We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rongo Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rongo Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Twizel
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Thoroughly recommend Rongo Backpackers, lovely old building with heaps of character. Right in the centre of Karamea easy walk to the pub. We had a very relaxing evening sitting beside the fire pit listening to the DJ running the local radio station from the shed at the back of the property. Refreshingly different from the usual places we stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Highlander65
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks a LOT for your kind words guys. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us...come on back again any time!

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 August 2015

I had an incredible time in Karamea, thanks to Rongo’s hospitality: these guys really do appreciate the natural beauty that surrounds them and certainly know how to share it! Down to earth – out of this world! LOVE IT!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PixieinNZ
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you SO MUCH for your kind words Pixie. Thanks also for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to tell others about who we are and what we do. Please come and stay with us again soon! Regards from Sunny Karamea, Paul.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I stayed at Rongo Backpackers with the intention of being there for a couple of days, however, I caught the bug and wanted to stay forever. I ended up staying a month. The atmosphere is exceptional and is hard to put into words - however I will try. Karamea, is beautiful place, very remote and peaceful - if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jamie T
Karamea, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 June 2015

This place is truly inspirational! The whole property is a piece of art, I enjoyed the living room with all the paintings and decorations that artists left here and the cosy atmosphere next to the fire. It is great to see how they grow so much food in their gardens and live more and more sustainably! I also liked listening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank themoonandthetrees
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi TheMoonAndTheTrees, WOW, thanks a LOT for your kind words, I've very glad to hear you loved staying with us at Rongo Backpackers & Gallery. Come on back and stay with us anytime, Regards from​ Sunny Karamea, Paul.

Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

Excellent. Excellent. Clean friendly. . Warm lounge. Hot showers. Lovely people. Perfect environment for relaxing.. beautiful gardens. The living in peace project us amazing. Roasting chestnuts Making bread. Primo staff very helpful. Love this place am going to make it a regular holiday to come and stay there. Very accomodating and went out if there way to help take nervous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tristan L
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Tristan L, Thanks a LOT for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a sterling review of your stay with us. It sounds like you really got involved with everything that was going on around the place...Thanks for staying with us and come on back anytime. Regards from​ Sunny Karamea, Paul.

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 May 2015

I expected maybe too much from this place because I heard good things about it and I maybe stayed at the wrong moment so my comment might sound a bit grumpy. I was in a twin room that was pretty dusty with poor linen. The door to the room led directly to the lounge right in front of the piano...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank calendulaaa
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Calendulaa, Thank you for your constructive comments on how we might improve the hostel. We have replaced the linen and mattresses and the removed the drunk guests, added locks to the now spotless showers. I hope you are able to return someday and give the place another try as I suspect you were there on a day when the...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 14 April 2015

I cannot recommend Rongo Backpackers highly enough and urge everyone going through Karamea (coming from the Heaphy Track) to spend a couple of days in this lovely place (every 4th night is free - where else do you get such a deal?)! The premises are artsy, colourful and lovingly decorated, and I loved the Green Room where I stayed those...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katja J
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Katja…My Goodness, if hostel owners were permitted to review guests, we'd give you an A+ Thanks for coming to stay with us, you were indeed a model customer and thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay and to recommend Rongo to others. We work hard and do our very best...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Great Fun at Rongo, the Heaphy Feast Dinner and Breakfast the next day were delicious. 17 of us staying and nothing was too much trouble. Beds were extremely comfy. Check it out when you do the Heaphy Track.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dkw882
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi and thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Rongo. I'm very glad you enjoyed your time with us and the meals we provided. It was a pleasure to host you and your group and please come on back again any time! Regards from Sunny Karamea, Paul.

Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed for one night to see the oparara basin. Someone had recommended this hostel to me, due to the relaxed atmosphere. I didn't find it relaxed in the slightest. I felt like I was forced to join in the communal activities. Like playing games (which I didn't), but also giving someone a lift even though I needed time to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarahfromamsterdam
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thanks for taking time to let us know what you thought about your time at Rongo Backpackers & Gallery in Karamea. It's possible from your review that a relaxed atmosphere is not the kind of place you are comfortable with. This is the kind of vibe we try and create at Rongo as we find most travellers are...

Wellington
Reviewed 24 January 2015

laid back, comfy, eccentric, west coast, welcoming. Great hosts. Fire pit. Outdoor bath,,, rain permitting. heaphys heroes feast a good idea. One small point....no decent beer in karamea, so bring some beer from elsewhere. But well worth the stay... Local radio station broadcasts from the garden, you can even be the dj.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell O
Paul M, Owner at Rongo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Russell, Thanks for taking the time to review Rongo. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay after the Heaphy, the Heaphy Feast and the evening around the bonfire listening to Karamea Radio 107.5 FM live. As for the beer situation, Karamea is a very small town, so providing a large range of boutique beers really isn't possible, but, as...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Rongo Backpackers

Address: 130 Waverley Street | P.O. Box 54, Karamea, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Karamea
Price Range: $36 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rongo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rongo Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Twin and double rooms overlook the courtyard. There is a twin-share option as well as dorms for the budget traveller.”
293BarbaraC, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Purple room was great, dorms looked clean and comfy”
8brownbear8, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They're all great rooms with a difference”
8Hazel8, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Lovely rooms throughout, you can't go wrong. I stayed at the Green Room and had a wonderful massive wooden bed with a good mattress to myself.”
KatjaJ605, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“This is a Backpackers, but you can have an individual room. Possibly quite noisy but is value for money”
dkw882, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5