We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Visit hotel website
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has a private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Our premium Villa also has it's own media room with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds, all villas have two bathrooms. Rumours guests also enjoy a 20% in house discount on treatments at our Waterfall Day Spa, which has won many World Travel Awards and Luxury Spa awards each year since 2011 to date.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Paid Wifi
Paid Internet
Spa
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Dry Cleaning
Golf Course
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Luxury
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Reviews & more
469Reviews
535Photos
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 438
  • 20
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
I travel. A lot. And I've been to some pretty nice places. But I must say, Rumours was one of my best stays ever. From my early emails to Belinda with endless questions to final check-out on that last day of the stay, it was a first class experience. The villas (#4) was right on
Read more
+6
Opening your doors to that view every morning just can’t be beat. After much deliberation and research we picked here for our honeymoon and wasn’t disappointed. We stayed in Spa Villa 6, which is a couple of minutes in the car away from the reception but you don’t really need to
Read more
The accommodation in the villa is more than 5 star. 2 king bedrooms each with a full bathroom, one with double basins, each have a small garden view. Both bedrooms have French doors onto the court yard with pool, dining table, bbq and lounge chairs. Huge open kitchen, lounge and
Read more
We recently decided to venture for a holiday to the cook islands and due to the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor for rumours we chose to stay with them. We were not disappointed, in actual fact the accomodation and all the staff exceeded our expectations. Andrew and Belinda actua
Read more
Response from AndrewBelinda, Owner at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Responded 1 Nov 2018
K I A O R A N A lovely family ! ! ! We can't tell you how much we LOVED reading your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this. We understand you did a lot of homework to find the most idyllic, perfect family holiday destination; we're so grateful you found us here at RUMOURS Despite being a small retreat of only 7 Villas on an island that's 32 kms around, we believe the freedom to explore the entire island allows a much greater level of activity and quite often people are surprised by just how easy it is to get around; it's safe, it's clean and super friendly. It's such a fantastic diverse island with so much to see and do 'IF... you can bear to leave your Villa' - but like you mention; there is really no need to leave your beautiful surroundings when you can order in one of those SPECTACULAR Gourmet platters; delivered and plated up at your Villa We can't tell you how much we loved meeting you guys and having you stay with us; we truly look forward to the day we get to welcome you back home! Best wishes from your Rarotonga family.
Read more
1) Belinda and Andrew are so helpful and kind, they had some great recommendations for activities and restaurants and helped us make reservations for dinner and tours. They really put the effort in to make our honeymoon special.
2) Staff are fantastic, always smiling and happy to
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementRumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Beachfront villa
Photo provided by managementRumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Living room Villa 1
Photo provided by managementRumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Downstairs Bathroom
Photo provided by managementRumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Open plan living by the Beach
Previous
Hi is there a fitness room on the property? I usually like to get my work out done in the mornings even when I'm traveling or on vacation. I'll be there in about a week. Please let me know. Thanks so much
We have an increasing amount of guests requesting access to a gym. We have listened to your needs and purchased a couple of annual passes to the local gym at Kent Hall which is located about 5 minutes from our Villas. These passes are available at checkin and complimentary.
0 votes
Show all answers
I want to take my 2 year old but don't want to compromise on the beach front views and oppulence....thinking November/December.
Kia Orana Derek! Kia Orana Thank you so much for your enquiry; we would LOVE to have you and your family come stay with us here at Rumours but unfortunately we are an adults only retreat (guests must be over the age of 15) The delightful managers of Te Manava Luxury Villas here in the Cook Islands are right next door to us; they allow children of this age and I know they would be more than happy to look after you. All the best and thank you for contacting Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa Enjoy your holiday Belinda
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, this place sounds fantastic. It seems like more for couple and honeymoon. I may be traveling with my co-worker. Do you have a villa with two separate beds???
Yes- they do
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, Are children able to stay at the resort? if not can you recommend other resorts very similar to Rumours who do ?
Kia Orana "jstdora", Rumours Luxury Villas & Spa is adults only - 15yro and above. Te Manava is a great alternative. Regards Andrew
0 votes
Show all answers
What is the difference between the beach front romance villas and the beachfront spa villas? I noticed there were two different types on your website. What villa numbers are the best for snorkeling and honeymooners, lots of people are saying 2 3 and 4 are the best villas. thanks
Kia orana and many thanks for your enquiry. We have 2 Beachfront Spa Villas that are double storey and are situated down the road from the main complex; this site includes our Waterfall Spa. Our Beachfront Romance Villas are situated in the main complex and are all on the same one level. I hope this answers your question; if you have any further queries feel free to email me directly via the website.
0 votes
Previous
"All accomodation is great"
"We were in a two bedroom villa (No.7) with outdoor pool and spa."
"We stayed in the beachfront romantic villas."
"we had villa 4 which actually has two double bedrooms so would be perfect for two couple sharing"
"Book the Premium apartment if going with friends"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$588 - US$1,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rumours luxury villas hotel muri
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rumours of Romance
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaMuri
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing