We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pax Guest House

Expedia.comUS$111*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Pax Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pax Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 17 November 2015

I stayed at Pax more than a decade ago, before anything like Tripadvisor existed (I heard about it from a local paper in Cleveland, surprisingly), and I still remember how wonderful it was. The location is beautiful, with lovely views, and Gerard and Oda are some of the best hosts you could ever find. I was in town for research...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I stayed at PAX Guest House in Mount Saint Benedit in Trinidad, an i just wanted to describe it as a Peacefull Experience. The stay at PAX was caracterized by the excellents attentions of Mr. Gerard Ramsawack and his lovely wife. I Enjoied a lot evening talks with Mr. Ramsawack discussing about energy, engineering and the Enviroment. Mr. Ramsawack took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Masterarias
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

We were supposed to stay here for just two days but ended up staying for a week. The main reason for that was the wonderful host Oda that helped us planing our week and arranged with bird guides for us for a very reasonable price. They also serves fantastic food and the view from the veranda is magical. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Magnus F
London England
Reviewed 30 August 2015

This lovely guest house is perfect for those who enjoy the natural environment and the peace and quiet of a delightful, elegant and cultured guest house of historical interest. Our host was a cultured, convivial, courteous and helpful facilitator, meals were good and our room was comfortable and clean. From every balcony and terrace there are marvellous views over the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenbourne
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 August 2015

If you want a local experience in Trinidad, rather than a hotel just like any other any place in the world, then you must stay at this 100 year old, colonial-style guest house. This is a one of a kind, contemplative, quiet, clean, and restorative place, with an antique feel in a beautiful location, just ten minutes from the University...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnthroLady
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Hidden away where everyone can see it, Pax is a great place to avoid the bustle of the Port of Spain area. After you've driven through all the switchbacks, you'll end up way up the mountain with only the quiet of the Mt St Benedict Monastery above you. From one deck, you can view the eastern suburbs of Port of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doug D
essex
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Nice people but very dated, had room down in basement so smelled damp. Could have been bit cleaner. Breakfast terrible glad I only had to eat it once had fried egg with salad could have made pair shoes with egg and margrine not butter ukch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarks59
Gerrard and Oda R, Manager at Pax Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your stay at our Guest House. To be honest I was very surprised by your comments since during your stay you expressed how happy you and your friend was with every thing , especially with the meals, location and the friendly staff at Pax. I am truly sorry that you found our rooms not...

Chico, California
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We always like out of the way spots that are quiet and Pax Guest House is in a very quiet location. It has a great view and has nice roads to walk on, although hilly. We found that as a plus. We were in an upstairs room so had a nice breeze flowing through the room and had a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kacondor
Poland , NY USA
Reviewed 23 February 2015

On our recent trip to Trinidad & Tobago, this was one of the places we wish we'd had more time at. As a former monastery property, it's not fancy or flashy. However, it IS fastidiously clean, and has a great historical vibe. The hosts are as very friendly. We stayed in one of the lower level rooms with en suite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EricC56
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Calm, quiet and a lovely break from the hustle of T&T. The food is good, simple creole done well. The really special element has to be the warm welcome from Gerard and his team .. And the incredible views down over central Trinidad. A lovely spot to come and unwind and slow down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oenophilia

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (34)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunapuna
16.1 km away
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
#11 of 21 in Port of Spain
60 reviews
12.5 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
13.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
70 reviews
42.1 km away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
175 reviews
15.2 km away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Pax Guest House

Address: Mount St. Benedict, Tunapuna, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Tunapuna
Price Range: $110 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pax Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pax Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pax Guest House Hotel Trinidad
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pax Guest House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Pax Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The upper floor rooms have the best views of the city below”
royaljay, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Basement rooms are musty & my shower didn't work”
980leem, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with windows facing the Northern Range and Valley provide a very scenic view”
329duanep, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“First floor recommended - no problem with separate toilets and showers as all so clean”
  • The attractive and spacious dining room
  • Our room
  • View from terrace
jenbourne, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have shared bath. Lower level rooms have en suite bath.”
EricC56, 23 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$111* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$111
TravelocityUS$111
Hotels.comUS$111
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates