We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lambton Arms

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Lambton Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Lambton Arms
 Click to rate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I had lunch here, we both chose a sandwich and chips which was cheap and cheerful, the place was pleasant and comfortable, the staff were friendly, it was quiet so we were served quickly and didn't wait long for our food order, I will definitely return for lunch again in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rach979
Reviewed 10 April 2017

something in the booking system clearly failed---my advice is to double check BEFORE you travel. It is a poor reflection on trip advisor that someone can travel hundreds of miles with a reference number and having given credit card details...only to find upon arrival that there is no electronic record at the hotel of choice. I felt very let down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Having visited for i night out i made a complaint about rude bar staff. The manager is not fit to manage a pig sty. Avoid at all costs. Also the toilets are disgusting and not fit for purpose. Carpets are very dirty

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darren r
tyne and wear
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I've visited this bar over the last 2 weekends and had a really good night. The first time was on a friday and we saw a brilliant reggae/ska band called 'Third beat drop'. The music was fantastic and the range from Bob Marley to The beat, to old time ska music were all played with enthusiasm and skill. We ended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TyneAndWearColumbus
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Horrible horrible place staff don't care only interested in taking money customer service non existent avoid like the plague horrible place dirty staff don't care ignore you unless you have a great look about you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigshildon
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, it is however unfortunate that you don't mention why the staff ignored you. You were not served as you were shouting and being rude to a young female member of staff as you felt you were not being served quick enough. When the deputy manager spoke to you regarding your behaviour you said that unless...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Would like to say it was a total let down very disappointed with the service extremely slow food very unsatisfactory I had turkey stuff with stuffing and wrapped in bacon which wasn't cooked enough Yorkshire pudding uneatable that was the first time we have been out for Christmas lunch needless to say won't be doing it again total disappointment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your Christmas lunch. Its a shame that you didn't bring these issues to our attention at the time as we would have hopefully been able to rectify them. We served 150 Christmas Day lunches and we were not aware of any issues on the day and this...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Very surprised cracking Sunday lunch would recommend it to everyone lovely excellent portion size , there was more than enough beef give it a go have stayed in the hotel but it is cheap enough decent pint as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We already knew about the superb food at the Lambton Arms , and our wedding meals didn't disappoint . The 3 course meal was excellent and the vegetarian options were well received too . The function room was perfect , bar , dance floor , excellent evening buffet and resident DJ . Liz and her staff managed the whole occasion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david b
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Lambton for the 1st time over the weekend. It's a great value for money pub with some hotel rooms. The pub is clean and tidy with good food and drinks. The hotel rooms are large and clean and beds comfortable. There's a little bit of noise from the pub but that was expected as I read that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dezplews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

A busy weekend with "Toon" football on, people arriving to stay overnight for the Great North Run. The staff took time to serve everyone in a warm and welcoming manner. The Manager was brilliant sorting out our issues, easily sorted. Food was good value for money, beer was far far better than the poor stuff you get down south. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan J

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
1.4 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,009 reviews
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.6 km away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
738 reviews
4.7 km away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
9.0 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Price Range: $78 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lambton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lambton Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Big bedrooms, easy access”
966alanj, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 1, executive double room. Very nice room”
Jimlee4, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“As close to the library as possible to be away from the music in the bar below. Free parking in the rear carpark.”
Biffo4444, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Not near the main street.A bit noisy Get a room at the side or at the rear”
TTFan3d, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Front facing rooms are on main bus route (6am start). Quieter rooms at the rear.”
Aly_Kat362, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
LateRooms.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates