We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lambton Arms

LateRooms.comUS$48*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Lambton Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lambton Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Visited here for brunch. Not happy 1 breakfast 1 steak sandwich 1 tuna wrap with sweet potato fries and 1 jacket potato. The breakfast was so greasy it made my partner ill for the remainder of the day. Steak sandwich wasn't much to write home about and the sweet potato fries that came with the wrap were full of greasy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemh23
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food you received. Although you state other people were complaining about the food, I can only take it that you didn't complain as you don't mention speaking to anyone and we have no record of your complaint at the pub.

Reviewed 19 July 2016

We had our wedding do upstairs here, must say the dj made the night quickly cottoning on to our requests for more Rock/Punk/Ska music than the usual wedding fayre, never sat down. The food was good and just about polished off. Only downside was the temperature, they could really do with some air conditioning especially when your'e diving around on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

A friend and I stayed for two nights and had breakfast and evening meals. Meals were delicious, particularly the chips! Breakfast full English, cereal and toast with tea or coffee for £5. Easy place for trains and buses. Pleasant,friendly and helpful staff. rooms clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Willcp16
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Can't fault the Lambton Arms for value! Stayed one night on business and looking for somewhere close to train station and this was ideal, less than 5 minutes walk from Chester-le-street station. Room was large and spotlessly clean, lovely bathroom with power shower and bath, lashings of hot water. Large double bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimlee4
yorkshire
Reviewed 2 June 2016

A long drive in testing conditions, I just wanted to settle in and unwind. In trying to check in, I was required to pay up front – no problem, except that their card machine either was not working or its use not understood. I thus could not pay by credit card and they would not give me the key to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike707
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review - in respect to your points, we had no other issues with accepting anyone else's credit card or debit card payments either before or after you checked in so maybe the issue was with your cards. I'm not certain why you had to go out into the rain to get cash as within 10...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Visiting family and friends for the first time this year. Decided to have a few drinks in the town centre, was unsure about visiting again after a disappointing visit last time but everything about the place has been much improved. Can't wait to go back next time I visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here many times & " it does what it says on the tin " its clean,staff are friendly,food is fine,the only thing that is a bit shabby is the carpet on the rear entrance to the hotel stairs ( threadbare & dirty ) however you get what you pay for

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mazmik89
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a conference and had the pleasure of staying at The Lambton overnight, after a weary day I found checking in very easy and I was stunned at the size of my room and the ensuite bathroom. After freshening up I ventured downstairs for a meal which was excellent value and came piping hot, I must say...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LeeDag
North East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

I was attending a function and wasn't sure whether to stay the night,i decided i would,very good room rate,i arrived at the bar to check in,very friendly barman,checked me in,he showed me to room.the room was a double very spacious,and the bathroom was huge very clean,i ventured downstairs had a bar meal,very reasonable prices and the burger was delicious,the night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teesside1
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

I have visited this pub on many an occasion due to it being local. It is well decorated but unfortunately the food is quite average. It's not a terrible place to eat but most of the food - that myself, friends and family have ever ordered - doesn't appear to be cooked from scratch. Most of the staff seem friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nvaskelton
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Lambton Arms, it is disappointing that the table was not cleared promptly once you had finished your meal. In respect to your claim that the food doesn't appear to be cooked from scratch, I can confirm that most of our food is cooked fresh to order, our meat is supplied fresh by a...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
1.4 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,006 reviews
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.6 km away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
738 reviews
4.7 km away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
9.0 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Price Range: $78 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lambton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lambton Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Big bedrooms, easy access”
966alanj, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 1, executive double room. Very nice room”
Jimlee4, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“As close to the library as possible to be away from the music in the bar below. Free parking in the rear carpark.”
Biffo4444, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Not near the main street.A bit noisy Get a room at the side or at the rear”
TTFan3d, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Front facing rooms are on main bus route (6am start). Quieter rooms at the rear.”
Aly_Kat362, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$48* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$48
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates