We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 30 December 2015

A fabulous location one street back from a lovely beach and about a seven minute stroll to the stinger net. This is a self catering unit, with one towel provided for each guest, only to be used in the apartment. So bring your washing powder and waste power washing your one towel daily, if you prefer a clean towel that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saskiatd
CliftonSands, Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Saskia, I'm sorry you were not happy with your stay at Clifton Sands! My concern was NOT for your request for extra linen, but for the fact that it was not until your arrival that I knew you required two separate beds, therefore your apartment had not been prepared as you wished. Unfortunately, we cannot know when two people...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this apartment. The owner was very very helpful. I went walking on the beach bright and early and met many wonderful dogs with happy owners. The apartment had everything we needed, it was decorated very cute and we loved sitting on the balcony talking to the cookabera bird that joined us everyday. Stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debmauk
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Excellent location and very competitive rates. Our top floor room was comprehensively equipped with a balcony view of the ocean. The bathroom looked brand new and was complete with washer dryer. Everything worked well. Outside the barbecue area was really comfortable and set out with great character. The owner couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Linda was a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RG M
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Clifton Sands is well located, with Palm Cove and Trinity Beach both within 5 mins drive by car or if you feel fit you can walk along the beach to Palm Cove in 20 mins: with Kuranda and Cairns city both about 25 - 30 mins drive. The apartments are self catered with well appointed kitchens, including a good size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveW226
Guimaraes, Portugal
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Linda, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. She helped us book a fantastic day trip to the reef. The one bedroom flat was clean and had air conditioning available. All of the windows and doors were fitted with fly screens. A safe place to chill out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula P R
CliftonSands, Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Paula, thanks for a great & informative review of Clifton Sands. It's much appreciated by all of us here - and by other Guests.

Salinas, California, United States
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Linda was a gracious hostess. She, and staff, keep the place spotless, newly painted wall, everything efficient, modern, easy. Linda's dogs were equally welcoming. Off our beach-view balcony were lots of iconic Australian birds: bee-eaters were cutest, Kookaburra sitting on our balcony rail was a blessing, stone curlews yelling at each other was priceless for me, many other species. Bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pslattery
CliftonSands, Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Hi guys - so sorry we missed you on departure! Thanks for taking time out to review Clifton Sands, it is much appreciated. If you have any great photos of our bird life, would love to see some posted to Tripadvisor or FB.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Initially we had made an error and thought we had booked elsewhere, so were disappointed. However, this property is very well located between the more expensive Trinity and Palm Cove areas. If you spend all day out, the property is excellent. Décor is very dated and needs a bit of paint and attention. Washing machine needed fixing. Wi-Fi limited to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cosmoss
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We have just completed our fifth two month stay at Clifton Sands. Thus you can see we are very comfortable there. All units are clean and well presented with adequate commodious facilities undercover parking and ocean glimpses. The complex is well and competently managed by Mrs St Quintin who will accede to any reasonable request. For the more active who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 232rjw
CliftonSands, Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for persevering with Tripadvisor to write your excellent review of Clifton Sands. I'm certain future Guests will find it most helpful. We look forward to seeing you both again in winter.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

We thank Linda for a great break even though it was short, it was sweet. The location is fantastic and only 20 min walk to Palm cove. The apartment was so close to the beach and also a nice restaurant across the road. The apartment was neat and clean with all the essentials. Linda provides great recommendations for restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggmcg40
CliftonSands, General Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Hi girls, Thanks for writing us a great review! Happy you enjoyed your short break with us - and we'll see you for longer next time... Finn sends his licks.

Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed in a standard apartment for 4 nights as the superior (upgraded) 1 bedroom apartments were all booked, but that made no difference as it was everything we wanted and more. Granted the kitchen and bathroom were older in style, but it made no difference to us as the apartment was spacious and the furnishing comfortable and stylish. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobjenny6
CliftonSands, General Manager at Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Jenny & Bob, Thanks for such a lovely Review! Many Guest's don't bother writing them - but it's the best way for future Guests to get a genuine 'feel' for Clifton Sands. It was lovely to meet you both - and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Linda

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
1.1 km away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,046 reviews
2.5 km away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 12 in Palm Cove
492 reviews
2.2 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
863 reviews
0.2 km away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
171 reviews
0.3 km away
Argosy on the Beach
Argosy on the Beach
#2 of 7 in Clifton Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stone's throw from the gently breaking waves, Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments at Clifton Beach is the ideal choice for a relaxed holiday in a beautiful beach-side village. All apartments look over the gardens to the Coral Sea beyond. The casual, laid-back atmosphere is an ideal escape for those seeking to be away from the rush and stress of modern living. Our spacious and well appointed one bedroom apartments are an ideal base to explore all that the Tropical North has to offer. We are - without doubt - the best value accommodation on the Cairns Northern Beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: Clifton Sands Holiday Units 81 - 87 Guide St | Entrance on Clifton Road, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Clifton Sands Holiday Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper apartments are accessed by steps which are quite easy to manage but suggest anyone not liking steps may find difficult.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveF3765, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the higher levels might have ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles susanrr2016, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
  • Mouldy ceiling
  • More mould
 of 5 bubbles princessham, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All apartments face the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles saskiatd, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Upgrade to a premium room.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveW226, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay