We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road Tambon Vichit, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000 Thailand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Snaptravel
US$144
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2885)
Room & Suite (883)
Pool & Beach (416)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 15 in Cape Panwa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Amatara Wellness Resort located on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island, 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport featuring 105 suites and villas, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now offering the world first and only ‘Thai Hammam Journey’, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of luxury Thai spa treatment available only at Amatara Wellness Resort. While Wellness membership program is also available starting from one month to 12 month program, a ‘One Day Wellness” Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings are also available every day from 10am - 8pm.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Thai
1564Reviews86Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,117
  • 292
  • 97
  • 36
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Annabel C wrote a review 22 May
Hong Kong, China5 contributions
I joined a yoga wellness programme at Amatara from 17 May to 20 May 2022. The package covered private and group yoga classes, a few massages and meals. A schedule was planned for me throughout my stay to ensure that I had a fruitful time at the resort. The most value-adding part to the programme was that a consultant was assigned to me to provide guidance on my physical and mental well-being. My consultant, Jitendra, is a very helpful and pleasant person with strong knowledge on yoga and nutrition. He provided me with valuable advice on the essence on yoga and nutritional advice tailored to my personal condition. He taught me a few breathing exercises that I can practise on my own. He also advised me having meals at Senses, one of the restaurants at the resort, which provides healthy and delicious meal options. After the programme, he even provided me with a take-home guide. I felt that after my stay at the resort, I have a healthier body and mind and have a better understanding of how to live a healthy life. I will highly recommend anyone to join a wellness programme at the resort rather than just booking for a stay. It would be a lot more beneficial to your overall wellbeing. As for the resort facilities, I was provided with a sea-view suite, it was a spacious suite with a balcony and an amazing view. An infinity pool and a well-equipped gym were also available at the hotel which I really love. The massages were great, I had three massages during my stay which helped me relax. The Sun & Moon bar is the best place for enjoying the sunset. All of the hotel staff members that I met were friendly and helpful. I am happy that my vacation was well spent at Amatara and will definitely be back again when possible.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Natalie R wrote a review 20 May
2 contributions
The Rooms in the hotel are very nice. Amazing staff service- Joy in the reception is so kind! Also ooh(ohh) that in charge of the kids club was so nice to our son, helped us with activities and was so friendly. The breakfast was great. A breathtaking spa
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
abdullah A wrote a review 9 May
1 contribution
It has a been a great visit to this lovely place.. i would definitely come again and recommend it to others. My friend Mr. Jitendra pokhriya was the highlight of this trip, as he insured everything is taken care of as well as motivating me to achieve the goal with his guidance, which has been fully accomplished. Looking forward for an upcoming visit to this beautiful place! Abdullah
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Wipa Nareerak, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback from your recent Wellness stay at Amatara Wellness Resort, located in the heart of Panwa Beach. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the time with us and that you received the excellent services from our team especially Jitu. We have shared your comments to all staff especially to Jitu who are very happy to hear this. At Amatara, we always try the best to provide personalized services and also go extra miles while we can to ensure guests leave with the memorable experiences and that they come back to Amatara when visit Phuket. On behalf of Amatara Team, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best Regards, Amatara Team
Read more
Maisha I wrote a review 9 May
Dhaka City, Bangladesh24 contributions11 helpful votes
Don’t know where to start. We stayed at Amatara for 2 nights as a family. We booked the bay view suite first but when we checked into the room we were extremely shocked how damped it was. It smelled so bad we were about to puke. The front desk staff who escorted us to the room was so bad at her job that when we keep asking to do something about the room she keeps showing us the room amenities despite pointing out the main problem. I have a son aged 3 and I couldn’t wanted to take any risk by stayed a damped room. So I kept asking her to immediately comes up with a solution. She said she could fix it by odour & fragrance but that wouldn’t fix the problem of a damped room. Then we asked for an upgrade but she refused saying no room were available (absurd since we noticed later that most of the rooms were available). She left the room without any solution. After waiting 20 minutes we called the reception again and one of their staff said she would get back to us. We then decided that we’ll change the room into next category with extra charge. We went to the reception and the lady there wouldn’t even bothered to talk to us. Later one staff came with a new room key and showed us another room with a sea view. We took the room since it wasn’t smelled bad. The last day when we were outside of our room heavy rainfall happened and when we stepped into the room the entrance was flooded badly. The ceiling is was leaking and the wall was swamped. Our shoes and sandals were soaked with water. The amount we’ve paid to stayed at this property didn’t give us any justice rather ripped our pocket. This whole place is a scam. When we called the front desk again to fix up the flooding issue they didn’t even bothered to come. How come this is even normal in a service industry when you’re not ready to serve the clients. We checked out with disappointments but the staffs didn’t even bothered to acknowledged their poor service. The whole property needs renovation and training on customer service. BEWARE OF THIS PROPERTY. Naming this place a Wellness resort is a total joke!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Wipa Nareerak, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay. We really do apologize to hear that you didn't receive the services as expected. We are sorry that the upgrade request upon checked in couldn't be offered due to high occupancy at the resort. With regards to the condition of the room that was damped, we have now coordinated with the system technician and the team have been checked daily. This room has been used regularly and also occupied until you arrived, we will ensure to fix this problem. Once again we really appreciated your constructive comment and we really do apologize for all the inconvenience caused during your stay and have brought them up to the concerned department to improve services. Tropical Regards Amatara Team
Read more
Øystein L wrote a review 9 May
