We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1408 Oishi, Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Minamitsuru-gun 401-0305 Yamanashi Prefecture
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$1,440
View deal
Hotels.comUS$1,440
CheapTicketsUS$1,440
Orbitz.comUS$1,440
TripadvisorUS$1,440
TravelocityUS$1,440
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (704)
Room & Suite (128)
Dining (107)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 07/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hoshinoya Fuji
Updated 07/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 117 Speciality lodging in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Japan's tallest and most symbolic summit, Mount Fuji is majestic in any season. At the foot of this revered mountain, our forthcoming resort celebrates the grandeur of its namesake with classic ryokan hospitality and exceptional views of the symmetrical cone that has for centuries inspired poets and artists here and abroad.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
24-hour security
Gift shop
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
288Reviews18Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 207
  • 41
  • 16
  • 13
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tes108 wrote a review Dec 2021
Newcastle, Australia612 contributions221 helpful votes
This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to experience forest luxury, wonderful staff, incredible views of Fuji san and delicious original food. Forest walks, fires, wood chopping and rucksacks and coats supplied. Great for a romantic getaway but need a level of fitness for the stairs.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Catherine wrote a review Oct 2021
Indonesia2 contributions8 helpful votes
My friend and I stayed in T-cabin. The room is really spacious for 2 of us. The most impressive is the view from the room. It was a clear straight view to Mount Fuji. Too bad it was a lil covered by the clouds during our stay but still it was nice. Other than the view, we really enjoyed spending time in the Library Cafe. We got to bake marshmellows and made smores, all provided by the hotel for free during our stay. Really recommended for everyone who wants a peace from busy city, to relax and clear your mind.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshinoya Fuji
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear bhiblu21-sama, Thank you for taking the time to share a kind review of HOSHINOYA Fuji! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the view from the room, staff, and service satisfactory. We are honored that you would recommend us to people who wants to relax and clear their minds! Our services strive to provide a comfortable and authentic experience for our guests. Our staff would be delighted to welcome you back to further enjoy the unique Japanese hospitality at HOSHINOYA Fuji or to another one of our unique accommodations in the future! Sincerely,
Read more
OnsenLover2020 wrote a review May 2021
Tokyo, Japan2 contributions
Simply - excellent!! View from room phenomenal. Food - taste and presentation + environment is good. Service is off the chart. Recommend making reservations beforehand if interested in any activities. But also provides a lot of activities free of cost and no reservation needed. Worth a stay on a special occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshinoya Fuji
Responded 5 May 2021
Dear keigot2020-san, Thank you for your wonderful feedback of HOSHINOYA Fuji! It is great news to hear that you enjoyed the glamping experience, from the activities and dining options to the unobstructed view of Mt. Fuji! We are very pleased that you found your stay worthwhile, as our services strive to provide a quality, comfortable, and authentic experience for our guests. We have many unique accommodations, and do hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next trip! Sincerely,
Read more
88sh8 wrote a review Dec 2020
185 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
Positives: - The view! Mt. Fuji in the distance was such a beautiful view to wake up to!! - Our 3 person room was super clean with lots of amenities and spacious. - All the staff at the hotel were super friendly and helpful! - The food at the resort was amazing! Recommend trying in-room dining - had dinner outside underneath heated blankets. Restaurant dining was also amazing! - Kayaking experience was super fun! - Free activities are also offered. We did the nature walk and bird watching. Negatives: - NONE! Highly recommend this place. Had such a relaxing and enjoyable time. Look forward to staying here again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshinoya Fuji
Responded 24 Dec 2020
Dear 88sh8-san, Thank you for taking time to review HOSHINOYA Fuji and kinds comment! We are thrilled that the experience at our hotel was great, and we are constantly striving to provide the best experience to our valued guests. It is great news that you were able to enjoy the breathtaking view of Fuji-san in its full beauty and try out many of the unique activities we provide at the hotel. We are incredibly pleased to hear the praise about our service staff as well. Every season, we offer different kinds of activities in our hotels. On behalf of our staff, we genuinely hope we have another chance to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely,
Read more
Tokyo_JK wrote a review Jul 2020
Tokyo, Japan3 contributions2 helpful votes
