We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambre Resort & Spa

Hotels.comUS$230*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$246*
US$230*
Great Deal
US$246*
US$246*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambre Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,097: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant very smooth organisation, fantastic facilities and fantastic global & Mauritian cuisine but most of all such friendly staff everywhere. Choice of restaurants, v good live bands every evening, good gym and a choice of water sports. We our already planning for next year and that lovely title of "repeater". Seems to run effortlessly, can only be good management. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter B
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you so much for your wonderful review for us. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and that the resort created several golden memories for both of you to remember us for years to come. Sincerely, Clency Roméo General Manager

Travelling
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Six-star staff: at check-in, Teshna was wonderful. And, in the restaurants, any place in the world would hire Ravi, Wendy, Brinda, Jameeta, Jeremie or Amar. They were superb: likeable and professional. Three-star food: certainly very far from awful (but if you're Italian don't go to the Italian place), just not OMG. But if you're in Mauritius for food, you may...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EndWiFiRipoff
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at our resort. We glad to note that you have had a fabulous moment at our resort and for your recognizing those who had the privilege in being at your service. We reiterate our thanks for visiting our property and hope to have the opportunity...

Windsor, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend & I loved this resort, we had a great time even though the weather was a bit hit and miss (avoid Feb). We enjoyed the free water sports - paddle boarding and kayaking, we often played a spot of badminton & bowls on the beach as well. The all inclusive aspect was great, we mainly ate in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank M00min25
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sincerely thank you for your comments which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you have had a nice time at our resort and truly appreciated all aspects of our resort. We reiterate our thanks for choosing our hotel for your holidays and look forward to hosting you in a not...

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me &my husband travelled to Mauritius, ambre resort& SPA with Thomson . The flight was 12 hrs !!! But definitely worth it ,once we arrived we were quickly shown to our room ,which we booked with a beautiful sea view on the second floor . The room was large & very clean but a little bit tired looking , but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pablina12
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sincerely thank you for your comments which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you have had a beautiful and relaxing stay at our resort and truly appreciated all aspects of our resort. We reiterate our thanks for choosing our hotel for your holidays and look forward to hosting you in...

Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to do something special for our 10th year anniversary so being Canadians, instead the usual Caribbean trips we settled on Mauritius and 2 weeks at Ambre resort & spa. After a 22 hour flight, we arrived at the resort to find out that there were some problems with our reservation because of our travel agent (we,ll kill him...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aram-Omid
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you had a joyful wedding anniversary and can only thank you for having given us the opportunity to look after you and provide customer satisfaction. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Average and over priced. The room that we stayed in on the ground floor, beach facing, smelt damp constantly, bedding smelt damp and our clothes often felt damp. There are not enough seats and what there were was uncomfortable and the cushions were often wet and smelt of cats at the bar by the swimming pool. If it rained there...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank martchris
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I wish to express my sincere thanks for taking the time post your review your Trip Advisor. I regret to take note that some details kept you from enjoying your stay at Ambre Resort. Please rest assured that I have immediately reviewed these points with the departments concerned. We highly value our guests feedback as this is what...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I stayed a week over easter. We stayed in a courtyard room which has no view (but we expected this) and were very happy with the room's size and cleanliness. The bathroom is good but the shower water temperature fluctuates greatly during showers. The grounds and amenities are impeccable as everything seemed pristine and well maintained. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank christiann214
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort & Spa! At Ambre, we follow our vision which simply says - "We make each moment matter". The team truly believes in making every moment special for our guests and I am glad that the thoughtfulness of the team members and the service standards of the resort stood out for you during...

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was very clean well laid out and in my mind should have been a higher star rating than as advertised by Thomson Holidays the location right on the beach front was great so if your a pool person or love the sea it was only 30 second walk from one to the other , the whole experience from...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank adrianrF855RA
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort & Spa! We thank you for your superb review following your stay at Ambre Resort & Spa. I surely shall escalate the comments to my team which will definitely boost them for a continuous improvement in our level of service. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you to our shores...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the Ambre Resort and Spa in October 2016. We flew with Thomson and after a long but comfortable flight we experienced the transfer from hell. The bus we ended up on was uncomfortable and lacked air conditioning, the driver thought he was auditioning for an F1 race and by the time we arrived at the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah P
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. We thank you for reviewing our resort on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I regret to note the glitches that you had during your stay and rest assured that the departments concerned have been informed accordingly for a continuous improvement of our service. We highly value our guests feedback as this...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from our 2 week honeymoon at Ambre Resort & Spa. We were so excited for this trip and to be honest I feel very let down. The worst part of this trip, for me, was the stray animals and the way there are treated. On the transfer from the airport the views are incredible of the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sunshine562571
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. Thank you for your valuable comments shared on Trip Advisor and regret to note about your dissatisfaction. Please rest assured these outlined points have been already discussed with all concerned members for preventive and corrective measures. We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your faith in our resort. With...

4,923 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4442)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (637)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1098)
Viewed
Dining (318)
Viewed
Room/Suite (259)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
View from Room (134)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (22)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1899)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Pool (46)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmar
26.0 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,363 reviews
25.4 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,397 reviews
0.2 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.8 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,463 reviews
0.2 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,694 reviews
51.5 km away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Palmar
Price Range: $311 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Palmar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
880 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (880)

Questions? Get answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to spend time in the room a Seaview is good, otherwise garden rooms are fine.”
Deacopop, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are bigger. 500/600 blocks are quieter”
Y3573PHamym, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“chose a luxury beach view room away from the resort centre if you want peace and quiet”
ClaireWolf, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Balcony with beach and sea view.”
bomber4141, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Went with Thomson and were given room in Block 800 which is dark and a long way from the restaurants. Upgraded to 207 worth the money.”
  • Room 207 on the ground floor
bowerhill, 19 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$230* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$246
PricelineUS$246
Expedia.comUS$238
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates