We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moon Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moon Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Start your review of Moon Mountain Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky to get Lodge 1, which is the best and most private. Each lodge has a small plunge pool which worked well for Lodge 1 due to this privacy. Casual atmosphere, with food (buffets) and ambiance probably not up to the same standard as other lodges we stayed at on this trip (Camp Kipwe, Onguma Tree Tops). Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 49Traveller49
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice accommodation in the vast and remote wilderness. The tents are spacious but can get very hot in the afternoon as there's no air conditioning or fan. Also note that on a windy night, the noise from the wind pounding the zipped shut windows may be loud enough to wake you up. Bed was comfortable. Each tent has its own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Free D
Reviewed 11 February 2017

It was incredible... great staff (George and Ethan), great chef (Jozefien) and great driver Razarus! Beautiful place , with unbelievable chalets and perfect views! We loved really everything and the hospitality of all the staf is great! Just do it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcfranckt
London
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The location is absolutely stunnign especially around sunrise and sunset when the whole area gets bathed in a golden light that makes it all seem a bit surreal and magical. The tents are very comfortable. But they are tents. Windows that zip open and shut. Not completely weather-proof perhaps (some other guests complained about the rain drenching their room -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyba
Reviewed 15 January 2017

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. It's in a unique and very special location with incredible views. Staff were so friendly. We did a tour of the dunes through the lodge (5.30am departure, $N1350pp) with Lotho, who was a wonderful guide. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well-thought out with great views. This would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyjayne11
K_Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The most memorable thing about Moon Mountain is its location. The view was just other worldly. We stayed in room 1, which was newly renovated and the furthest from the main lodge. We appreciated the privacy as it was our honeymoon. The room efficiently furnished. Very clean. The bathroom was in another tent, which was an unique configuration. The private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K_Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Moon Mountain Lodge receives top class in location setting, accommodation and food. Fantastic place. Very beautiful place. However: The GPS coordinates are COMPLETELY wrong on Google as well as if you use Booking.com. Searching for 'Moon Mountain Lodge' takes you 184km South into the next town. I hope everyone will learn from our mistake here and spare yourself the extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wessel E
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wessel, Thank you for your valued response and review on the lodge. We will investigate the road directions and GPS coordinates to ensure they are correct and to avoid other guests getting lost. We wish you a prosperous 2017.

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This wonderful lodge is the best kept secret of the Sossus Vlei. Amazing accommodation (large suite like wooden houses with own tub outside) outstanding dessert views and lovely staff. The food is home cooked and a delight. We did a guided tour with Lotto which was highly recommendable. If you are looking for a unique dessert travel experience, dont miss...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kisa v
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your valued review during your recent stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. May you have a fantastic 2017, blessed with prosperity, excellent health and many more travels!!

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 19 December 2016

What a place! This area is one of the most remote and uninhabited places I have ever experienced. We traveled the C27 to get there and passed maybe two other cars in the 6 hours we were on the road, honestly a little too lonely for me! The manager and staff at Moon Mountain were amazing, Fessi in particular. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigerlilykelly
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your valued review during your recent stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. May you have a fantastic 2017, blessed with prosperity, excellent health and many more travels!!

Switzerland
Reviewed 6 December 2016

After traveling for hours on dirt roads, Moon Mountain is just the oasis you are looking for! Warm welcome, welcoming drink and fantastic views immediately put you at ease and let you know that all is well. The staff are extremely friendly and very efficient. The tents are not luxurious but very comfortable--could do with some better quality soaps rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Umkong
Fransd2015, Public Relations Manager at Moon Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your valued review during your recent stay at Moon Mountain Lodge. May you have a fantastic 2017, blessed with prosperity, excellent health and many more travels!!

293 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
99.7 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
5.1 km away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
199 reviews
7.4 km away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
154 reviews
27.6 km away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
326 reviews
45.1 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built and completed in 2009 on the Moon Mountain Top, as fixed "tented rooms" with all the comforts of a room, but the airy feeling of a tent. Moon Mountain lodge is ideally situated for any holiday guest who wants to visit the world’s highest dunes in Sossusvlei, as the lodge is only 50km away from the entrance gate and close to the quaint little village of Solitaire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moon Mountain Lodge

Address: C 19 Road, 56 Km North of Sossusvlei | 50 Km From the Turn Off for the Gate at Sossusvlei, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Price Range: $276 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moon Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moon Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moon Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Moon Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lodge 1 is the best but probably costs more!”
49Traveller49, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just take the biggest rooms with separated bathroom”
marcfranckt, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room one has great views and privacy”
K_Australia, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“#7 is the highest with no fence around the pool - great views”
tigerlilykelly, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Luxury tents with your own pool.”
Umkong, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5