We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Eskdale Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Eskdale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Eskdale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Booked here for an impromptu overnight away with the husband and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. Great parking availability outside, warm welcome at reception, reception and communal areas were decorated to a high standard and were very pleasant, lovely clean room (little tight on space but well laid out) clean and fresh en suite bathroom. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsZCM
John G, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us recently, we were so happy you found everything to your liking and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Langholm and the Eskdale Hotel. Regards John

Hucknall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

The hotel is located on the A7 main road and has secondary glazing so you hear the lorries travelling by from very early in the morning until late at night. That is a shame as the hotel is located well for the borders region and the breakfast and evening meals were very good. We would stay again but hope maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
John G, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, We were glad you enjoyed your stay and found the food good, Sorry your sleep was not peaceful with some noise from traffic on the main road, when you next visit please call us and we will ensure you are allocated a room at the rear to avoid any noise...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We were awarded a free night away from Skipton Building Society. We were going to Dumfries and Galloway for a few days, so thought it would be nice to extend it by another day. The Eskdale Hotel was on the list, so we booked it as our last day in Scotland. We were not disappointed. The twin room was lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
John G, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, We were delighted to read you loved your stay and found the breakfast to be amazing. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards John

Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Many years since I ate in this hotel. It has been tastefully renovated . We had a bar lunch in very pleasant surroundings. Good menu with some different takes on old favourites. Service was excellent, very chatty staff. Food was very good, tasty, and hot. Would recommend without hesitation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elma H
John G, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elma H, Thanks for reviewing your recent visit for Lunch to the Eskdale Hotel. We were all delighted to hear you like what we have done to the hotel as part of our ongoing refurbishment. and glad you found our menu, food quality and service to be excellent. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards John and...

Langholm, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Been on many occasions mainly for lunch when we have free time as we live in the town, staff always friendly chatty and helpful, food is delicious and plenty of it, my in laws have stayed on a few occasions when visiting and say the rooms are lovely and a very good breakfast would recommend to anyone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuandkerry33
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We stayed overnight recently in the Eskdale for a wedding. Excellent location with a car park. Our room was lovely, spacious, clean, quiet and the king size bed was so comfortable. Lovely bar area too. The staff were very friendly and helpful from start to finish. The breakfast was superb and although it was very busy the young lad done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two tonights. Recently refurbished rooms warm and comfortable Friendly staff always eager to help Dinner and Breakfast of a good quality. A clean and tidy hotel. Easy to find with parking at the rear .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jono2345
John G, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Eskdale Hotel. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you well, We hope we can welcome you again when you are nesting visiting Langholm . Kind Regards John

Wombourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our night here, but were met with a collection of errors and faults instead. Ran the shower for about ten minutes and was like ice, out of date refreshments in our room and when we reported it they were replaced with more recently out of date items! Dined in the restaurant and had to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sarahanneken3
John G, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah Kennedy, I am sorry you felt you had a disappointing stay with us, and that you felt it was not value for money at £64.00 for a family room. As you mentioned you did inform us that your milk portions were not within the best before date and I changed this for you straight away with fresh milk,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

The Eskdale is a really nice provincial Scottish hotel. The staff were friendly and the room large and comfortable and clean. All very helpful and accommodating. The restaurant isn't going to scare the horses and the bar stock has a touch of 1976 about it but the cooking is very good and very keenly priced. Breakfast was very serviceable too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Psychogenic71
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself is brilliant second to none, the staff are very friendly and helpful really go the distance to help you with anything. The friendliest staff in a hotel I have experienced. The hotel is decorated accordingly with excellent decor. Food is all home cooking really tasty and hearty fresh every day and night very high standard of food....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gerard s

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langholm
0.2 km away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Langholm
71 reviews
0.2 km away
Zara Continental Hotel
Zara Continental Hotel
#3 of 3 in Langholm
11 reviews
12.3 km away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
No photo provided
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
834 reviews
22.9 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
250 reviews
35.2 km away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
Food & drink at the hotel
The Dining Room
The Dining Room
Cuisines: British, Fusion, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 Star Hotel, Bar, Restaurant and function space for up to 120 guests. Food served 12.00 To 2.30Pm and 5.30 To 8.30Pm Bar open all day from 11am Morning Coffee Afternoon Tea (reservations only) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eskdale Hotel

Address: Market Place High Street | High Street, Langholm DG13 0JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Langholm
Price Range: $118 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eskdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eskdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eskdale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor unless you are fit”
 of 5 bubbles 767GRAHAMH, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not no 10 because of the Shower and lack of Internet connection.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraG365, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Haven't stayed only eaten”
 of 5 bubbles Grummy, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 6 - towards the rear of the hotel - it was very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Y9088HGgaryh, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the hotel experience the noise of heavy traffic as this is a main thoroughfare.”
 of 5 bubbles Timelytraveller5, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5