Oslo, Norway33 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This was our second visit to Amatara wellness resort in six months, and honestly, I have never felt so authentically appreciated in my entire travelling life! We received the kind of welcome equivalent to top tier of any loyalty program, although this only being our second visit. The personalized welcome, the greeting by hotel management, the upgrade, the free perks, the credits on food and beverage... Who were we to deserve all that? Just returning guests that were welcomed back with great enthusiasm and unparalleled generosity. On this point, Amatara really sets the standard for hospitality. The one to beat! Arrival: After a bliss of a transfer from HKT to the resort, crossing the island entirely, we were welcomed like the receptionists dropped everything they were doing to focus on us, welcoming us home, taking care of the paperwork, after which they escorted us to the bay facing pool villa 43, probable the property’s best location (shhh…it’s a secret). What met us inside made our jaws drop: a framed photo of us, petals on the bed, candle lit bath with rose petals, rosé wine… The staff had truly set their attention and creativity to the whole “welcome home” experience. Needless to say that waiting for our PCR test results was a breeze (check-in was pre-relaxation of covid measures). Throughout our stay, we had a feeling every member of the staff knew we were returning guests, some even greeting us by name. Keep in mind that we are quite simple people, working hard and saving up for our holidays, thus not expecting such treatment in our daily lives, so when it comes unasked for, it hits you like a silky touch of love and a question “what have we done to deserve this?”. In fact, it seems it comes naturally to the teamplayers at Amatara to treat their guests in such a relaxed and affectionate way. Of course, we played along . As opposed to our first visit in November 2021, when we spent most of our time within the facilities, this was an exploration holiday with activities in and around Phuket almost every day. Now you may ask yourself if a resort with a remote-ish location serves this purpose well? The answer is yes. Nothing beats coming back to the bliss of Amatara after a busy day of action. We are a playful couple in our early forties, and did not mind driving an extra 20 or so minutes to our daily activities. It just became a routine, and it was easy getting around, sticking with the same taxi chauffeur throughout our stay. To name a few, we did a boat excursion into the magnificent Phang Nga bay (tour arranged by the hotel), a fabulous cabaret show in Patong, the night market in Phuket town (a must!), round trip of the west coast beaches, seafood bonanza in the township of Rawai, Elephant Sanctuary, Hanuman Zip line park (oh yeah!!), dining in Phuket town with the locals (real Thai life only 15 minutes from Amatara). And things you can do by foot from the hotel include street food at Panwa village, with a couple of restaurants for you to support local businesses, and a convenience store (7-11) for whatever you need . This time we also took advantage of Amatara’s private beach, with a chance to try our canoe and paddle board skills. That was fun. Impressions about the property: Stunning! It’s beautifully located on the tip of a cape, a rock overlooking the bay and the open sea. If you go to one of the resort’s highest points, Sun and Moon (outdoor cocktail lounge), you will have a 360 view, including breathtaking sunsets. The main pool is so big it could host the Olympics of relaxation, with endless sea views and perfect in every way. The sunbeds were never crowded and you’re never short of refreshments or snacks thanks to the attentive poolside waiter. The vegetation: I wish they could have a guided tour of this tropical jungle. There are so many species of plants and flowers that you feel you’re in a fragrant botanical garden. The diversity, colors and smells form unique surroundings… Like organized wilderness in a way. And it’s all very well maintained. I already miss the smell of the plumeria/frangipani flowers  The villa: We were blessed with a private pool, a bathroom worthy of a royal palace, and views to die for (the bay). The ever-smiling lady from housekeeping somehow always knew when we were out for breakfast, and our room was beautifully refreshed when we were out every day, sometimes with fresh flowers. Wow! The staff: The backbone of the experience, in my opinion! Anticipating our needs and preferences, always happy to chat, curious about who we were (that went both ways ) and making sure we felt relaxed and taken good care of. Needless to say, our Facebook friends list grew by the day. Other: The resort has its own internal “taxi” service, the buggies  They’re of course free and will take you to anywhere in the resort, including the beach and main gate. Super convenient. The spa: The centerpiece of the resort. We had a really rejuvenating massage there. We should probably have tried more treatments from their extensive menu. It’s really a top end luxurious experience. Amazing therapists. Splurge yourself! The food: We did only eat at the Siri restaurant, where they serve authentic Thai dishes with their own signature. Really tasty and beautifully presented. For breakfast, although they have all the western options, be adventurous and try some of the Asian options: a light noodle soup for breakfast is not actually as dinner-ish as you may think! It’s refreshing and a perfect way to start the day, and it’s made to order, so just mix and match  CONCLUSION: Loyalty, re-invented. It's not only about the customers's loyalty to the hotel, it's about the hotel's loyalty to their guests. Well done, Amatara!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Wipa Nareerak, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback from your second stay at Amatara Wellness Resort, located in the heart of Panwa Beach. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the time with us right from arrival, pool villa and that you received the excellent services from our team. We have shared your comments to all staff and they are very happy to hear this. At Amatara, we always try the best to provide personalized services and also go extra miles while we can to ensure guests leave with the memorable experiences and that they come back to Amatara when visit Phuket. On behalf of Amatara Team, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best Regards, Amatara Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$108 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
LOCATION
ThailandPhuketCape Panwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Amatara Wellness Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Amatara Wellness Resort?
Nearby attractions include Russell Sunset Bar (0.4 km), Star's Fashion Cape Panwa (0.4 km), and Panwa Cape (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Amatara Wellness Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Amatara Wellness Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Amatara Wellness Resort?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Amatara Wellness Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Amatara Wellness Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Kantary Phuket, Live India Indian Restaurant, and Sawasdee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Amatara Wellness Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Amatara Wellness Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Amatara Wellness Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Amatara Wellness Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Amatara Wellness Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Amatara Wellness Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Amatara Wellness Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.