I feel that you can judge the service level of an organization best when something goes wrong - great organizations tend to prioritize building a long-term relationship with the customer, whilst poor organizations prioritize immediate revenue. On that mark, the verdict is clear on Hoshinoya. We have previously stayed at Hoshinoya resorts in Tokyo and Kyoto, and had enjoyable experiences at both, but this trip revealed the less welcoming side of the chain. We ended up booked here for 3 nights after our initial booking for the subsequently deferred pre-opening of their new resort in Okinawa was impacted by Covid-19; we were told that the reservation was non-refundable (the only reservation we have had during this period where that was the stance taken), but we could use a credit for a different location within 6 months - Fuji seemed the most feasible choice, as it is drivable from Tokyo. The "highlights" of our stay were: 1. On arrival at reception in around 30 degree heat and high humidity, we were made to sit and wait, in a poorly cooled glass building, and offered no refreshments or cold towels, until it was our turn to be transported up the hill to the resort. 2. After being transported up the hill, we were made to climb up several flights of stairs, in the heat, to an outdoor terrace in the forest, where we were given brief details of the resort, but no warning that many activities were already fully reserved, which we would discover subsequently – it would have been helpful to be told of these restrictions at the time we booked the stay. 3. Just before dinner on the 2nd night, the waitress advised us that there were only 2 possible menus for dinner, and recommended we change our reservation on the 3rd night to in-room dining. As well as this news being a big disappointment, the timing was atrocious – why spring bad news and ruin the atmosphere immediately before we started to eat? Given the lack of dining options in the immediate area, it would make sense for a restriction like this to be advised at the time of booking a stay of more than 2 nights. 4. After we expressed dissatisfaction at the dining situation, the manager called on our room before in-room breakfast on our 3rd day, but left us with the impression he was being evasive and blaming his careless staff, rather than trying to fix a problem. We indicated at this point that we would like him to consider nullifying our 3rd night’s stay, so that we could leave early, but reassured that Hoshinoya understood and was responsive to our dissatisfaction; but the answer was that if we left, it would be considered a same-day cancellation, and charged 100%. 5. When we returned from sightseeing at around 4pm (having advised the reception of our room number so they knew we were out for the day), we found our room had not been cleaned – remains of breakfast were still sitting on the balcony, and we had no clean towels to freshen up or chilled water to drink. This was the last straw – we called reception to check out immediately, and left the resort around 5pm, which is the first time we have ever left a hotel mid-stay. When I subsequently wrote to the chain to express disappointment, the reply acknowledged shortcomings, but stressed "we regret to inform you of our no refund policy and would appreciate your understanding ... We will definitely strive to better improve our services ... and hopefully encourage you to give us another chance". So that will be the end of our relationship with Hoshinoya. If all goes well, you will likely have an enjoyable stay, but, unlike many of the competitors at this price point, don't expect more than a shrug of the shoulders if anything does go wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshinoya Fuji
Responded 30 Jul 2020
Dear Mr. King John, Thank you for taking the time to share an honest review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. Furthermore, we are deeply sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations especially regarding the 5 points that you have suggested above, after you had changed the initial booking due to the COVID-19 situation.. The team has been well informed about your observations and will strive to pay extra attention from now on so that we will be able to offer and arrange our future guest’s meal plans in advance with full consideration. We have been improving our services step by step based on our customers’ valuable opinion and your comments are indeed one of them. We sincerely apologize for disappointing your special holiday because of our lack of careless. Thank you again for your honest feedback. Sincerely.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$545 - US$1,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanChubuKoshinetsuYamanashi PrefectureMinamitsuru-gunFujikawaguchiko-machi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hoshinoya Fuji
Which popular attractions are close to Hoshinoya Fuji?
Nearby attractions include Oishi Park (0.3 km), Kawaguchiko Natural Loving Centre (0.3 km), and Fuji Oishi Hana Terrace (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hoshinoya Fuji?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hoshinoya Fuji?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hoshinoya Fuji?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hoshinoya Fuji?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hoshinoya Fuji?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lake Bake, Kawaguchiko Shizen Seikatsukan, and Mizuno Kaze.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hoshinoya Fuji?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Hoshinoya Fuji?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Oshi Residence (Former Togawa Residence) (6.8 km), Sangen Jaya Historic Site (7.3 km), and Old Houses Fujiwaratei (5.4 km).
Does Hoshinoya Fuji have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.