside good old fashioned hospitality. The traditional inn also boasts a large beer garden by the canal, a sports bar showing all the latest sporting events and free WiFi - the perfect way to relax after a long day exploring the local area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 27 Main Road, Bolton le Sands LA5 8DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bolton le Sands
Price Range: $67 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A quiet room at the back of the hotel as it is situated on a busy road.”
maureenjagger, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 2 and 3 have an interconnecting door. Whilst the door is generally locked, sound transmits through the door.”
rjk928, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 3 at the back of the hotel with no view and a bit noisy at times.”
wickedstepmum, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are staying overnight, book ahead. They don't have many rooms and can be booked up well in advance. No personal experience of rooms.”
591lizl, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you stay there do not have room 3.”
JYJT, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$43* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$59
TripAdvisorUS$43
Booking.comUS$59
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates