We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Chester-Le-Street

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was very well placed and on a major road ideal for all sorts of visiting requirements. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome.it has obviously just been upgraded with new décor and fittings. Definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Q8133VDdavidw
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for the first time instead of other hotels (being full) but will be returning. Was greeted with a big smile and politeness, customer service was great throughout my two night stay. The rooms were perfect, clean and well kept and everything you could want.

Helpful?
Thank SteveHyde387
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A quick visit to family and we stayed here as we always do. Nothing to complain about. Rooms are decent. Staff are very friendly and helpful! All round happy with the service and will definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Jowillisaja
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our Chester-Le-Street Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your helpful experience with us. We encourage all our staff to work hard towards providing the best experience possible for each guest, so we are delighted to hear that our team members were able to make your stay more enjoyable. We aim... More 

York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for two nights November 2016. The hotel Is very dated decor wise and for our stay the heating didn't work leading to storage heaters being given out in the rooms. Our shower didn't work and you had to turn it on and wait for around 3 minutes for the dribble to turn into running water. This place could do... More 

Helpful?
Thank GarethFoster45
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel. More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location nearby Durham, easy to park and easy to access, same grounds as a lovely pub. We stayed with older parents and found easy to access the bedrooms . We wiil stay here next time. The travel to Durham was only 10-15 minutes and the hotel is nearby shopping malls

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank aninhaflores
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really good little travel lodge behind the Church mouse pub and restaurant. Large clean rooms no road noise and a pub next door excellent, we stayed here instead of the hotels in Durham and were pleasantly surprised. Only ten minutes outside the city and in a peaceful location we had the best of both worlds.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank U5173VHannef
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean, well presented and well kept room and building in general. Friendly, nice staff. Good location. Good parking. Pub next door serving great food, beer and breakfast. Best travelodge I have tried.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Adam L
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear your room was clean and comfortable during your recent stay with us at our Chester-Le-Street Travelodge, please allow us to thank you for your kind comments. We aim to provide a lovely stay for all of our guests and we're so pleased this was delivered by the hotel team. Thank you for your review, we will... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were at a surprise party around 10 minutes away. Our room was a fantastic size and well equipped with quality furniture. Staff were friendly and ordered us taxis with ease. Not a peep was heard at night, so all in all a great place to stay. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Luke D
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are so pleased to see this has been achieved. We will ensure that your comments are passed to the hotel manager so we can ensure that all our guests enjoy the same experience as you and we thank you again... More 

Burton on Trent
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for 3 nights whilst visiting family. Hotel was clean and tidy with a spacious room on the ground floor. The only time reception was manned was on our arrival and departure although in fairness we had no need to use. It is attached to a restaurant which is handy for drinks/food etc however can create a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Butch316
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester-Le-Street, responded to this review

Please allow us to thank you for sharing your review of our Chester-Le-Street Travelodge with us. We're pleased to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and you experienced a great sleep, however we would like to apologise that you were unable to lie in due to the noise from doors closing. We will be sure to pass your... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

family room was advertised as 2 kingsize beds but kids were actually given 2 pop up single beds which had low quality mattresses. Suggest you check before you book on this matter. Otherwise room was ok. Wouldve liked a view but the window was too high to look out. Quiet enough even with window open, despite the location on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank campingisbetter

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
2.8 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,845 reviews
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
6.7 km away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 19 in Durham
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
671 reviews
0.0 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
96 reviews
7.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester-Le-Street

Address: Great North Road | Chester Moor, Chester-le-Street DH2 3RJ, England (Formerly Church Mouse Vintage Inn (Innkeeper's Lodge Durham North))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Chester-Le-Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street Hotel Chester-Le-Street
Church Mouse Vintage Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Chester-Le-Street staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Chester-Le-Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter at the rear. Check details on family rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles campingisbetter, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“At the back of the hotel on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles C3C4, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the hotel are probably quieter than those at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles gmking, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had ground floor and n problem with noise”
 of 5 bubbles 743jackm, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A room at the back of the hotel might allow for the window to be open and not hear the traffic. Road was quiet over night.”
 of 5 bubbles hillbabe, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay